We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic”
Review of The Cow Shed

The Cow Shed
Ranked #3 of 405 Restaurants in Wakefield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $65
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Cow Shed focuses on serving local seasonal produce, cooked with a modern English style – presented to you in our cosey and intimate dining room by a professional team of attentive waiting staff, and accompanied by a wide selection of wines.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

In a world where very few places meet my exacting requirements of good food and good service, The Cow Shed managed it.
I visited in December for lunch with my staff. It was great. The food was delicious - unanimously agreed by my team and the service was excellent too.
I'm looking forward to my next visit

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chelle2512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

746 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    501
    190
    37
    15
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Listed Building and Beef Don't Miss This One”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

I have been to this restaurant quite a few times and never yet had a bad meal, it really is worth a visit, try there steaks and meat pie you will not be disappointed and a good wine selection also.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mickclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“good but over priced”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

food was excellent, it is a very popular place but as we just turned up without reservation had to wait 1 hour for a table. shame we were placed at a table in a draught, not very comfortable.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank tweeky2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“FIRST VISIT - WILL COME AGAIN”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

First time visit and we were not disappointed. We went at lunch and ordered from the Christmas Lunch Menu, great value for money at £14 for 2 or £17 for 3 courses. Starters we had the herb crusted Brie very nice and the crayfish tail salad also delicious. Main course we went for the rump Steak one medium/well one blue. Both steaks were decent sized and cooked to perfection and came with lovely chunky chips salad and veg. One of us had the salmon which was reported as very nice [it looked it!]. Desserts were Christmas pudding tasty, chocolate torte and lemon tart.
Great service, friendly atmosphere and going off the christmas lunch menu excellent value for money. Would definatley come again. Reservation advisable at this time of year.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
118 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“QUIT GOOD, BUT A LITTLE BORING”
Reviewed December 6, 2012

We have visited the Cow Shed several times over the years, but it seems to have got stuck in a rut. There is nothing wrong with the food, but there is certainly no wow factor. In addition the restaurant seems geared to their "early bird" regime, with little attempt to make the rest of the menu interesting.

We visited as a party of 6, the food arrived promptly and was well presented and hot. The meal served was exactly as on the menu, no surprises. Maybe we are getting fussier.

Maybe a new nearby "fine dining" establishment will cause a rethink. I hope so.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Leedsdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cow Shed also viewed

 
Wakefield, West Yorkshire
Wakefield, West Yorkshire
 

Been to The Cow Shed? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing