We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 27, 2012

This is without question one of the finest hotels myself and my my wife have stayed at. The room we stayed in was said to be one of the "guest" rooms but was very large and very well presented with super views I would love to have seen a "master" room next time I will dig a little deeper. The staff were very plesent and helpful without being pestering and the choice of menu and quality of the food was again superb. Wish we had stayed longer. Special thanks to Dan for all his help.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarthingsHotel, General Manager at Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

So pleased you enjoyed, thank you for your kind words. Next time, we shall endeavour to accommodate you for a longer visit. Best wishe, John & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (613)
There are newer reviews for Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

485 - 491 of 613 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2012

Stopped off for sunday lunch a few weeks back, only by chance because we saw a sign outside and I must say what a gem this Restaurant is. We had three roast chicken and a fish so nothing you would thing worth writing about but it really was great, homemade stuffing from home reared pigs, fresh figs and home cured fish and home smoked chicken for starters its hard to explain other than to say the place just screams Class. We paid less than £25 per head for two courses so a great price for the quality of food and the fantastic service we had. Will be back to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarthingsHotel, General Manager at Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Very many thanks for your kind words. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon. John & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Super little hotel, lovely rooms and helpful staff but real gem was the food. Home smoked meats and homemade honeycombe ice cream a massive hit with the girlfriend. Only wish we could have taken a tub home!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jimmy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarthingsHotel, General Manager at Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Very many thanks for your kind words. Delighted you enjoyed and we hope that we shall have the pleasure of welcoming you back. Cheers! John & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

We had hoped for a michael b experience but instead found exactly the same as andrea h.

We were looking for somewhere not far off the M5 and we noticed Farthings signed off the main road. Looked a nice frontage and advertised Taste of the West, and so hoped for a decent lunch. We were told that only sandwiches were available that day, but having looked at the attactive sandwich menu and seen the high price, we assumed we were in for sandwich heaven. However, having waited some considerable time, we were presented with something very insubstantial. Very disappointed and felt fleeced at having paid £6.75 and £7.20 for two very basic rounds of sandwiches. Not only this, but there was no-one around to complain to either, so we paid up and left. A feeble performance.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank SometimeTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarthingsHotel, General Manager at Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

What a great shame you did not enjoy. I'm terribly sorry that you were disappointed, I wish I had known at the time so that we might have had the opportunity of making amends. Thanks for your comments - Chef is looking at ways to make sure this does not happen again.

Best wishes, John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Stopped over with my son on route to Exeter University. Looked on line for a quiet spot off the motorway. Found the Farthings and it was perfect! Good wine (English), perfect local crab and pork from their own smallholding. Wow! What a find. Service was friendly and very good. All in all a highly recommended spot.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarthingsHotel, General Manager at Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Thank you for your review Chris - I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back when you are next en-route to Exeter. Best wishes, John & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

The board outside Farthings states that the hotel and restaurant are open every day. We stopped today at lunch time to have a look and after seeing the Taste of the West sign at the door went inside in search of a meal. No one in sight but we located a member of staff who advised us that only sandwiches were available. We took a table in the beautifully decroated lounge bar and quicky chose from the selection of 5 or 6 sandwich fillings.

It took much longer to find someone to take our order. Another 15 minutes for the requested coke and coffee to be served. And a further 20 minutes for the sandwiches to arrive. There was no sign of the shallots in the tuna and shallot filling that was spread between two thin slices of supermarket brown bread. The accompanying crisps were soggy but the few baby salad leaves seemed fresh. A Sainsbury's basics sandwich has more appeal - and at least they are not trying to kid you that it is anything else.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank andrea h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarthingsHotel, General Manager at Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

We are truly sorry that you were disappointed. Although we do stress that reservations are required, we are always happy to accommodate guests calling in for lunch, snacks or drinks. Clearly, you were hoping for a cooked luncheon which we will always arrange given just a little notice. We hope that you will visit us again and meet your expectations more thoroughly next time.

Best wishes

John & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

A lovely peaceful hotel, with a superb restaurant. The staff were very helpful, without being intrusive and the setting a tremendous way to escape life's hustle and bustle. Sitting in the dining room one afternoon and the chickens wandered in from the garden, and the following morning a family of pheasants wandered past the room. The hotel is in a tiny village, which gives a peaceful setting but does mean that if you don't take dinner in the hotel (though I would recommend at least one dinner in the restaurant - but perhaps skip lunch if you want to enjoy the full 3 courses at dinner) it is necessary to drive into Taunton. The only problem was the lack of an effective internet connection in the room, which had been specifically requested.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LukeHands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarthingsHotel, General Manager at Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Dear Daniel - Very many thanks for your review, so pleased you enjoyed your stay and we hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back sometime soon. Sorry about the internet service, we must have overlooked your request, my apologies. I will make sure it does not happen again. John & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taunton hotels
5.3 mi away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#6 of 17 in Taunton
660 reviews
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5 Jct 25
2.4 mi away
The Mount Somerset Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Brookfield House
Brookfield House
#1 of 17 in Taunton
393 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Corner House Hotel
The Corner House Hotel
#13 of 17 in Taunton
823 reviews
6.6 mi away
Meryan House Hotel
Meryan House Hotel
#8 of 17 in Taunton
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant

Address: Village Road | Hatch Beauchamp, Taunton TA3 6SG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Taunton
#4 Family Hotel in Taunton
Price Range: $77 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delightful Country House Hotel. The building dates from 1762 and carries many of it's original fetures. Delightful, individually decorated rooms, lovely restaurant offering the best of locally sourced & seasonal produce, log fires by winter and lovely gardens by summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Farthings Country Hotel
Farthings Country Taunton
Farthings Country House Hotel And Restaurant Taunton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing