We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great, authentic thai food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Thai on the Square

Thai on the Square
Ranked #99 of 403 Restaurants in Wakefield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $26
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great, authentic thai food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

Have been to Thai on the Square lots of times, it's one of our favourites. Both the service and food are great. Can recommend the beef salad and the tamarind duck in particular, but can't think of any dish we haven't liked.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    66
    13
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Eating out in Wakefield”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

Very well managed resturaunt and the food is excellent. the service is professional and friendly. The resturaunt has a very intimate atmosphere - book early for weekend meals.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank C0dman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Classy Thai food at a good price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

Just had an excellent meal. We had set meal A, which is only £17:50, including really nice starters and a main course that includes King Prawns, Beef and Chicken. Nicely-presented free prawn crackers and dips are given to precede the meal with fresh fruit, again free, included to end it. I recommend this stylish restaurant and will visit it again soon

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Solomonbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Gone downhill”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

We used to live in the area and used to go here often as it used to be one of the nicer places in Wakefield. We went recently while visiting family. The food was average at best and it is way over priced for the quality of food. I won't be going again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank N1cky24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Best Thai restaurant in yorkshire”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

went to thai on the square on friday night for the first time after it was recommended by friends.
It was superb, best Thai food I've ever eaten. beats any other thai restaurant around.
my only regret is i wish i had discovered it years ago

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wildbeast372
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai on the Square also viewed

 
Wakefield, West Yorkshire
Wakefield, West Yorkshire
 
Wakefield, West Yorkshire
Wakefield, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Thai on the Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing