We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Twixmas Break”
Review of Catwell House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Catwell House
Ranked #4 of 53 Taunton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our ‘Twixmas’ break at Catwell House. Ross and Becca made us feel very welcome, with a nice pot of tea on arrival, and couldn’t do more to make our stay more pleasurable. Situated in a quiet, peaceful location in a lovely rural Somerset village, the house is an ideal location to explore the Somerset coast and Exmoor. Our room was excellently furnished with antique furniture and a four poster bed, complemented with a superb modern bathroom. There is plenty of secure parking space onsite, and the village is only 5 minutes walk away; Becca helpfully booked us into a pub to enjoy an evening meal on our first night. The Catwell breakfast was superb, delicious and perfectly cooked to order by Ross. Ross also provided us with a route to enjoy a splendid tour of the coastal roads and Exmoor, which was so useful for us to see as much as possible during our short break. We will certainly stay here again when we visit the area, and can highly recommend Catwell House.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (158)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 158 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2012

Ross and Becca were an extremely welcoming couple and made us feel very relaxed and at home. It was fantastic to bring our Springer with us. We stayed earlier in the year and have been remiss not to write this sooner....I would certainly have no hesitation in recommending Catwell house to anyone....

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

What a wonderful place! Ross and Becca were so inviting for our one night stay. We were greeted at the car park and shown the way in to the lovely living room with a warm wood fire crackling away. We were shown our room and offered a well needed pot of tea in front of the fire. We needed somewhere to eat that evening and Ross gave us many options and booked us in to the local curry house which was very nice! Just want we wanted at a short walk away. We will absolutely return again if in the area and will recommend to others! Thank you!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raefayegilbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed a single night at Catwell House following a recommendation from a family member and had a very enjoyable stay. The actual property is very homely, comfortable, full of character and is well located for visiting Exmoor and the coastlines of West Somerset and North Devon. Being in a quiet location within walking distance to town facilities and the West Somerset Railway (Steam) is a further benefit. The proprietors (Rebecca and Ross) were brilliant hosts being friendly, helpful and great fun. Excellent cooked breakfast and a range of newspapers made available each morning to read at leisure within the comfortable guest lounge. Great place to have a break and unwind, hope to stay again.

Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank duncan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

I'm so glad that I chose Catwell House to stay. After scouring through dozens of hotels and B&Bs on Trip Advisor, Catwell stood out as being one of the very few with no bad reviews. I have to admit, I was slightly skeptical that it could have been so good and wondered if some of the reviews might be fabricated by friends and family of the owners.

I'm happy to say that you really can believe everything you read here! Right from the outset, Ross and Rebecca were impeccable hosts. As other reviewers have noted, they are super friendly without being obtrusive. The bedroom we stayed in (Monksilver) was lovely. Super comfy beds and really thoughtful touches including lots of really interesting books to read. I'm used to staying in hotels where one has to pay an additional (usually extortionate) fee for WIFI. Not so at Catwell. So if you need Internet access, you won't be disappointed.

Rebecca kindly booked us a table at one of the local pubs (Masons Arns) which was really nice for bar food. The second night, we ate at Reeves in Dunster, which is an exquisite restaurant, although rather more expensive than the Masons. Would thoroughly recommend it tho if you are looking for a really special meal.

The breakfasts that Ross and Rebecca served were amongst the best I've ever had in any establishment over the years. Faultless.

Would definitely stay here again, it's situated at the end of a bumpy lane (don't bring the Ferrari) and there are lovely views and walks in the surrounding area.

If you need somewhere to stay in North Devon/Somerset, you really couldn't do better than Catwell. A massive thanks to Ross and Rebecca James for such a wonderful stay - we'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SlashMcKnifey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We stayed just one night to break our journey home from Cornwall. The directions were excellent and we found the house easily although it is tucked away, situated adjacent to beautiful hills. The welcome was warm & friendly, and we quickly settled into our room, which was cosy & well equipped in traditional country house style, with a view over the countryside. Superb beds ensured a good nights sleep.The owners had very helpfully booked a taxi for us in advance so we could go out for dinner & enjoy a glass or two!
Breakfast is served at a communal table & we enjoyed meeting our fellow guests. Excellent coffee, fruit, cereals & cooked breakfast.
Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GardenerCook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We booked this as we were attending a wedding at St Audries and Catwell House was isdeally situated for this. Because and Ross were so fab, from calling us on our journey to make sure the awful weather and M5 weren't causing us too much trouble, to taking our luggage from the cars in the pouring rain. The room was lovely, a fab four poster bed and spacious bathroom. The guest lounge was well stocked and breakfast was superb. A really lovely stay and would recommend this to anyone!

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Becky W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taunton hotels
18.6 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
13.6 mi away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#6 of 17 in Taunton
714 reviews
13.4 mi away
Brookfield House
Brookfield House
#1 of 17 in Taunton
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Langaller Manor House
Langaller Manor House
#2 of 53 in Taunton
170 reviews
19.7 mi away
Frog Street Farmhouse
Frog Street Farmhouse
#1 of 53 in Taunton
377 reviews
13.4 mi away
Beaufort Lodge
Beaufort Lodge
#7 of 53 in Taunton
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catwell House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catwell House

Address: Catwell House Catwell, Taunton TA4 4PF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Taunton
Price Range: $142 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Catwell House 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17Th-century Country House, retaining many original features including log-fires. Nestling between the Quantocks and Exmoor with views of open countryside. Sylvan setting in peaceful location on village edge, Catwell House is bordered by stream and open pasture. Secluded, yet all village amenities within 5 minutes walk. West Somerset Railway station in village and immediate access to the Quantock Hills and Beach via footpaths. ALL EN-SUITE ROOMS with Wireless broadband, Freeview Digital TV, DVD, Radio, CD, Hospitality tray.Mini Fridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Catwell House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catwell House Taunton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing