We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Easily the best in Wakefield”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Cow Shed

The Cow Shed
Ranked #3 of 403 Restaurants in Wakefield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $24 - $64
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Cow Shed focuses on serving local seasonal produce, cooked with a modern English style – presented to you in our cosey and intimate dining room by a professional team of attentive waiting staff, and accompanied by a wide selection of wines.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Easily the best in Wakefield”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

We've been going to the Cowshed for years. It is undoubtedly the best restaurant in Wakefield. I now live in London but always go when I return. The rare roast beef salad is pure perfection on a plate, whilst the lamb is delightful. The service is excellent and the atmosphere is close to one which you would expect in a Michelin star restaurant. Can't recommend it enough.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VascoHoskins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

730 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    493
    182
    37
    15
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Nice birthday treat... A little gem...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

Visited on a busy Monday night... Great to see it so busy...
Fab food, good value as Monday night the early bird menu is valid all night. Great choice for all courses, the desserts all sounded fab. Steak was cooked perfectly! Chips were delicious and exactly what you want...

We've not been for a while but we'd forgotten how good it is... A true treat and a little gem in Wakefield.

Need to find another excuse to go back!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous restaurant x”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

My husband and I would like to thank the cowshed for a great and unforgetable wedding anniversary meal on sat night. Compliments to the chef for the best steak and peppercorn sauce we have had in a long time. After the meal we were shown to the chill out sofas to finish our wine where we were given free shots. Very much appreciated lol. We had nice conversations with various staff who were very friendly and big thanks to our waitress Rachel who was very attentive throughout the meal and afterwards. A credit to a great restaurant. See you again soon x

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank allallall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“consistent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

have been going to the cowshed for years and on our last visit as usual the food and service were good, the only draw back with the service is sometimes you feel as though your being rushed but this is just nit picking its the food you go for and as in the title its consistently good,

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank george7black
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Yes, the Best in Wakefield, consistently for 2012/2013 !!! Romantic setting but equal with friends. Good luck getting a table, ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

While others remain in its shade, this restaurant owner, formerly of Rinaldi's, knows how to deliver the Restaurant experience, a small family run eaterie, full of atmosphere and well presented good quality fresh food.
Not the cheapest of places, but that's not actually a hinderence !!!
Don't miss the jewel in Wakefield's crown.
Wakefield's Travelling Chef !!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wakey2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cow Shed also viewed

 
Wakefield, West Yorkshire
Wakefield, West Yorkshire
 
Wakefield, West Yorkshire
Wakefield, West Yorkshire
 

Been to The Cow Shed? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing