We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice little pub”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of New Inn Walton

New Inn Walton
Ranked #39 of 403 Restaurants in Wakefield
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice little pub”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

Had a few meals at the new inn, all have been nice enough although they all have lacked that something special which would make them exceptional. This can also be said for the drinks too as they have a good selection of beers but would like wider range of local beers & speciality beers. The atmosphere is relaxed & casual & this extends to the service. Nice little pub which is definitely worth visiting.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tweeky2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiaNewInn, Owner at New Inn Walton, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to leave feedback following your last visit. Since your visit in July we have launched a new menu and spent a lot of time working on presentation and flavours so we hope should you return that 'something special' you were hoping for is there!

We currently have 7 cask ales on 5 of which are local to the area of Wakefield and Leeds and are currently looking into more speciality beers. Thanks again for the feedback - it's greatly appreciated

Ria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    47
    21
    11
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent atmosphere, superb food, relaxed feel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

Went for a family meal. The food was top notch with a really good and varied menu! The staff were attentive and efficient and I couldn't have asked for a better experience! Excellent evening! Will be returning!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiaNewInn, Owner at New Inn Walton, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Thanks so much for your review and comments - We really appreciate you taking the time to let others know you enjoyed it here

We hope to see you again soon!

Thanks again

Ria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice enough pub, average food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

I visited for Sunday lunch, and ordered the t bone steak. The portion sizes and presentation were pleasing enough but it sadly tasted rather bland - more like it was roasted than grilled / fried, and it was tough also.
the pub and ambience were nice enough, as is the area, so I can certainly recommend it for a drink.

Perhaps steak simply isn't their forte on a Sunday;
I saw some nice looking burgers at another table.
Would return, but not in a hurry

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank QuestForQualityFood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiaNewInn, Owner at New Inn Walton, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback, I apologise you were unsatisfied by the Steak when you visited. All our meat is sourced locally from our Butcher, Taylors of Ackworth and is cooked to order on our Open Grill - sorry that on your visit you were disappointed.

Thanks again for taking the time to let us know what you thought

Ria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lovely pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

Popped in for lunch after a walk at the country park. Both myself and the dog were made welcome. My sandwich was lovely and the homemade chips are fab. They even have a treat box for dogs.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank clairew80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiaNewInn, Owner at New Inn Walton, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Thanks so much for your review and comments - We really appreciate you taking the time to let others know you enjoyed it here

We hope to see you again soon!

Thanks again

Ria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great food and loads of it.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Had my leaving do there. They provided the buffet and it was plentiful, just what I ordered. There was loads of it, we couldn't eat it all. They were so helpful, made my night. Thank you.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank YorkieDJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiaNewInn, Owner at New Inn Walton, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Thanks so much for your review and comments - We really appreciate you taking the time to let others know you enjoyed it here

We hope to see you again soon!

Thanks again

Ria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Inn Walton also viewed

Wakefield, West Yorkshire
Wakefield, West Yorkshire
 
Wakefield, West Yorkshire
Wakefield, West Yorkshire
 

Been to New Inn Walton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing