We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fab!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Corner House Hotel
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Cheltenham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fab!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

Just returned from an overnight stop here to see Elton John. This is a great hotel if you like bespoke personal attention. The staff were so friendly and keen to make sure we had everything we wanted. I felt welcomed like a member of their family. We were in Room 40 which was spacious, comfy and had loads of little extras ( bottles of water, carton of milk, biscuits etc), would def recommend it. Food was wonderful and Johnny very knowledgeable about wine. Nigel was great also, full of jolly humour! yes, the car park is a bit awkward to navigate and perhaps other rooms need a bit of an update, but the ambience and food more than make up for it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

775 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    270
    178
    108
    72
See reviews for
76
284
63
219
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Croydon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2012

We had booked this hotel to explore Taunton with a view to moving there in a few years time to retire and we weren't disappointed. We knew the room we booked was 'compact' so we were prepared for the squeeze! The hotel itself is perfectly positioned for the town and surrounding area and a short 10 mins walk and you're in the heart of this beautiful and lively town.
The hotel itself is quite modern in it's facilities but with a feel for the history of the building all around.
The restaurant was very good and the staff efficient and friendly. We ate there one evening and found the food of a high quality, I recommend the sausages!
Could have done with a hairdryer in the room but a nice touch to provide free milk and water in the fridge. Had to have the window open all night as it was a bit too warm for us.
Be careful not to eat too much if you go for the compact room, we were climbing over each other
and had to take turns getting dressed to avoid an elbow in the eye!
Overall we would choose to go there again in the future but pick a bigger room and pay the extra,
but as we got a good deal we shouldn't complain.

Room Tip: Don't go for a compact room if you like space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

Very much enjoyed my stay. Welcoming, comfortable, excellent food, lovely bar,and, most important, very, very nice staff, helpful, cheerful, and friendly. They really put the icing on the cake. My only regret was that I only had one night there. I recommend it without hesitation.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TomBSm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012

Good central location. Charming Victorian era building, tastefully renovated. Room decor and layout is not so charming - bit dated and worse for wear. Rooms that I've used (described as standard) are rather on the small side and en-suite bathrooms not of a standard that you'd expect from a modern hotel-chain. Having said that, Taunton City Centre doesn't offer many alternatives, so I do use this regularly for business. And oh yes - checking in/out is a very lengthy and inordinately chaotic procedure - leave plenty time for both!

On the plus side: restaurant downstairs is wonderful and breakfast is of a very high standard as is the general service at meal times.

Room Tip: 80's style "secondary double glazing" on old window-panes means road facing rooms will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZHAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHH01, General Manager at The Corner House Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Further to your review it is clear that you did not have our usual guest experience and as such please accept our sincere apologies.

We do currently have an ongoing refurbishment programme for the bedrooms which run on a rolling scheme.

We do offer budget accommodation in Compact Double Rooms which are suitable for single occupancy; Standard Double Rooms suitable for double occupancy and 8 Large Double Rooms which are more suitable for family rooms.

We do offer budget rates for Taunton on average £60 per room inclusive of full English breakast which is the most competitive for Taunton.

Our rooms are comfortable, warm, with ensuite and we offer free WiFi and free carton of Milk and water in the fridge as complimentary extras.

When you next book may we suggest that you contact me directly and we are more than happy to upgrade your room to one of our Large Double Rooms.

When you next stay with us please do make yourself known to me alternatively do give me a call in advance so that we can discuss your points further.

Nigel Parkin.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

Chaotic check-in.
Rooms mixed up.
'Superior room' = Teeny weeny Bathroom. Basin and shower tray do not drain.
Shower tray builds up to 2 inches of dirty water....as that is both your shower water AND the water it is mixing with in the drains...the health implications are too ghastly to contemplate.
Bathroom mirror lights do not work.
Neither does room telephone.
'Attractive' gray damp stain on bedroom wall.
Smell of "shake 'n vac" hangs in the air in the corridors.
Breakfast restaurant staff sullen and silent....some give all appearances of being 'on' something and off in 'la-la' land.
Food scores high, but atmosphere scores low.
But then again, it is Taunton

Room Tip: Avoid road frontage rooms. Go for back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grant D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHH01, General Manager at The Corner House Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Further to your recent review it is clear that you did not have our usual guest experience and as such please accept our sincere apologies.

We are able to advise that since your stay we have already rectified the plumbing aspect which is now fully repaired and to our standard.

Unfortunately pumbling issues do arise without notice however thank you for bringing this to our attention.

We do have an ongoing maintenance programme and we are currently upgrading our rooms on a rolling scheme.

Please do contact me directly so that I can speak to you personally and discuss these points.

Nigel Parkin.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Taunton hotels

Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2012 via mobile

I used to always use the Castle Hotel but I got sick and tired of the arrogant, rude woman on reception so hence my change to The Corner House. My room at the corner house was simple, functional and spotlessly clean. The staff were friendly and could not do more to make my stay more comfortable. The hotel bar was very friendly and the drinks very sensibly priced. The only negative point ive got about this place was the food. The dinner was very basic and sadly dressed up to look fancy and the sauce tasted of instant Bisto. The full English breakfast was very small with half a tomato, 1 egg, 1 bacon, a very greasy slice of fried bread and a very small over cooked sausage. I didn't really eat much and ended up having a full English at the nearby Tescos. It's a shame the food let the place down as I thought everything else was done very well and I would certainly recommend the accommodation to others however I would avoid the food.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank traveller55312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHH01, General Manager at The Corner House Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your constructive comments.

We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay however to very much take on board your comments regarding the food.

We are consistently reviewing the menus and are just about to launch our Summer Menu and so will very much take into consideration your comments.

Please during the next time you stay with us do make yourself known to me so that I can discuss these points further.

Nigel Parkin.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2012 via mobile

Stayed overnight on a business trip in room 7 - a small £50 per night room on the top floor. Very nice compact room, good size HD TV with good selection of channels and fast wi-fi. Clean, comfortable and relaxing. Delicious full English in the morning. Courteous and helpful staff into the bargain.

Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taunton hotels
0.3 mi away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#7 of 17 in Taunton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
0.0 mi away
Brookfield House
Brookfield House
#1 of 17 in Taunton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
5.5 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Taunton House Hotel
Taunton House Hotel
#17 of 17 in Taunton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5 Jct 25
0.4 mi away
Blorenge House
Blorenge House
#10 of 17 in Taunton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Corner House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Corner House Hotel

Property: The Corner House Hotel
Address: Park Street, Taunton TA1 4DQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Corner House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Independently owned character hotel ideal for both business and leisure travellers. Within walking distance of the centre of Somerset's County town Taunton, this 45 bedroom hotel has been transformed to meet the demands of the modern day traveller. Late 2015 the complete refurbishment of the bar & restaurant has created a relaxed drinking and dining venue. Ideal for business or pleasure. Emphasis has been placed on developing a simple yet stylish and comfortable sleeping experience. All rooms have linen duvets, ample work space, refrigerators with complimentary bottled water and fresh milk, flat screen televisions and sparkling en-suite facilities. Free Wi-fi is available throughout the hotel. A flexible combination of meeting and eating rooms and excellent road and rail connections make the Corner House a convenient location for day and residential meetings. The hotel has on site car parking and is in an ideal location for visiting many of the nearby Somerset attractions or as a stopover en-route to or from the Cornish peninsula. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Corner House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corner Hotel Taunton
The Corner House Hotel Taunton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing