We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Productions Are West End Calibre”

Theatre Royal Wakefield
Ranked #9 of 43 things to do in Wakefield
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
west yorkshire
1 review
“Productions Are West End Calibre”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Miss Saigon.West Side Story.She Loves You ! Yeah ! Les Mis.
I absolutely love the Youth Productions here. Why pay West End prices and travel all that way when you have home grown talent like this and a fabulous team of professionals leading and coaching them?
Staff are friendly and approachable. Parking is free after 6pm and there are shops and restaurants 2 minutes away as well as a train station and taxi rank. The bus staion is not 5 minutes walk either.
The theatre do some discounts as well so it's worth asking.
PS I've heard that Miss Saigon is being brought back end April - Fantastic! really can't wait !

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank glr59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRWakefield, Manager at Theatre Royal Wakefield, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Wow that's great to hear, Glr59! We work hard to give the productions the best possible finish they can get - and we think they'd give the West End a run for its money - but it's great to get that confirmed by our audience. Thank you - and do keep coming back. It will be great to see you at panto in a few weeks.
And yes - Miss Saigon will be back in April 2014!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    55
    6
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Local Theatre”
Reviewed November 9, 2013

This is a small and cosy theatre and we have been visiting the pantomime here since our daughter was small . We are now booked to visit the panto with out grandchildren this Christmas and I am sure they will enjoy this as much as their mum did. We need to support these local theatres an keep them open for us all to enjoy.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank HolidayFan53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRWakefield, Manager at Theatre Royal Wakefield, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Lovely to hear you are coming back with your grandchildren, HolidayFan53! We look forward to meeting you - and thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. You are right about needing to support local theatres - we really do need you to keep thinking of your local theatre to ensure we stay open and available for your grandchildren's grandchildren! It's a lovely traditional pantomime - written by our wonderful dame, Chris Hannon, and it promises to be an absolute sell out - so good you've got your tickets.
See you soon, Kate Hainsworth, Head of Development
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eyemouth
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“very taditional little theater”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

went to see a beatles tribute it was very good. We had a drink in the bar prior to the show starting and when we collected our tickets we were upgraded to better seats.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank loughs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRWakefield, Manager at Theatre Royal Wakefield, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Very glad you had a great night out, Lough of Eyemouth!
In addition to our bar facilities, we now have a bakery based in the building - Time Bakery - and there's some great deals on bread, soup and chilli on offer!
Hope we see you again soon - Kate Hainsworth
Head of Development
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous Traditional Theatre”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Lovely tradition theatre with some fabulous shows. Cannot wait to go again soon to see Victoria Stansfield School of Dance production of Hansel & Gretel on the 1st Nov 2013. The shows by this dance school are always wonderful with lots of singing and dancing from children as young as 3.
Don't miss it.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank loulou655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRWakefield, Manager at Theatre Royal Wakefield, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Lovely to hear from you, LouLou655, and glad you're looking forward to Victoria Stansfield School of Dance too - look forward to seeing you then.
Thank you for the review - and best wishes, Kate Hainsworth, Head of Development
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castleford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“'lovely little theatre”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

we went to watch my sons final uni performance at this little theatre and I loved it.
The staff were very polite and helpful
You feel very close to the performers
It has a brilliant atmosphere and the décor reflects the history
Parking is easy and if you are watching an evening performance its free

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank chickapea28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRWakefield, Manager at Theatre Royal Wakefield, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for your review, Chickapea28!
You are quite right to point out that parking is free in the evening after 6pm in the council carpark on Smyth Street. You are also right about the intimate feeling of the theatre - audience and performers both comment on how close they feel to each other.
I hope we will see you back here very soon - and thank you for your support.
Best wishes, Kate Hainsworth (Head of Development)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Theatre Royal Wakefield also viewed

Wakefield, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Theatre Royal Wakefield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing