We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great one night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great one night stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Stayed for just one night last week ,my wife booked DBB rate direct with hotel couldn't fault it ,very warm welcome spotlessly clean .
Food was very good and very nicely presented breakfast.
Nothing was to much trouble
However I do think £2 for a newspaper which only has a retail cost of 80p was a little over the top but that wouldn't prevent us from visiting again we just would decline the newspaper !!!

Room Tip: check hotel website for offers
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mark a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarthingsHotel, Manager at Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Hello Mark and many thanks for your kind words. Sorry about the paper cost but we do have to pay delivery fees. Nevertheless, I'll include it as complimentary on your next visit.

Kind regards

John.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    341
    153
    36
    22
    20
See reviews for
70
320
34
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Andover, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Stopped off for a two night stay in july, have to say I cant fault this hotel and its team of staff, its everything you would expect from a hotel in this bracket. Clean, friendly staff, super grounds and amazing qaulity of food. We will be back again and again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarthingsHotel, Manager at Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
So pleased you enjoyed and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.

Best wishes from Farthings Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

This hotel and its staff should be proud of the product they have here, through out our stay we couldnt have asked for more the hotel is stunning with fantastic gardens but have a small team to match. Food and service were right up there with some of the best I have had. Top marks all round.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clair r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarthingsHotel, General Manager at Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you Clair for your very kind words. Best wishes from Farthings Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

This is my second stay at Farthings, not by choice but I was pleased to come back.
The rooms are large and with big windows looking out onto the garden and village green opposite.
The decor is very dated but still extremely comfortable and the bed and linen excellent.
The service is very friendly but it seemed one young man had to cover all duties, bar, waiting at tables, reception and room service, but he made a valiant effort and generally pulled it off.
I had a meal in the dining room and found the food good but the menu was a bit boring and the prices high for what was served.
Breakfast is not available early enough for me to have more than a bite but I don't think I really need another full english!
They seem to allow dogs everywhere including the dining room so if dogs arent your thing, best avoid.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed at Farthings Country House Hotel for 3 nights with two of the nights on a Groupon B&B deal.

The hotel was nicely located on the main road through the quiet village and opposite the local cricket pitch. The room was a decent size and well equipped, although the bed was of the sagging variety and the shower was definitely not a power shower! The Farthings is classified as 3 star rather than a boutique hotel which is about right, although the standard room rate was nearer 4 star in price.

The real disappointment was the restaurant, which we used on two of the three nights, it was OK but overpriced. The menu was good but expensive as the quality was only average with slightly overcooked meat and undercooked new potatoes on the first night. On our second night we tried it again, just in case we were unlucky, however on this occasion the fish was overcooked.

The food we were served was not bad enough to complain about but not good enough to praise, the impression was that maybe the kitchen were short staffed and maybe on another night it would have been just that bit better.

Where we live we're lucky to be surrounded by plenty of restaurants that have to be good to survive and maybe it's the lack of alternatives in the local Taunton area, apart from pub grub, that make The Farthings the local eaterie of choice.

On a positive note the young staff were friendly and helpful and if the cost of a meal for 2 with an average wine had been two, rather than three figures, it might have been an experience worth repeating.

On our third night we used the local pub which was friendly with a good seafood specials board and a nice atmosphere. At half the price of the Farthings (and with their ex head chef in the kitchen) it's a great alternative if you're not in a dressing up mood.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john2648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glos
Level Contributor
99 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

Stayed in the top room, was a premium but worth it. Staff however made the difference, very helpful. Dinner was included, which was good as the menu prices were high, so book DBB if you are eating in. Breakfast was just OK, but not much choice left, mainly as one poor lad was trying to take orders, serve and replenish, while checking out customers and answering the food. They were nearly full that night, so think they could have stretched to another helper. My other concern was there were others there that had paid just £55 for a room on groupon, this calibre of hotel does not really need to go that cheap.

Room Tip: If road noise is an issue, go for room at back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank winters_on_tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ENGLAND
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

We chose The Farthings hotel via a groupon deal , we wanted a weekend away from our hectic lifestyle and weren't disappointed.
One of our main requirements was a Dog friendly hotel as we were planning to cycle with our dog in the Quantocks , some dog friendly hotels are a bit ropey and smell of errrr , Dog!
No such problem here , everything was immaculately turned out , clean and odour free.
We received a very warm welcome from the (i'm guessing) duty manager , he was EXTREMELY helpful. We were shown to our room and invited to the lounge for our complimentary cream tea.
We decided to eat in the hotel restaurant as there aren't any other eateries nearby and we wanted a drink which obviously rules out driving. Wow! The food was really good , we are both "foodies" and no strangers to fine dining! Fantastic quality ingredients perfectly presented , all three courses were fantastic and reasonably priced based on the quality received. We dined in the hotel for both evenings of our stay , both three courses with night 1 beer , night 2 a reserva Rioja £72 & £90 which we thought a bargain . Breakfast met the same standards with eggs from their own hens , and the apricots in earl grey are to die for!
The attention to detail is exacting , all staff very very helpful and immaculately presented.
The gardens are beautiful , rooms well appointed and it is a quiet location , nothing not to like.
We will be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkFinnUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarthingsHotel, General Manager at Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you - we are absolutely bowled over by your lovely words. Thank you - you comments make all the effort so worthwhile, it is so lovely to be appreciated. Thank you - from a very proud team. See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taunton hotels
5.5 mi away
Brookfield House
Brookfield House
#1 of 17 in Taunton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Mount Somerset Hotel
5.3 mi away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#7 of 17 in Taunton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5 Jct 25
4.4 mi away
Premier Inn Taunton East Hotel
6.5 mi away
Meryan House Hotel
Meryan House Hotel
#9 of 17 in Taunton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant

Property: Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
Address: Village Road | Hatch Beauchamp, Taunton TA3 6SG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Taunton
#4 Romantic Hotel in Taunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delightful Country House Hotel. The building dates from 1762 and carries many of it's original fetures. Delightful, individually decorated rooms, lovely restaurant offering the best of locally sourced & seasonal produce, log fires by winter and lovely gardens by summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Farthings Country Hotel
Farthings Country Taunton
Farthings Country House Hotel And Restaurant Taunton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing