We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Went on a bad night!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Plough Inn

The Plough Inn
Ranked #57 of 252 Restaurants in Taunton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Went on a bad night!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

I visited The Plough a week ago after watching the cricket nearby, on the way to the ground I walked past The Plough, saw the board saying Somerset CAMRA cider pub of the year, and instantly earmarked it for a swift pint on return to the station. Took a while to get served as it was busy, but I noticed a female staff member at the other end of the bar laughing and talking with customers, and completely ignoring for some time the 5 or 6 punters waiting at the other end - me included.
I was eventually served by another person who was apologetic, whom appeared to be doing all the work. So I am in a nice pub, talking cricket, with real ales and 10 ciders on tap - great! Then I "tried" to get another pint, but the same female staff member was standing directly in front of me on her mobile, avoiding eye contact and with obviously no intention of serving anyone. Then a male staff member came towards me, good I thought, and he then bent down behind the bar, plugging in various mobile phones to chargers, and then walked off with several customers still vainly holding out their money.
So basically I left and got served in the pub across the road in a normal way. Perhaps I was unlucky, and clearly it's a very popular place, so for me service was [--] and £3.50 for a pint of 3.8% beer steep.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank connosuir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    37
    4
    4
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“my favourite local”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

Country Pub in the town with great local ales & ciders and pieminster pies. They only do pies, fries and icecream. But thats fine with me.
My dog loves it there too

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank emma4walkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“love this pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

we have recently moved to Taunton and chose the Plough to watch the 6 nations, brilliant atmosphere, nice friendly pub with lots of nooks and crannies to explore! Food was ok, bit pricey.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank foodiegurl190730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Don't let the outside put you off!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

You need to fight your way through the smokers and past the locals to the bar but it's worth it for tasty (and super-strength!) local cider. You may have to cosy up to get a seat but there's three floors of haphazard seating that gives it a great atmosphere.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Clairelovesbath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
57 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great drinking pub!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

I met with some friends recently at the Plough. Good beer, good atmosphere. We meet there regularly now.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank RestaurantReviewer01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Plough Inn also viewed

 
Taunton, Somerset
Taunton, Somerset
 

Been to The Plough Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing