We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another wonderful stay at the Quantock Orchard”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Quantock Orchard Caravan Park
Ranked #12 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Taunton
Reviewed September 16, 2013

My boyfriend and I have stayed here 2 years in a row now & think it's a fantastic site. Our visit this year (from 30.08.13-01.09.13) was no disappointment.
The site offers beautifully maintained grounds and great facilities. Richard is a really helpful and lovely guy, who couldn't do enough to make your stay a pleasant one.
I find some of the negative reviews on here quite shocking and it makes me wonder what some people expect out of a camp site! The toilet/shower facilities are great - they're the cleanest out of any camp site I've ever been to (and we camp a lot!), the fridge is spotless and there's even a microwave to use.
Other facilities, such as the games room, pool etc. are a huge added bonus and great relief on a rainy night in a tent! We love it here and will definitely be back again next year!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (111)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 111 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2013

From booking to departure, I found the site a pleasure to deal with. Whilst no one was at reception when we arrived, our pitch was clearly marked on a map and we were soon parked up next to the spotlessly clean "facilities" block and children's play park. The West Somerset Railway was under a mile away down a quiet lane for a beach day at Minehead with a ride on a steam train as well. Departure day was very relaxed as it was "leave when you like" as our site was not booked that evening, and so a final swim in the heated swimming pool and rinse off in the piping hot showers ended off a fine and relaxing stay for a Grandpa and his three grandsons. All voted it a fine weekend and "can we go there again please?" Says it all really! I don't know what site the negatie reviews were on, but it wasn't one from my experience!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JonA297
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Greeted by a very pleasant young man- very helpful... Then it all went down hill from there. We were shoe- horned onto a tiny pitch with our friends. ( a large single pitch but we barely fitted with our two average sized tents and small gazebo) health and safety had clearly gone by the way side in favour of profit! Pool was freezing, toilets filthy with faeces over the taps which was reported but not cleared up for 48 hours. Washing up right next to chemical toilet disposable- not a nice aroma! Electric kept tripping out- we were told WE were responsible although apparently it happens all the time. Others were advised to run their hook up across the road as the connections were better. Left a day early- owner refused point blank to refund one night and offered us both a free three night stay- ha ha- no thanks! Also in the middle of nowhere! Caught the steam train to minehead which was okay - wookey hole a fab day out but a long journey! Five stars... Not in my opinion!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sseoajeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
quantockorchard, Owner at Quantock Orchard Caravan Park, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Sorry you did not enjoy your holiday, we felt we gave you more than enough space for your needs - we provided two pitches with a combined size of 25 feet by 50 feet, which would have been than adequate for two large tents and a small gazebo , However when you arrived you pitched two 10 berth plus tents; a number of large gazettos and eating areas, you also left an area where you could sit out all together as it was a big party - what are we to do? Spoil your holiday and say some of these structures are not allowed or send you home, or try to allow you to enjoy yourselve? This puts us in a very difficult postition .
We installed a number of new shower control units a few days before at a cost of £ 200 each the reason for the screw was that some idiot broke off the handle the following day, it does not give you the heart to provide people with new equipment as soon as we do someone breaks it.
We did not want to close the showers as this would have impacted on a large number of people as further spare parts are just not available during a bank holiday.
When you left you said that you were going home because it was going to rain the following day and you wanted to pack away the tent in a dry condition, we don't give refunds for bad weather, however we will alway help by giving credit note for use another time, this is something we have always done, this policy has helped many people in the past especially in the case of illness.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed here in a tent for two nights over the August bank holiday. I was really impressed with the cleanliness and layout of the site. The owners were lovely really relaxed and friendly and nothing was too much bother. I haven't camped for years but a couple of our group who are regulars commented that the pitches were a little tight, but then the site itself is very compact.
Our pitch was great, really secluded and private. Im not sure the pool was really heated as it was freezing but it was nice to have it none the less. I would reccomend the site wholeheartedly

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

This campsite is lovely and small. It had plenty of things to do for the children including the play area and swimming pool. The pool was cold but the children loved it. There's not much in the immediate area so the small shop is helpful. It could probably stock more but it has everything you need in the short term. The toilet block has everything you need including 4 toilets, 2 showers and plenty of sinks. We had plenty of hot water but the whole block is quite dated. We had a lovely time and were able to visit some lovely places.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank familyoffiveonhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We have just spent 9 nights at the campsite in our caravan. We really enjoyed our stay. The site is beautiful and very well maintained. We found the showers and loo's ok. Plenty of hot water and if the main showers are busy there is another two showers to the side which are very clean as no one seems to use them. The owners were very pleasant and helpful. We look forward very much to returning. The Groomes

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank charlie011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Nice setting, situated in the hills, with great scenery, although this cant be admired from campsite as hedges surround site. Toilets/showers are always my ultimate bugbear on touring sites and im afraid those here failed miserably, dated and dirty for best part of day. Outside pool appeared great for the other kids on site, but again not clean enough to entice me. Didn't use the gym facilities.
Small site shop came in handy although could have a bit more as u r quite away from shops.

An absolute must is a trip on the 'Steam train', the station a ten minute walk from camp, although parking available should u require, as the walk back is uphill.

Nice people who run the site who were really helpful, just gets let down by the showers/loos...... :-(

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank honestlady72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taunton hotels
13.4 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
11.0 mi away
The Mount Somerset Hotel
8.2 mi away
The Corner House Hotel
The Corner House Hotel
#13 of 17 in Taunton
836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Days Inn Taunton
Days Inn Taunton
#16 of 17 in Taunton
397 reviews
7.9 mi away
Heathercroft B&B
Heathercroft B&B
#18 of 53 in Taunton
50 reviews
9.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5 Jct 25
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quantock Orchard Caravan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quantock Orchard Caravan Park

Address: Browside Flaxpool | Crowcombe, Taunton TA4 4AW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Taunton
Price Range: $23 - $36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Quantock Orchard Caravan Park 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning family run touring park offers the idyllic setting for your camping holiday in the beautiful Somerset countryside. Our park is immaculate and we are proud to have won many accolades including "The Best Caravan and Camping Site in West of England." Surrounded by stunning panoramic views of the Quantock Hills and ideally situated next to the West Somerset Railway. We aim to provide you with unforgettable holiday memories and the chance to relax and unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp so you can book your Quantock Orchard Caravan Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quantock Orchard Caravan Park Taunton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing