We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best midweek break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Certificate of Excellence
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best midweek break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

I booked my girlfriend in for a romantic treat after a shopping trip, and I have to say its one of the best evenings I have had in any hotel. The room was clean, well presented with everything you would expect from a top class hotel. The staff couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. The food was amazing and incredible value. 6 courses for less than £40! But it was the standard of food that really stood out. . The restaurant was very busy but the staff were all taking it in there stride. Breakfast the next morning was superb with the bacon, sausages and eggs coming from the hotels own farm. Couldn't say anything against this hotel we will be coming back just to kidnapp the chef!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Albertjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John S, General Manager at Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
So many thanks for your kind words - we are especially looking forward to welcoming you back. Best wishes - John & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    340
    153
    36
    22
    20
See reviews for
70
319
34
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
england
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Went away last week - had a really nice time but came back on Saturday night, went to the Farthings for dinner - and wondered why we had bothered to go anywhere else! Service was outstanding and the food was absolutely fabulous - a previous reviewer wants to kidnap Shaun, the chef - well sorry, but we live closer so I think we take priority! There`s a Caribbean Evening on Friday March 1st (need to book) - can`t wait! Thank you John, don`t ever change - and see you very soon.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oasthouses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John S, General Manager at Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
It was entirely our pleasure. See you Friday at the Caribbean night. Bring your PJ's!
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

A really lovely stay this weekend - very welcoming, very personal - very accommodating of our friendly 6 year old daughter!!! Great Breakfasts and a lovely Valentine meal. Thank you and hope to see you again. Stephanie, Julian and Zara

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John S, General Manager at Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Very many thanks for your lovely words, the team will be very pleased when I pass on your comments. We look foward to seeing you all again, especially Zara.

Best wishes, John & team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

Having lived in Taunton for many years you get to know the good and not so good places to eat and The Farthings I'm afraid always fell in the not so good. Not that any one thing was terrible the food was always ok the staff again always ok but nothing great and with the likes of Agustus and the Old castle etc in Taunton I decided why make the trip out for an ok evening so havent been back there since dec 2011. That is untill yesterday when my wife suprised me with the fact she had booked us both in for a cheaky night away from the kids, and I must say what a great turn around. The hotel was warm and welcoming with log burners and a real buzz of life about it. Our room again was very warm and cosey with great views. I recall some of the old staff but they seemed happy and helpful as if it was a pleasure to serve us rather than a headache. The food was well over the quality I had eaten there in the past with a real passion about it and great value for what we got. Only negitive was portions were large and I couldnt manage all of my dessert! We will be back and suggest if you havent been there for a while to give it another go as the change is truely fab.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John S, General Manager at Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Hello Mike. Very many thanks for your review, so pleased you enjoyed and I'm delighted that you note the progress that we have strived to achieve. I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Best wishes

John & team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

My husband booked us in for a romantic treat, and I have to say its one of the best evenings I have had in my 42 years. The room was clean, well presented with everything you would expect from a top class hotel. The staff couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. The food was amazing and incredible value. 6 courses for less than £40! But it was the standard of food that really stood out. We both had duo of home smoked duck and chicken with a stunning dressing (recipe please!) followed by lobster and local fresh crab Thermidor, my husband had Tornado Rossini which he said melted in the mouth. We both followed this with dark chocolate souffle with a whiskey and white chocolate sauce. The restaurant was very busy but the staff were all taking it in there stride. Breakfast the next morning was superb with the bacon, sausages and eggs coming from the hotels own farm. Couldn't say anything against this hotel we will be coming back just to kidnapp the chef!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John S, General Manager at Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Hello Jenny

So many thanks for such kind words, I'm so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your Valentines Treat! The recipe for the dressing is available if you drop me a line to farthingshotel@yahoo.co.uk but I'm afraid the kidnapping of the Chef might be a little more tricky to arrange!!!!

See you again soon, we hope

John & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingswood, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

A perfect room in a country house for a Sunday afternoon and evening, just to enjoy the time, the setting and the décor. So comfortable we didn't get around to the cream tea, but just as well as the diner was excellent (smoked salmon and mushroom stroganoff) and we were so full pudding was a non-runner. Quiet so we retired to the lounge for drinks where the staff continued their excellent service and made the whole evening an absolute delight.
Bay room with up-a-spiral-staircase big bathroom, comfy, big bed, quiet location, large comfy sofa all worked well as did the fresh milk in the fridge on the landing.
Breakfast was very leisurely with the eggs collected after we got up so very fresh and beautifully prepared with unexpected herb (rosemary) adding a new experience.
Would we come again ? ...we're already looking for an excuse.

Room Tip: the up-graded room with extra space, sofa etc. was well worth the extra as we were staying in and en...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John S, General Manager at Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Hello Pat. We can't wait to have the opportunity of welcoming you back. You just need to find that excuse now. The team are grateful for your kind words of praise. Thank you - John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
163 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed here a few times and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it. Rooms are of good size and each are designed with different themes. Makes each stay unique if your in a different room. Never had breakfast here so can't comment but the location is close to Taunton down centre (10min drive) and not far from the A303.

Was looked after well by staff. Room had tea and coffee but was more than comfortable.

Recommended!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shauns_Holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John S, General Manager at Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for your kind words, we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back and perhaps, also the opportunity to tempt you to our delicious breakfast - free range home produced eggs, home cured bacon (proper dry cure), lovely sausages from our free range orchard pigs and all the trimmings. John & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taunton hotels
5.5 mi away
Brookfield House
Brookfield House
#1 of 17 in Taunton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Mount Somerset Hotel
5.3 mi away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#7 of 17 in Taunton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5 Jct 25
4.4 mi away
Premier Inn Taunton East Hotel
6.5 mi away
Meryan House Hotel
Meryan House Hotel
#9 of 17 in Taunton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant

Property: Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
Address: Village Road | Hatch Beauchamp, Taunton TA3 6SG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Taunton
#4 Romantic Hotel in Taunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delightful Country House Hotel. The building dates from 1762 and carries many of it's original fetures. Delightful, individually decorated rooms, lovely restaurant offering the best of locally sourced & seasonal produce, log fires by winter and lovely gardens by summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Farthings Country Hotel
Farthings Country Taunton
Farthings Country House Hotel And Restaurant Taunton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing