We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint and particularised; perfect for a couples stay”
Review of Blorenge House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Blorenge House
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 26, 2014

I really liked how this hotel was unlike any other. Attention to detail from four poster bed to embroidered linen and time spent. Beautiful restaurant. Nice breakfast. Fabric in the rooms provided wonderful surroundings.

Room Tip: Number five, I've stayed twice now and liked number ten
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Prudence H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (164)
There are newer reviews for Blorenge House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

135 - 141 of 164 reviews

Reviewed December 18, 2013

I stayed for 2 nights at the Blorenge. I had a very friendly welcome upon arrival. My room was very clean, comfortable and spacious. Blorenge is brilliantly situated,
5-10 min walk in to town.
Breakfast was excellent very tasty.
Thank you for a lovely stay, would definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Katie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Front door locked on check in. Awful smell of fish on entering. Room decor not to many peoples taste I would imagine. Breakfast fair bit only served between 8am and 9am - on a Sunday morning! V handy for town centre. Overpriced - won't be back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Elster658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Upon entering the building it was musty smelling. Room clean but very tired although four poster bed comfortable. En suite very compact but shower was good. Breakfast was very disappointing. Buffet of fruit, cereal and juice was a rather poor selection. Full English cooked breakfast looked very tasty but was strangely tasteless. The bacon wasn't very nice and the sausage was nasty. We felt the room was very overpriced.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Se7ens60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights and ask for a four poster room as wife had recent op and wanted one of the better rooms. friends had already spent a couple of nights there when we arrived. They had told us all about it and said it was all a bit old. Well, thats what I like. I love old hotels with big staircases that creak when you walk up them. Proper hotels as I call them. Room not large but bathroom large and the actual bath/shower was massive. I'm 6ft and could lay out straight. Cleaning was not great and the bed making was a little amateur. Bed was very comfortable. No AC and was a bit hot at times so had to leave the window open. Take a shotgun to shoot that blooming seagull !!! Location great, far enough out to be quiet near enough to walk to centre. Breakfast OK, but not great but as I'm veggie and they did veggie breakfast it suited me. friends said sausages were not good as other reviewer also said. Staff pleasant enough. Would stay again even though slightly pricey. Friends had previously stayed at travel lodge taunton but said the money spent on taxi's to the centre worked out more than the extra to stay here.

Room Tip: If you like a bath ask for room 5, if you prefer a shower room 7, better bed but smaller bathroom. R...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trevjl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Location is excellent, just a 15 minute walk from the train station and 5 mins into the town centre. The road it is on is very nice, really quite quaint. Presentation outside isn't great, not sure if there is some work going on but there was a skip and it all looked a bit shabby. Rooms are ok, but not to my taste, bright red carpet with bright red chairs, bed cover bright red and looks like it was bought at a flea market. Also a bit strange was that the sink and toilet was at one side of the room and a tiny shower cubicle (with an empty soap dispenser) at the other side? Overall, it was just ok to lay your head for one night on business (free wifi which is good) - don't expect much else.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank flyrobfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Booked this hotel for my partners medals parade it is walking distance to the town and a small drive to camp so location is perfect, staff were very friendly and helpful I was in a top floor room and the gentleman helped me with my bags to my room if booking this hotel and your not good with stairs see if they can book a room where you haven't got to climb many stairs
Breakfast wasn't great but staff were very helpful and friendly when ordering
Only problem when I booked was I didn't realise some rooms were a shared bathroom so it was a nightmare in the morning when having to wait for the shower, advise is check when booking if it has on suite or shared bathroom
As a whole though very nice hotel, clean, tidy and staff very friendly

Room Tip: Check to see it has on suite as some rooms have a shared bathroom and there are lots of stairs so as...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taunton hotels
0.4 mi away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#7 of 17 in Taunton
660 reviews
0.4 mi away
Brookfield House
Brookfield House
#1 of 17 in Taunton
393 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Corner House Hotel
The Corner House Hotel
#13 of 17 in Taunton
823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5 Jct 25
1.2 mi away
Meryan House Hotel
Meryan House Hotel
#8 of 17 in Taunton
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blorenge House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blorenge House

Address: 57-59 Staplegrove Road, Taunton TA1 1DG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Taunton
#5 Luxury Hotel in Taunton
#5 Family Hotel in Taunton
Price Range: $136 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Blorenge House 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blorenge House offers sumptuous four star accommodation in the heart of Taunton. Situated within a five minute walk to the town centre, we are also in close proximity to Somerset County Cricket Ground and Taunton Railway Station. Blorenge House also offers contemporary two bedroom serviced apartments which are ideal for anyone looking for accommodation over an extended period of time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Blorenge House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blorenge Hotel Taunton
Blorenge House Taunton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing