We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice food at nice price”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Castle Green Inn

Castle Green Inn
Ranked #166 of 256 Restaurants in Taunton
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Nice food at nice price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

Very quick service, friendly staff and the food was good value for money. Chips a little over cooked though. Very elegant and well presented strawberries and cream!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    12
    5
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Bog standard boozer”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

CAMRA must be out of their head. This is just a bog standard boozer, pleasantly located in the centre of town. It has a couple of real ales and a cider, nothing special. The staff always seem vaguely amused that you are there waiting to be served. The food is typical dire crap. It can seem kind of gloomy on all but the sunniest of days. There is usually some geezers out front sipping their umpteenth pints. I gave them two stars because, in all honesty, there aren't many really nice pubs in Taunton. So, this is something of a best of the worst. There seems to be a lot of turnover in the pub scene, though. So, maybe we should look again.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank noscreennameUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sunday Breakfast (The classic English)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

After enjoying a recent meal in this pub, we decided to give the breakfast a go.

Quality ingredients, good value for money, relaxed environment and good service

Excellent all round!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pthancock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Forgotten Pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

First time I have eaten in the pub, food was very good, staff very friendly, service was quick, couldn't really fault the whole experience.

I'd give this pub a 7/10 for overall experience, cant help thinking with some small improvements it could be nearly as good as it was back in the clarks tap day.

( Great selection of ciders, but why don't you have more somerset products ? everything seemed to be from cornwall ? )

- It was very hot, air con was off and the barman couldn't open the windows, very dark dinning area, not helped by dark coloured walls, sofa area seemed to have been well passed its best, something nice and fresh and welcoming and dressed properly would improve it.

+ Friendly staff, nice food, good selection of beers, nice location.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pthancock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“All day breakfast - except at breakfast time!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

Having seen a sign outside advertising breakfast for £4.99, I went along at 8.10am to be met by a bloke painting the bar. I asked about breakfast and he said, "What time is it?". I replied that it was 8.10am and he looked at me with disbelief and said it was unlikely that anything would be available until after 9 a.m.
This place is missing a trick. They are right next door to the Castle Hotel which charges £15.50 for a cooked breakfast and over £9 for a continental. All they need to do is serve breakfast at breakfast time and they'd make a killing.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank 1000roomnights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Castle Green Inn also viewed

 

Been to Castle Green Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing