We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cosy & Welcoming !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of B&B at The Winchester Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
B&B at The Winchester Arms
Ranked #7 of 55 Taunton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Cosy & Welcoming !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

The Winchester is located in a quiet country lane, easily accessible, with secure parking onsite. A very pleasant atmosphere inside with excellent food, the Staff were most hospitable. Well sutuated for walks along leafy country lanes to relieve the stress of work yet just 10 minutes away from the Taunton CBD, which made it ideal for my visit. Representing excellent value for money, I highly recommend The Winchester !

Room Tip: Just explain to the Staff your requirements and they will test and adjust according to availability...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duncan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    26
    9
    1
    4
See reviews for
34
46
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warwick
Level Contributor
74 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

So many pibs seem to think they can offer mediocre and bland food for lunchtime trade. Not this one. We stopped off en route to North Devon as I hate motorway service stations and this is about 15 mins from the M5 junction. What a great lunch - the menu is varied and contains lots of fresh fish dishes along with the staples of lasagne, jacket potatoes, and so on. But the meals are fresh, hot and tasty. Service is excellent and both of our mains came with a large and crisp side salad on the plate rather than the all too often seen excuses for limp lettuce and some soggy cucumber. This was a really great lunchtime find. It was busy too which is always a good sign. The pub has a little garden at the back which is by a stream or the inside is traditional and welcoming. Very much recommended for a stop off - don't suffer the ignomy of service station food!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LottieFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somerset
Level Contributor
101 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

Revisited this lovely quaint Hotel/Pub restaurant and as before were delighted with our stay.
This time we were on the ground floor which was a lovely large room, light airy and tastefully decorated.
Breakfast outstanding as always and the staff are warm and friendly even on an early Sunday an early Sunday morning lol!
The village of Trull is stunning, beautiful houses, winding lanes, stunning church and the friendliest of locals, Taunton is only 1.5miles so ease of access in to the city is great.

Room Tip: I think this was room 6 on the ground floor, access was via side door to pub. It had a double and si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lorraine w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

I stayed here with my husband for one night; he was supposed to be visiting Taunton with a friend and they had booked 2 single rooms. Unfortunately the friend had to cancel so we changed the booking to a double room. The room we had was lovely, comfy bed, good wifi, no en suite but the loo and bathroom were just along the corridor.
The pub was very friendly, and the menu looked good. We would have eaten here if we'd stayed more than 1 night. We got a taxi into Taunton for the evening as Trull is a very small village and there was no other pubs etc.

Nice freshly cooked breakfast in the morning rounded off a lovely stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RonnieandMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taunton somerset
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

The winch is a great place to go if you are looking for good pub grub at affordable prices yet still manages to be a pub not a restaurant so the atmosphere is warm and welcoming. The service is swift and a good wine menu at realistic prices. A rare find and worth a visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nuffybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

Back at the Winchester after a gap of a few years. Still the same owners and as good as ever! £3 an excellent pint and the best breakfast I've had for a long time. Lovely pub with a cracking menu. Recommended.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Tim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

The Winchester Arms, is a lovely pub that serves fantastic food at a decent pub price, along with very reasonably priced drinks. The owners are very friendly and very accommodating, offering to make me a packed lunch instead of breakfast as I was leaving early the next morning.

The room I had (en suite) had everything I wanted in a room, tea and coffee making facilities, free wifi, a comfy bed and a decent sized shower cubicle.

It's not often you find a place with all these qualities and good service deserves a good review.

If I am back here for business again in the area, this is the place I will stay.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Zebsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taunton hotels
5.3 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
1.7 mi away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#7 of 17 in Taunton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
2.8 mi away
Premier Inn Taunton East Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Corner House Hotel
The Corner House Hotel
#13 of 17 in Taunton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
1.5 mi away
Brookfield House
Brookfield House
#1 of 17 in Taunton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
7.1 mi away
Fitzhead Inn
Fitzhead Inn
#5 of 55 in Taunton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B at The Winchester Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B at The Winchester Arms

Property: B&B at The Winchester Arms
Address: Church Road, Taunton TA3 7LG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Taunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — B&B at The Winchester Arms 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and LateRooms so you can book your B&B at The Winchester Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Winchester Arms Public House Hotel Taunton
B&B At The Winchester Arms Taunton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing