We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First return since the fire”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Rose and Crown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Rose and Crown
Ranked #17 of 56 Taunton B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“First return since the fire”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

We hadn't visited this pub since it was gutted by fire approximately eight years ago....prior to that we had visited on a number of occasions. The transformation is a delight and the use of mismatched chairs (they look great) and beautiful light beams adds a touch of warmth to a lovely interior. What made it particularly inviting was the charm of the lady that served our drinks..she was so warm and welcoming and made sure we felt special. The light beer was well kept and the food was particularly enjoyable...we only had a withymans lunch and some chips, but it was well presented and very edible. I am only sorry that it is about 60 miles from where we live otherwise it would be a pub we would visit far more often. If you are able to stop off at the Rose and Crown then do go..even without a satnav you will find it in Stoke St Gregory easily enough.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Deborahski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    20
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
15
27
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
grantham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

Been here before . Difficult to find with a 62 year old brain and no sat nav. Glad I did because room is the same as before and very acceptable. Food as room is still good. However the servings are too large for me. Snake hips alas I am not; but the very good veg were largely wasted. I think a two size menu would help. If you are a local rejoice as this must be a destination you would risk driving to in the swamp which was still evident in the levels. GOD it must hace been hell.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank endorphinerush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

We stopped here for a night to break a long journey - the pub is approx 15 mins from the M5 and well worth the drive.
The bar was bustling and busy with a mixture of locals and visitors. Welcoming staff quickly showed us to our connecting two bedrooms which were well presented, nicely decorated and equipped (free WiFi). Carpet could have done with a vacuum in one of the rooms but nothing drastic. Quirky angles and room shapes help maintain the character of the pub which was pretty much completely rebuilt following a fire in 2008.
Relaxed atmosphere in restaurant area which connects to the bar so you don't feel disconnected from the bar life. Tasty food, lovely home baked bread and a good pint (or three) of Exmoor Ale. Breakfast was good with excellent kippers. Staff lovely throughout our stay.
Would definitely return or recommend.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank MMPET S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Yorkshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014

Booked in for two nights on business. Was allocated a downstairs room that had a kitchen. Overall the staff were helpful and friendly and the fish was the best I have tasted for a long time.
The room was the issue, It had the impression that it was a working part of the catering side with a bed. Shelves with cake stands and general catering supplies lined the walls and the sight of some sort of environmental trap containers under the counter top was not expected. The main flaw was at 4.30 am I woke up freezing as the heating appeared to have gone off and a toilet too close to the wall to use properly.
Did not stay the second night as my schedule had changed. To be honest I would not use again but perhaps my experience was out of the ordinary compared to the views of other reviewers.

Room Tip: Avoid ground floor room the rest appear to be very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GimletEastYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrRickyTaunton, Owner at The Rose and Crown, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
We are sorry that you had an uncomfortable stay with us.
You where staying in our ground room only because we where full upstairs, so we don't normally offer this to guests, but your booking was short notice and your other colleagues where already booked in, I hope you can feel you can stay with us again and we will make sure it would be better then your last experience.
Glad you enjoyed your meal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

As part of a team attending the Somerset Level floods, we found ourselves stumbling across this little gem. Although located some way from the M5, its a place well worth staying. The staff were friendly and more than helpful. The rooms, although on the small side are comfortable and have all you need. The location is fantastic if you want to get away from the hustle and bustle of it all. Food was fantastic. All in all, I can't fault the place. Well worth a visit.

Room Tip: If you want a Bath, choose room number 1. If you want a Shower, choose room number 2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

Having arrived in the area at short notice, the Rose and Crown was recommended to us by a local business owner whilst passing through the area. I must say from arriving to departing we were always given a warm welcome and nothing was too much trouble.

I stayed in room 1, which was really comfortable and has views over the landscape

All the staff were very friendly and we were made to feel very welcome throughout, nothing was any trouble, even down to printing a small document for me.

We had dinner there every evening (four) and the food was varied, well presented and plentiful.

My room was really bright and fresh, although this room didn't have a separate shower cubicle the bath was large, deep and relaxing.

I have stayed in many locations and varied accommodations, however, I must say this hidden gem is well up there with my favourites.

Thank you all for making my stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brecon Beacons National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
230 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

I have eaten here on a few occasions and have yet to be disappointed! A good selection on the menu, the food is hot,fresh and tasty and reasonably priced! The landlady is very welcoming, a lovely country pub that is well maintained!

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank blossom219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taunton hotels
5.3 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
5.3 mi away
Langaller Manor House
Langaller Manor House
#2 of 56 in Taunton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.8 mi away
No photo provided
Meare Green Farm B&B
#9 of 14 in Taunton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5 Jct 25
10.7 mi away
Days Inn Taunton
Days Inn Taunton
#15 of 17 in Taunton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Mount Somerset Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rose and Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rose and Crown

Property: The Rose and Crown
Address: Woodhill, Taunton TA3 6EW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Taunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your The Rose and Crown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rose And Crown Taunton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing