We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family room needs attention”
Review of Heathercroft B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Heathercroft B&B
Ranked #17 of 53 Taunton B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Room adequate but noisy with window open as on very main road. En suite needs attention, as tiles are missing and mouldy on shower. Noise from sani-loo in en-suite and toilet/shower room next door very noisy. Tablecloths on tables in rooms both had several large holes in them. Curtain pole loose and this had obviously previously been replaced, but the polyfilla needs painting over.
Owner Barbara very helpful, but housekeeping needs some attention. Collection of cobwebs down the back of the double bed.
These faults let down an otherwise friendly family run establishment.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 47grumpyoldbugger74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pollySomerset, Owner at Heathercroft B&B, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2012

Thank you for your interest in one of the double/family rooms all has been replaced or repaired really sorry about the shower but it's all clean now and tiles have been replaced.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (51)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 51 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2012

Usefully located for town centre as well as launching into the countryside. Is on a main road so exiting the car park can be tricky as could parking if the house is full. Double glazing is good at cutting down the road noise, but is noticeable if you need a window open.
Barbara provides a warm welcome and is genuinely interested in her guests. She points out the steepness of the stairs and there are signs to remind you too. Bear this in mind if you have health problems.
The room we had was at the front of the house and was ensuite, but there was only a shower (electric and a drizzle) so longer stayers may miss having a bath. The communal bathroom was similarly a shower and no bath. Bed was very comfortable and clean linen and towels.
Breakfast was definitely the highlight with a buffet for cereals and juices and self serve filter coffee and personal fresh cooked English breakfast and toast and tea served by Barbara. We have stayed in hotels with many more stars and this compared favourably.

Room Tip: All the rooms are up steep stairs. The back of the house would be quieter. One of the double ensuite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iwantmysausages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

We (2 adults and a 4 year old) stayed in the Heathercroft Guesthouse in Taunton in mid June 2012. We were invited to a wedding and so were looking for a plce to stay for a couple of nights.

The guesthouse is on the main road, missed it the first time, so had to go and do a U turn. The reception by Ms. Heathercroft when we arrived was very warm and sympathetic. We were shown to our room (up a very steep flight of stairs) which was an ensuite. We really liked the room, with its one double bed and a single bed (which were very, very comfortable). THe room and the bathroom were spotlessly clean.

There's a kettle in the room with coffee and tea. Free wifi too.

Under the steep stairs, there are books and games for kids.

Breakfast was a jolly affair too, with delicious food and drinks served.

All in all, it was a very pleasant 2 night stay. I'd definitely recommend this guesthouse.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boosook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

I stayed here from the 2nd to the 4th of july .. £80 for 2 nights for a single ensuite guest room .. well what a truly wonderful stay. The goods and bads of this hotel are as follow (note there are many more goods and bads)

Goods
Location - close to the town, hospital and on a main bus route
Good clean tidy room
Plenty of soft fluffy towels
A fully fitted en-suite complete with toiletries
A very comfortable bed, lots of bedding and very clean and comfortable
Good amount of furniture .. 2 bedside cabinets, a open plan wardrobe, a little table and a towel rail for hanging wet towels on
AMAZING BREAKFAST .. the owner can cook AMAZING .. the first morning i had a full english which was freshly cooked .. sausage, egg, tomatoes, mushrooms and bacon all cooked fresh, severed with a fresh pot of tea, apple juice and orange juice. The second morning i had FRESH homemade crossaints that came straight out the oven, they were AMAZING with homemade plum jam which was to die for! Great selection of fruit, cereal and breakfast choice .. some things have to be requested the day before but over all I was very impressed!
The lady who owns it makes the hotel such a home from home - you can leave food in the fridge (you have to ask her to get it back out), there are take away menus, the dining room is always set up with plates and things so you can eat food in the dining room
This hotel is very good for buisness especially people working at the hospital as its about a 3 minute walk from the hospital!

Negatives
Its on a main road so there is quite a lot of noise, but this is not the owners fault
The breakfast crossaints were so yummy you would find it hard to resist a second one .. it took a lot of courage for me and my diet to resist!

I would definately stay here again in a heartbeat! Clean, comfortable, affordable, good breakfast and wonderful staff!

Thanks again for my stay! :)

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter then at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KevinLucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights. Barbara, the owner is very friendly and helpful. I opted for the room with ensuite. Very comfy bed and with clean, fresh sheets. The ensuite is also well maintained.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2012

This was our first experience of staying at a British B & B and we left with a very favourable impression. After researching TA reviews of other B & B's and hotels in the area, we (luckily) chose Heathercroft for its location and economical rates.

Location:
Heathercroft is a easy 25-minute walk from the centre of Taunton, the Museum and the Bus Station. It is also a short walk to the Musgrove Hospital. Thrifty's Car Rental is 3 minutes walk up the Wellington Road. The other establishments we checked out were on the intersections of Castle Street and the Wellington Road, close to the Tesco parking lot and consequently noisier in our opinion.
Taunton is the hub of Somerset bus and rail connections and is a great base from which to explore Somerset.

Rooms:
We had perhaps the noisiest room looking out onto the Wellington Road, but we were not disturbed by traffic with the double glazed window open at night. Our sunny pleasant ensuite room was cosy and warm. I was happy that it was not cluttered with cheap antiques and knick-knacks and we had adequate space to spread out our travel gear and notes. The bathroom plumbing was modern with plentiful hot water. The saniflow system did not disturb us! A hair dryer was supplied---something I did not expect in a B & B. We had a refreshment tray with an electric kettle and teas, coffee and hot chocolate. There was a TV, with more channels available than our previous 4-star hotel, and free WiFi.
I was shown the other rooms and they were equally spacious, fresh and comfortable and not cluttered with those dreaded knick-knacks I had seen in the photos of other B& B's. The non-ensuites had washhand basins and a bathroom conveniently just across the hall.
The upstairs rooms are reached by a very steep staircase, but the downstairs garden suite is easily accessed and perhaps the quietest room. Though, as I wrote, traffic noise was not a problem here for us.
Even when fully booked Heathercroft was quiet at night.

Breakfast:
The full English Breakfast offered was fresh fruit, juices, cereals, yoghurt, toast and preserves (Try the home-made plum jam!) good coffee, tea and a beautifully presented hot meal of egg, mushrooms, baked beans, grilled back bacon, sausage, tomato and baked beans that fills the plate and the guest.

Guests may also use the dining room facilities in the evening to enjoy take-away food in comfort.

Atmosphere:
The atmosphere is a home away from home. Barbara our hostess offers comfort, care, and when needed, travel tips for exploring the area. Our fellow guests were a mix of those visiting relatives in the hospital, business people and repeat guests.

We had a very happy visit at Heathercroft.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Farsante2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2011

Barbara does a fantastic job with Heathercroft. The place is welcoming, spotlessly clean and very comfortable. I have never slept in a more comfy bed. My 11 year old son was made very welcome and we enjoyed the leisurely breakfast. The road outside is fairly busy which I am not used to but there is double glazing and in those beds I could sleep through the M25.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LizzieKayy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taunton hotels
0.5 mi away
Meryan House Hotel
Meryan House Hotel
#9 of 17 in Taunton
152 reviews
1.1 mi away
Taunton House Hotel
Taunton House Hotel
#15 of 17 in Taunton
200 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lowdens House
Lowdens House
#22 of 53 in Taunton
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Loft Room
The Loft Room
#11 of 53 in Taunton
24 reviews
0 mi away
No photo provided
The Anchor Inn
#2 of 2 in Hillfarrance
42 reviews
0.6 mi away
Beaufort Lodge
Beaufort Lodge
#7 of 53 in Taunton
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heathercroft B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heathercroft B&B

Address: 118 Wellington Road, Taunton TA1 5LA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Taunton
Price Range: $89 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Heathercroft B&B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 minutes walk from the Hospital 1 mile from town centre 1.50 miles train station 5 minutes walk to the Crematorium & College. On cycle route with bike lock up ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Heathercroft B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heathercroft B&B Taunton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing