We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful to have this as our local Indian Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Balti House

Balti House
Ranked #105 of 403 Restaurants in Wakefield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $13
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Our cuisine is Bengali 'North Indian' the spirit is of fine food and reassuring fine service. Care was taken in selection of every part of the service experience we provide. In choosing Balti House our customers have paid us a compliment and set us the task of living up to your standards. We have endeavoured to create an atmosphere in which dining is a pleasurable experience with our company motto "Come as a guest.... Leave as friend" meaning that all our staff aim to offer our customers the best dining experience they can.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Wonderful to have this as our local Indian Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

The food is delicious and the menu varied, alwasy new choices to pick from. Very friendly atmosphere. A shame that we are on diets and cannot go as often as we would like. The service is very good and nothing is too much trouble.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Scoobysue_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    20
    5
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great food in a cosy atmosphere.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

Great little restaurant ran by Zack and his team. They are all very attentive and helpful when you are ordering. The staff are very chatty, but while you are eating they leave you to it which is nice. The menu is varied, not just the usual run of the mill curries, with some nice interesting variations. Visited on Thursday and I had Ostrich Narala, a dry dish served on a sizzler with onions & peppers, very well spiced. My partner had Duck Baha, a similar dish again served sizzling, but with a thick sauce which was lovely. I can also recommend the Special Rice, probably one of the nicest rices ive had in any restaurant, whether Indian, Thai, Chinese or Japanese!
Prices are reasonable. My only negatives would be the size of the place. Friday or Saturday night you MUST book as it only has about 8 tables. On quieter nights you can get a table easily though. Also, the complimentary 'shot' at the end of your meal is a great touch!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank swordsj71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Indian around”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

Fantastic. Food, staff, management, atmosphere, all brilliant. You won't get a better welcome anywhere else.

Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Best Indian restaurant EVER....!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

When you want a fantastic authentic Indian dining experience, you need to visit Balti House. I've dined here twice in the restaurant and had the best time. The atmosphere is relaxed and cosy. The waiters are attentive. The manager is full of great tales to share. The food is divine. I also order out on a regular basis. Although the take out menu differs from the dining in menu, the chefs will go out of their way to cook you any dish off either menu to your liking. Now that is SERVICE....!!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tiggs74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great food and atmospher”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

love food here and people are well friendly would definatly recomend could do with a bit more space though

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Casey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Balti House also viewed

Wakefield, West Yorkshire
Wakefield, West Yorkshire
 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
Morley, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Balti House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing