We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great spot”

Midgley Lodge Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Midgley Lodge Hotel
Ranked #17 of 19 Hotels in Wakefield
Santa Cruz de Tenerife, Spain
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“great spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014

Stayed for a couple of nights while visiting YSP and it is a lovely quiet little spot, very laid back and the people who work there are really friendly .Good sized breakfast in the morning. Perfect for a quiet drink outside by the golf course with views over the hills, comfy and chilled. they have free wifi and while it will not win any awards for its decor it doesn't matter, it's not a resort, it does what it needs to and I would definitely go back.
It made for a relaxing couple of days. Cheers!

Room Tip: if the weather is nice have your breakfast outside, it's great and the tv in the dining room is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ash-nomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    19
    5
    7
    1
See reviews for
10
12
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

i stayed here for one night whilst visiting friends in the area,it was very easy to find and conveniently situated only a 5 min drive from the m1 motorway,the rooms and golf clubhouse bar look out over the golf course and it is a great view,the room itself was a double and very spacious with a very comfy bed and extremely clean,also a lovely big bathroom with separate bath and shower,also a large flatscreen tv with a good choice of channels and free wifi in the room,the only slight criticism i have is that breakfast is not included in the £64 room cost ,and was a £6 supplement,i would highly recommend staying here as a base for visiting the local area.

Room Tip: there is a bit of noise carry over from other adjoining rooms, so maybe ask for a first floor room .
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DS1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

Stayed on a quiet evening, attended a function at Bagden Hall. Comfortable room, big flatscreen on the wall. Decent value full english and a good pint of John Smiths here. Bathroom a little dated, but clean throughout. Friendly staff, competitive pricing - would stay again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RentonUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014 via mobile

Excellent place. Would recommend this place highly. Good location. Great snacks available. Golf course on site.
Rooms are nice & clean with beautiful views. Bathroom nice & clean. Mattress very comfortable. Big LCD TV with sky sports. Free Wi-Fi

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Smoking81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
288 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

We have not stayed here ourselves because we live locally but have booked in family from the south and from the US and Ireland and all of them spoke well of this place. The rooms are fine the reception is exceptional and the venue is great . Do not hesitate to book this place

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackpool
Level Contributor
153 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Firstly I stayed here with a group from work and our rooms were paid for, so I feel bad writing a bad review.

However there were quite a few faults with our room. Firstly the decor was very tired, there was a large black mark on the wall near the headboard. The wardrobe had dust and cobwebs in and the kettle was stained and needed replacing. I found the bed creaked and was very uncomfortable.

The bathroom could also do with a refurbish there was cracked tiles, the radiator was rusty and the hot tap dripped all night.

On the plus side the view over the golf course was nice. And the breakfast at £6.75 per person was good.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlackpoolCarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
144 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 349 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

Stayed here as it was handy for family wedding at the Yorkshire Sculpture Park.

It is motel with parking outside the room. The bedrooms were large by UK standards with a roomy bathroom .. We had a first floor room with excellent views across the attached golf course. The room had a double and a single bed and had all the usual equipment including very large flat screen TV, tea and coffee and iron and ironing board.

I found the beds a little hard but it was so quiet we still enjoyed a good nights sleep after the wedding. The breakfasts were freshly cooked and were excellent. Freshly cooked breakfasts beat buffet breakfasts every time.

We want to come back and visit the Yorkshire Sculpture Park and we would definitely stay here again

There was a reasonable bar with a reasonable selection of meals and drinks but I did not see any real ales.

The checking in and out was very smooth without fuss.

Room Tip: Top floors provide good views but all rooms seemed large and faced the golf course
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NIRS3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wakefield
2.8 mi away
Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield
Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield
#1 of 1 in Calder Grove
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,291 reviews
5.7 mi away
Waterton Park Hotel
Waterton Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Walton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 920 reviews
3.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel St Pierre
BEST WESTERN Hotel St Pierre
#1 of 1 in Newmillerdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Bagden Hall Hotel
Bagden Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Scissett
4.0 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
8.0 mi away
Wakefield Limes Hotel
Wakefield Limes Hotel
#6 of 19 in Wakefield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
4.6 mi away
Premier Inn Wakefield Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Midgley Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Midgley Lodge Hotel

Property: Midgley Lodge Hotel
Address: Bar Lane, Wakefield WF4 4JJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Wakefield
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 19 Hotels in Wakefield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Midgley Lodge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Midgley Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing