We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly hidden in the countryside, but worth finding.”
Review of The Rose and Crown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Rose and Crown
Ranked #19 of 53 Taunton B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

Went here on a recommendation from friends and what seems a fairly standard quintessential English pub turns out to be excellent at food. Great meals (my scallops with black pudding and apple were perfectly cooked).
Only downside was the very limited selection of real ales/ciders.
Exceptional service.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Kieran1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrRickyTaunton, Owner at The Rose and Crown, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2013

Thank you for your review! We are very glad you enjoyed your get together, food and service.
We have a smaller selection of real ales through the winter months when it is a little quieter as we believe it is better to have a couple of well kept ales then risk serving ale which "isn' moving" we also have the Thacher's Gold and Natch cider on draught but we sadly didn't have the Wood's Cider,I will make sure we get some in for next time!
All the best from us all.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (78)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 78 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2013

Visited as a geographically wide spread group of seven rather old Somerset Cricket Supporters for an end of season lunch.It is perfect in every way.Arrived at 11.50 am and left at 3.30,pm .The service is very welcoming with the staff joining in our banter and making us very welcome.The menu is very varied with excellent specials for a lunch time priced at both ends of the price spectrum.All tables were taken which shows how popular the place is bearing in mind that it is in a location well off the beaten track.A good selection of beers and wines with non alchoholic alternatives for the drivers.We all enjoyed the well cooked and full flavoured food in an unrushed environment seated at the round table in the bar.Totally recommended as a venue for a small party.Cannot comment on the rooms but I would happily sleep on the patio rather than miss out on such a wonderful pub.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DerekTarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrRickyTaunton, Owner at The Rose and Crown, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2013

Thank you for a wonderful review, you where a pleasure to look after!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

If the room had been big enough to open a suitcase anywhere other than on the bed, and if the shower had any water pressure and if the bed didn't wobble more than a badly made jelly, this would have been great. Nice dinner (great steak, lovely peppercorn sauce) nice breakfast, charming staff. But everything about the room was just annoying. Ok, the room was cheap, but please spend some money on a bed stable enough for two people to sleep in! In general, avoid room 1

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Orac-DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrRickyTaunton, Owner at The Rose and Crown, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2013

We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay in room 1, we are a little confused though, as we have tested the bed ourselves and can honestly say it didn't wobble, the bed is certainly not cheap.
I can only put it down to the fact we all compare our own beds to that of the hotel we stay at and therefore it did not suit you.
We are an old Somerset pub therefore the bedrooms are smaller then you would find in chain group hotels, but that is surely part of the character of the building?
Room 1 is our most requested room from our repeat customers, with the deep double ended bath.
Again we have ever suffered lack of water pressure, and can only think it unfortunate that all other guests where showering/washing at the same time.
As with all reviews it's great to have the positive and negative as it helps us as a business grow and address any problems, I only wish you had mentioned the points in your review to us at the time as we could have then talked and sorted them out.
I am glad you enjoyed your meal and service with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

The pub is beautiful - refurbished in 2008, it is light and airy. The meal was excellent - homemade pate and homemade bread and mackerel in lemon butter. Main courses of crispy pork in orange and gammon were delicious. Staff were attentive and friendly. Will definitely come back here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SheilaWise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We have called here a few times now while visiting Somerset Cricket. On every occasion the food has been excellent, way better than many much more pretentious establishments. The Otter Bright beer has always lived up to its name. A great light summer ale that almost jumps out of the glass! We have always found the service very friendly and efficient. Maybe not the cheapest cuisine, although they always have offers, but more important consistent quality. A lovely country pub in the heart of the Somerest countryside just a few miles outside Taunton. We have never stayed so we can't comment on the accomodation.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Martyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

We booked a 1 night stay here as a break on our way to Cornwall.
We also booked a table for 8pm.
We knew it was about 6-7 miles off the motorway but thought it was worth the detour to stay at a villag inn. On arrival we were given a warm welcome. We went to our room and was worried about the very low "beams" over the bed and in the very small en suite. Twice my husband banged his head and this was before he had a beer!!!! The room was nice but very small and a few basics were missing. ie hair dryer, cups/glasses in bathroom for cleaning teeth.
We went down to dinner and waited for someone to seat us. Eventually we had to ask one of the waitresses to tell us what table we were on. 15 minutes later no one had come to give us menus or ask if we wanted a drink. Again we had to ask. We ordered our food, a pint of beer and a bottle of wine.
20 minutes later nothing had come!! We asked if they could get our drinks and then another person came and said our order was "lost" and could we re order!! This was now 45 mins after sitting down!!! By the time we stated eating we had been there fir an hour!!!
The food eventually arrived and was very good. Shame about the service.
The cooked breakfast was excellent. All good quality. The home nade bread is excellent. Unfortunately only being offered 2 choices of cereal - muesli or cornflakes and sharing a pot of jam and marmalade with the other tables was not good.
At £85 a night for a very small room in a pub I think is a bit overpriced.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fishingCambridge_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrRickyTaunton, Owner at The Rose and Crown, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Thank you for your review, I'm sorry you were disappointed with your stay, as you can see from our other reviews it is not normally the case.
The rooms do have areas of low ceilings, but we are an old Somerset pub which does account for two of our rooms having low beams.
I'm sorry you had to wait such along time for service and dinner, I agree that an hour is far to long to wait for your dinner, I have spoken to the girls regarding this and we will endeavour to improve on that part of our service.
I have also talked to the kitchen about your order, it appears the order was not lost but came in after alot of big table orders which accounts for the wait for your meal.
That said, I again send our apologies that your stay with us was below parr, we are a family business and work hard on trying to produce and give the best food and service we can, and will try our best in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

This is a pub that is full of character, the food was fresh and tasty, and a good choice on the menu! The staff were pleasant and helpful! The pub was well
Maintained! I would definitely visit again if in the area!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blossom219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taunton hotels
5.4 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
6.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5, Jct.25
10.7 mi away
Days Inn Taunton
Days Inn Taunton
#16 of 17 in Taunton
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
The Mount Somerset Hotel
8.1 mi away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#6 of 17 in Taunton
704 reviews
6.7 mi away
Premier Inn Taunton East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rose and Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rose and Crown

Address: Woodhill, Taunton TA3 6EW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Taunton
Price Range: $69 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Rose and Crown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rose And Crown Taunton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing