We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rural peace and quiet in West Yorks.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wakefield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Upper Midgley Farm B&B
Ranked #4 of 10 Wakefield B&B and Inns
PARIS
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Rural peace and quiet in West Yorks.”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

A very-good-value B&B: three en-suite bedrooms in the farmhouse of a working farm, with extensive views over open countryside. Within comfortable walking distance of several pubs, and also close to the Yorkshire Sculpture Park.
Copious breakfast, with choice of main course, including smoked salmon, smoked haddock, vegetarian options, and excellent omelettes.
One minor detail: the room was not serviced during the day – although presumably it would be on request...?
All in all a highly satisfactory B&B, far preferable to Premier Inn, Travelodge and co in every respect…

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JONNParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    14
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
18
8
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

This is a lovely B and B, run by a great couple who were very friendly and helpful. We stayed in the family room and found it clean, spacious and well presented. Breakfast was excellent. We are hoping to return again soon.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in January and thoroughly enjoyed it. Hosts are very charming and provide a fabulous breakfast. The room was pretty good, comfortable, spacious, except for the bathroom which i struggled to turn around in. Location between Wakefield and Huddersfield is rugged, windswept, characterful. Just up the road through Flockton and left at the roundabout is a great Italian restaurant. Hosts can direct you. Recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

This is the most amazingly good value b and b. Very well equipped rooms and bathrooms and the breakfasts are of the highest standard both in terms of quantity and variety e.g smoked haddock and poached eggs beautifully cooked and lots of other choices. The pub down the road serves good food too and lots of it. Could do with upgrading their duvets maybe but a very minor drawback. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank camillat39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 27, 2012 via mobile

A good value very comfortable stay in a handy spot, rounded off with a good breakfast and generous service.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LawyerPenelope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tring, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2011

Stayed there with a colleague after a recommendation from a customer. Could not have asked for a better place to stay. Our room, I guess, was a family room, one double with a door through to a twin and en suite. The room was clean, tidy, with all mod cons (TV, kettle etc.)... I kept cracking my head on the door through to the twin room but I guess if you were a kid or reasonably sensible you wouldn't do this. Price was mentally good value, location was beautiful and the owners (Paul and Sarah ?) were both very friendly and helpful with directions. N.B. You do need cash or cheque book but Sarah pointed us in the right direction for the cash-point. Breakfast was immense !!! Can't imagine you'd get better value for money anywhere else.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SmirnoffOriginal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2011

We booked in here as we were going to a wedding at the Yorkshire Sculpture Park which is just down the road.

Rooms are really nice, clean, well maintained and a good size. Very friendly welcome from the owner. Incredibly quiet surroundings and I can imagine a great base for some beautiful walks.

Breakfast was immense and very much needed after a skinful at the wedding.

Would highly recommend and really great value.

One thing to mention is that you are quite a way away from towns. We relied on taxis which ended up being expensive as they charged you extra for coming out. Not an issue if you have a car and certainly not the fault of the B&B.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank selondoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wakefield
3.8 mi away
Best Western Hotel St Pierre
Best Western Hotel St Pierre
#1 of 1 in Newmillerdam
901 reviews
2.9 mi away
Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield
Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield
#1 of 1 in Calder Grove
1,378 reviews
8.0 mi away
Wakefield Limes Hotel
Wakefield Limes Hotel
#6 of 19 in Wakefield
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Waterton Park Hotel
Waterton Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Walton
975 reviews
2.0 mi away
Travelodge Wakefield Woolley Edge M1 Southbound
3.5 mi away
Bagden Hall Hotel
Bagden Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Scissett
748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Upper Midgley Farm B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Upper Midgley Farm B&B

Property: Upper Midgley Farm B&B
Address: Midgley Hurst Bar Lane, Wakefield WF4 4JH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Wakefield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Wakefield
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Farmhouse Bed And Breakfast Highly Rated by Our Guests, Convenient for Yorkshire Sculptor Park, The Hepworth, Wakefield And The National Coal Mining Museum ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Upper Midgley Farm Bed And Breakfast
Upper Midgley Farm Hotel Wakefield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing