We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always top notch”
Review of The Cow Shed

The Cow Shed
Ranked #3 of 409 Restaurants in Wakefield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $65
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: The Cow Shed focuses on serving local seasonal produce, cooked with a modern English style – presented to you in our cosey and intimate dining room by a professional team of attentive waiting staff, and accompanied by a wide selection of wines.
Wakefield
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Always top notch”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We've been going for years and it's always been top quality. Can't think of anything bad to say. Try the crayfish salad as a starter. Great on steaks but it's all good. Over the years we've had parties of 2, 6 and 16 and never seen a drop in quality of food or service.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank allenfromyorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

774 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    524
    193
    39
    15
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The best steak I have had in the UK”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

The Cow Shed is a small but intimate restaurant. It is a bit pricey but it is well worth your money. The staff are polite. The food is cooked to your liking and is perfect.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Lambybanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“not sure what all the hype is about”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

I went to the cow shed a few months ago and have just seen all off the reviews and decided i had to write my own. I found the food very adverage, with my steak nothing to write home about which did disapoint me as I had heard such good things.

I would not say it was a poor resturant but it is just very adverage, i really do not think i will go again.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank foxxy21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Yummy yum yum”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

My absolute favourite restaurant, quirky and staff are lovely as is the food!! The afternoon menu is equally as gorgeous as the evening but I would recommend booking tables as its very small inside but to me this gives it it's character. I can't fault the cow shed

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Muppetf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Lovely food, Nice building, But missing something”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

The food we received was lovely and I couldn't fault it. My stuffed red pepper was delicious and presented nicely. We went for the early bird menu as otherwise it would have been a bit overpriced for our liking. We did enjoy ourselves, but for the top rated restaurant in Wakefield we expected to love it more, there wasn't much atmosphere, it was very small and quiet, and we were seated by the window looking out on the unattractive street. If the price was lower and we received the same service and food for this then it would have been great. But for the #1 place with this kind of prices I wanted to be wowed a little more.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katyb92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cow Shed also viewed

 
Wakefield, West Yorkshire
Wakefield, West Yorkshire
 
Wakefield, West Yorkshire
Wakefield, West Yorkshire
 

Been to The Cow Shed? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing