We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little pricey but fine otherwise”
Review of Blorenge House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Blorenge House
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Certificate of Excellence
England, U.k.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A little pricey but fine otherwise”
Reviewed June 3, 2009

This hotel is in an old house but my room was spotlessly clean, the staff welcoming and there was freeview TV available. My bed was also solid and I had a good nights sleep.
The location is only a couple of minutes walk from the town centre and only about 5 minutes from the train station making it very well placed.

Those wanting newspapers or a massive breakfast selection will have to look elsewhere. There was the standard cereal and juice choices along with tea or coffee and toast. Also offered was a full english breakfast. I had all of the above and throughly enjoyed it!

Although the Blorenge House is in a dated building, I found that as I don't drive, being close to the train station and the town center was a real bonus. I have stayed in places that have offered the same for less, but it was still a fine experience with no real complaints to be made and all the staff (I think it's family run) were all very pleasant and polite.

PROs:

*Very close to the town and train station (if you are visiting the Brewhouse Arts Centre like I was it is under a five minute walk away)

*Polite and curtious staff

*Spotless room

*Nice and quiet at night

CONs:

*Looks dated (But I don't really care about that)

*Not a lot of breakfast choice (but I still enjoyed mine)

*Although everything was ok, I would still consider it to be a little pricey - especially compared to hotel chains

*No bar, room service, fitness centre or anything like that

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dangermousetrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    47
    24
    7
    5
See reviews for
29
42
15
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Midlands
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2008

No newspapers, No bar, breakfast very ordinary, could probably have got better in a cafe! Over priced.
No hairdryer in room, room basement and dark.
Beautiful building under used . We chose this hotel thinking it would make a very special weekend even more so. Would have been better off in a travel lodge at least we would not have been disapointed.

  • Liked — The outside of the building
  • Disliked — everything else
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank haggiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2008

Found this B&B via Taunton tourist website - very disappointed. We've stayed at numerous B&Bs in the UK over the past year or so (attending weddings), and Blorenge is most expensive establishment we've stayed in. It was clean, but other than that, very disappointing. Breakfast was very basic - for £82 a night you expect a little more than cornflakes, tired fruit and nasty 'value' sausages! Decor was very outdated with unhygienic 80s style upholstered bedhead and bedside table. Most telling of all, the visitor's book was peppered with large patches of tippex where staff have clearly tried to erase negative comments from visitors...

Verdict: overpriced and extremely underwhelming. Even our taxi driver told us it had a poor reputation locally.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Everything else
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RoseRR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2008

This is the third time that we have stayed at the Blorenge Guest House. It is within easy walking distance to the town centre and railway station, if you don't come by car. Twice we have slept in a four poster bed which is different. The breakfasts are good with a choice of cereals, fresh fruit and, of course, the full English breakfast.
Parking is limited so get your spot early if they are busy!

  • Liked — It's location and the four poster bed!
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Kentishmaid67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taunton hotels
0.4 mi away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#7 of 17 in Taunton
635 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Corner House Hotel
The Corner House Hotel
#13 of 17 in Taunton
792 reviews
5.6 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Brookfield House
Brookfield House
#1 of 17 in Taunton
379 reviews
0.6 mi away
Taunton House Hotel
Taunton House Hotel
#17 of 17 in Taunton
179 reviews
1.3 mi away
Meryan House Hotel
Meryan House Hotel
#9 of 17 in Taunton
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blorenge House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blorenge House

Property: Blorenge House
Address: 57-59 Staplegrove Road, Taunton TA1 1DG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Taunton
#5 Luxury Hotel in Taunton
#5 Family Hotel in Taunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Blorenge House 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blorenge House offers sumptuous four star accommodation in the heart of Taunton. Situated within a five minute walk to the town centre, we are also in close proximity to Somerset County Cricket Ground and Taunton Railway Station. Blorenge House also offers contemporary two bedroom serviced apartments which are ideal for anyone looking for accommodation over an extended period of time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and TripOnline SA so you can book your Blorenge House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blorenge Hotel Taunton
Blorenge House Taunton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing