We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great getaway-from-it-all destination”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Taunton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Holly Farm Holiday Cottages
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great getaway-from-it-all destination”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

Took the family here in mid August and loved the place. It is on the levels and if I am honest it is a bit of a trek if you want to do some of the sites of Somerset like cheddar gorge or wookey hole. But trek aside, it was a wonderful place and worth the trek to stay in such a location. Great welcome from the owners - you get a cake, tea bags and milk - just what you need after a 270 mile drive and not something we've had before. The cottage was perfectly clean and well equipped throughout. The cottage (we were in the cider house) slept 5 and it was a good size for this number of people. A huge main bedroom for mum and dad, a smaller single room and a twin room (not bunks) so whatever mix of children you have are covered. You have your own private, off-street parking and shared use of the pool and games room. The pool is large enough for a decent swim and isn't swamped if 2-3 families are in there. There is a jacuzzi as well which is wonderful. Changing room, toilet and shower are always spotless. The games room has a good quality pool table (chargeable) and table tennis along with piano and pamphlets about the local attractions. There was wifi ,although the signal wasnt great (i didnt care though, it was a holiday). There is a shop in the (pretty) village which is good for basics but for larger shops we went to the sainsburys in Taunton. There are other supermarkets there but this was closest. The town of Taunton had good shopping opportunities and the orchard centre is one of the best places to head. We had satnav which was handy as the taunton one way system was a tad tricky. So. Will we go back? Absolutely. Same place? Definitely.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed at Holly Farm Cottages for three weeks. We could not have wanted for anything. With such a long stay it can be challenging in a holiday cottage as you find you are missing a certain knife, or cheese slicer, or need a needle and thread for example. Yet everything is there for you. The year round pool is lovely and very clean, a fun games room, plenty of private space outside, apple orchard to roam in, grassy area for the kids to play. It's all there. Rob and Liz are lovely people, an so helpful, providing all sorta of information in the cottage including a walking trail map as well as the normal info. Anything else you need just ask and they will advise. Very clean units, meticulous maintenance, can not stress enough how spoiled we felt! Thanks so much and would recommend to anyone and everyone.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ClareRutz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2012

We (myself, 4 boys aged 11, 12, 15x2) booked very last minute to stay 4 nights over February half term.
We stayed in Cowstall, which was well equipped, warm and comfortable. The kitchen had everything needed to produce meals for hungry boys, the freezer was a good size, and the washing machine & tumble dryer was put to good use! The swimming pool was well used, however the limited opening did mean it got a little crowded at times, I managed a solo swim at 8am one morning though :) The games room has the usual table tennis, pool table (50p) and a piano which I enjoyed playing.
North Curry has well stocked village store, 1 mile away. We didn't eat out, but there appear to be plenty of local pubs and visiting "chippy" twice a week. Taunton is a 15 minute drive to cinema, bowling & Sainsburys if it rains, Fleet Air Arm Museum & Haynes motor museum about 30 minutes away. There are many small towns to explore, plus go and have a look at the x-rated ceiling paintings (15th Century) at Muchelney Church, Cider at Burrow Hill Cider Distillery, pottery at Muchelney and the Willow & Wetlands museum is just down the road, possibly a little "boring" for teenagers though!
The only downside was the truly dreadful "smell" around the place, much worse than "normal" farm smells!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz190730, Owner at Holly Farm Holiday Cottages, responded to this review, February 24, 2012
Thank you for your review. I'm glad you had such a good time in Somerset; there's more to see and do here than people realise. We're also very fortunate in having good shops and pubs in both the villages. I'm sorry about the smell from the farm next door, which wafts over here when the wind is in the north - not too often.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2011

At Holly Farm, we stayed in The Granary cottage and it was perfect, fully equipped ktchen, toilettries in the bathroom, also extremly comfy beds.

Our cottage had a totally enclosed drive and garden, with a gate leading to the courtyard perftect lace to sit in the sun with dogs.

There were 3 of us and our 2 dogs

although you couldnt use the pool between 11-4 it (because it was still school time) this wasn't a problem as we went to various places; Cheddar Gorge, Local Cider Farm so would had a swim in the morning and later.

Mr and Mrs Hembrow are wonderful hosts and were there to help with any issues that arose and we plan to come again.
A tasty fresh cream homemade cake that was given as part of a welcome pack with nearby pubs, cafes, doctors and vets

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tipex4119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2011

We have just come back from Holly Farm, we stayed in "The Cowstall" cottage and it was perfect, fully equipped ktchen, toilettries in the bathroom and having a loo downstairs was ideal. also very comfy beds.
Our cottage had a totally enclosed drive and garden, perftect if you have dogs

There were 4 adults and 2 large dogs (doberman and rottweiler) and there was plenty of room for all of us.
although the pool wasn't available for use between 11-4 it wasn't a problem as we were out and about during the day, so would have a swim later.
mr and mrs Hembrow are wonderful hosts and we wouldn't hesitate to go there again.
A lovely (and very tasty) bonus was the scrummy fresh cream homemade cake that was given as a welcome present, which was greatly appreciated after a long drive.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abbie1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz190730, Owner at Holly Farm Holiday Cottages, responded to this review, July 8, 2011
Thank you for your kind comments, Abbie. We're glad you and the dogs had a good time. Liz & Rob.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2011

We have stayed here for three long weekends in recent years and always had a great experience.We normally book 2 cottages next to each other for 6 adults and 2 children.I would agree with all the previous posters .Booking the pool can sometimes be an issue but the Hembrows are very helpful hosts who also leave you to your own devices (but are on hand and helpful if needed ). You can normally only book for a full week but we have been able to book for 3 night stays in the past and they do try to be flexible .

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank erskinechilders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz190730, Owner at Holly Farm Holiday Cottages, responded to this review, July 8, 2011
Thank you for your kind rematks. We look forward to seeing you again sometime. Liz & Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex england
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2011

we stayed here for 3 nights for a hen weekend on the bank holiday weekend. The accomodation was great, clean and well furnished. Shampoos and body wash, etc were included. Cottages are well maintained and it was a great place to stay. However when we booked and on the website it states that you get usage of the pool and hot tub BUT THIS IS NOT THE CASE, we were unable to use the pool and hot tub from 11am to 4 pm on the days we were there as the pool can be booked out to local people for exclusive use to them. On the saturday we were there the pool was booked out the whole time and we had planned to have a relaxing day based there while having beauty treatments from Mary (who is great and well worth booking treatments). We only found out when we arrived that we could not use the pool until after 4pm. WAS NOT IMPRESSED AND WE WOULD WOULD NOT BOOK THESE COTTAGES AGAIN.
So its a great place to stay if you dont mind not being able to use the pool and hot tub

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank julia73EssexEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz190730, Owner at Holly Farm Holiday Cottages, responded to this review, July 8, 2011
Thank you for your nice remarks about the cottages. We're sorry that you were disappointed about the restricted use of the pool. The opening hours are on our website but we can see that we need to make this clearer to people when they book. Thank you for pointing this out to us. We hope your wedding day went well. Liz & Rob.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taunton hotels
7.1 mi away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#7 of 17 in Taunton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
4.7 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
4.2 mi away
Springfield House
Springfield House
#2 of 15 in Taunton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5 Jct 25
9.8 mi away
Days Inn Taunton
Days Inn Taunton
#15 of 17 in Taunton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Mount Somerset Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holly Farm Holiday Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holly Farm Holiday Cottages

Property: Holly Farm Holiday Cottages
Address: Holly Farm House Meare Green, Taunton TA3 6HS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Taunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax and unwind at Holly Farm. Enjoy the indoor heated swimming pool or chill out in the hot tub. There's a games room with table tennis and pool tables. Each cottage is fully equipped and has a spacious garden with its own parking area. There are good pubs and restaurants nearby so the cook can have a holiday too. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Holly Farm Holiday Cottages Taunton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing