We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”
Review of Lowdens House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lowdens House
Ranked #27 of 53 Taunton B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

This place is run by very nice people .Nice quite location. As for the breakfasts a five star hotel should have a look how's its done. I was staying for 4 days would highly recommend this b&b . and would definately stay again if I was ever in taunton again.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frankieboy6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (64)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 64 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

Lowdens is located 5-10 mins walk from the town centre. It has a private car park. I found Jane professional and helpful both when booking over the phone and throughout my stay. I arrived at 11.00hrs and had previously asked if we could drop off our bags. Jane had said we would probably even be able to access our room and this was the case. It was so helpful to sort our luggage and take a few minutes rest before heading out. The twin bedroom faced the rear and had good firm beds, two good pillows per bed and clean, crisp bedlinen. There was a good kettle, biscuits and tea/coffee/hot chocolate. The bathroom is in need of a refit and the shower had very low pressure. However, at this price point, it was acceptable. The towels were good quality. I slept very well and had a lovely breakfast. They serve Eggs Benedict, pancakes, full English, fresh fruit, cereals and juices. Tasty coffee, too! Jane kindly lent me a hair dryer and Sellotape while I was there and let me use the room until 11.30hrs, which was very helpful. This is a lovely B&B that delivers above its price point. I paid just £60 for 2 people in a twin room with breakfast. Amazing value,a comfortable stay and a charming host in Jane.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KParkhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Stayed here as the second overnight stop on a cycle tour of the West Country Way. Was prompted to book it due to close proximity to the route. Our room was up in the eaves of the loft conversion so I had to be careful sitting up in bed as not much headroom. Apart from this the room was comfortable and clean. The shower was a bit snug even for someone of average height and build. But its only to de-stink after a days riding after all.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Les C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Very welcoming hosts, very spacious twin room with 3 beds available. Very clean, close to town and station. Good facilities. wonderful full English breakfast, well worth every penny and i would definitely recommend it and would stay again when in Taunton if available.

Room Tip: our twin room had three singles and still very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank higginsfamily_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

rooms were were spacious and clean and the the en-suite was good excellent location for the town,breakfast was superb with lots of choice staff were very friendly and nothing was to much trouble, special thank you for being able to use room on our last day after checkout while waiting for our train would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Lovely Bed and Breakfast, central location to the Town, Staion and the Musgrove Hospital was a 6 minute walk away. Nice bright sunny room, with on-suite, comfortable bed, tea and coffee making facilities, biscuits were good, breakfast was plentiful, good quality, and a nice selection. Staff were friendly and very accomodating and nothing was too much trouble, the use of fridge and microwave in breakfast room was a bonus to heat a quick supper, Tesco was just across the road.
I would recommend this Bed & Breakfast as being excellent value.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gouldy956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We completed our third stay at the Lowden House this week and it was as good as always. Conveniently located, good value, a Tesco right across the street, good food and wonderful service. We hope to stay again in 2014!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KidstoFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taunton hotels
0.1 mi away
The Corner House Hotel
The Corner House Hotel
#13 of 17 in Taunton
837 reviews
1.1 mi away
Meryan House Hotel
Meryan House Hotel
#8 of 17 in Taunton
148 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5 Jct 25
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Taunton House Hotel
Taunton House Hotel
#15 of 17 in Taunton
194 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#6 of 17 in Taunton
689 reviews
0.0 mi away
Beaufort Lodge
Beaufort Lodge
#8 of 53 in Taunton
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lowdens House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lowdens House

Address: 26 Wellington Road, Taunton TA1 4EQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Taunton
Price Range: $61 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lowdens House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lowdens House offers comfortable accommodation within walking distance of Taunton town centre. All rooms are en suite and have televisions and tea and coffee making facilities, and there is free parking and wifi. Room only or breakfast included rates are available and, for other meals, Taunton's many restaurants are close by and there is a microwave in the dining room if guests prefer to eat in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Lowdens House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lowdens House Taunton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing