We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fish and chips”
Review of Wetherby Whaler

Wetherby Whaler
Ranked #10 of 406 Restaurants in Wakefield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $18
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“fish and chips”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

regularly visits with family always results in a fine dining experience menu is extensive thank you for every meal

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Richie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    380
    203
    70
    29
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ossett, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good Food. Average Service”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

In common with lots of fast food restaurants, the WW serves excellent food but the staff are less than interested in delivering it to you. It is very obvious that they work hard because they give the impression that they'd much rather be somewhere else. Certainly not having to speak to anyone else. I suppose the old adage is true; "if you pay peanuts you get monkeys"

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank MS_9214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigWhaler, Owner at Wetherby Whaler, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Mr MS
I am so pleased that you enjoyed your excellent Fish and Chips at the Wetherby Whaler Wakefield, but am saddened to read your comments regarding the restaurant staff. It would be lovely for all of my waiting staff to have the time to chat to all of our customers for that 'personal touch'. However this is not always possible within the environment of our busy fast food restaurant, as I am sure you can appreciate.
However I do hope my food servers are courteous and friendly at all times with all our customers. I am sorry that maybe we have fallen short in this instance.
Wishing you a Happy Christmas
Caroline Murphy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baildon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“70th Birthday Celebration”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Pleasant restaurant with good ambiance, although this mainly provides Fish and Chips, other meals are available, with other choices. Plenty on the Menu for children as well, my granddaughter was even given a Christmas gift when we left.
No raucous music just a chap playing on the piano.
The meals were not hurried, plenty of time to view the surroundings,
as the building original belonged to Harry Ramsden, they have retained the original format chandeliers and all. Senior meals are available, a three course meal costs £7.99 with tea bread and butter included. We shall visit again.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigWhaler, Owner at Wetherby Whaler, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Jeff
Thank you for your review of your recent trip to the Wetherby Whaler Guiseley. I am so pleased that you and your family appreciated the original features that we have lovingly preserved from the Harry Ramsdens days, and our new bohemian crystal chandeliers. We really do try to cater for all generations, and I am pleased that your granddaughter liked her wrapped present from under the tree, whilst you loved the live pianist.
We do hope to see you again soon, our pianist is playing most days over the festive period!
Kind regards
Caroline
PS a belated happy 70th Birthday!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castleford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Still "Grand" or Gradely”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Yes, the standard of food and the cooking thereof, the courteous service from the young man concerned......and as it was a special occasion... a glass of Pino Grigio.............all as they should be and supplying us with a very happy experience.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bjwbren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skegness
Level Contributor
186 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Pensioners meal”
Reviewed December 5, 2012 via mobile

Went to wetherby whaler last month, we enjoy the pensioners 3 course meal excellent value, and the food is so nice, thank you wetherby whaler we will be back.

Helpful?
Thank Sundown1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wetherby Whaler also viewed

Wetherby, West Yorkshire
 
Wakefield, West Yorkshire
 
Wakefield, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Wetherby Whaler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing