We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant experience would recommend”
Review of The Cow Shed

The Cow Shed
Ranked #3 of 405 Restaurants in Wakefield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $65
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Families with children, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Cow Shed focuses on serving local seasonal produce, cooked with a modern English style – presented to you in our cosey and intimate dining room by a professional team of attentive waiting staff, and accompanied by a wide selection of wines.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Pleasant experience would recommend”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We went recently with some friends for the early bird menu. The restaurant had a great atmosphere, with pleasant staff and a friendly greeting. The food was excellent and everyone throughly enjoyed their meals.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stevie4520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

746 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    501
    190
    37
    15
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Lovely Restaurant”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We went to The Cow Shed on Saturday night with another couple. We opted for the early bird menu - £17.95 for 3 courses. The food was wonderful. The steak was cooked to perfection for all 4 of us. The starters and desserts were also lovely. The service was spot on. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank vivacioussarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Lunch time visit with mother”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Was treated to lunch by my elderly mother this week, thought maybe I had been harsh last visit, everyone deserves another go. Though it seems this leopard ain't changin its spots, portions small... According to one recent advertiser/reviewer this is to leave you room for dessert.... What! Small portions make dessert necessary and then a sandwich on the way home. Last time I got fleeced like this was Harvey nicks! Gourmet this is not, though gourmet is a word more tagged to the sale of catfood these days so maybe that is right. Anyway I digress, food was so so, and for pasta damn expensive, service didn't come with a smile and the atmosphere was very quiet even though the place was busy. Mother wasn't happy and vowed never to stray from marks n sparks again, for me it just confirmed that this place just takes the mick... When Liam duffy's iris opens next month I think the emperors new restaurant will be left baring its rear end.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
8 Thank alexander g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“lunch at the cow shed”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Easy to see why the cow shed has the number 1 ranking in Wakefield. Had lunch with 2 friends last Friday and very enjoyable. Nice atmosphere , food excellent, service excellent cant fault it. This is a very popular venue and booking is advisable even at lunch time. Nice rump stake, tender and perfectly cooked. The creme brulee (think thats how you spell it) was brilliant....laced with Baileys ! .

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Roger W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best steak I've ever had”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Best steak I ever had. Quite expensive but then again I did have the fillet which was worth every penny!!!!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Kat T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cow Shed also viewed

 
Wakefield, West Yorkshire
Wakefield, West Yorkshire
 

Been to The Cow Shed? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing