We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Wakefield
Post
Inbox
Search

“Fantastic food and great service.”
Review of The Red Kite

The Red Kite
Reserve a Table
Bookatable
Ranked #129 of 509 Restaurants in Wakefield
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Red Kite in Wakefield is a country pub & restaurant oozing rural charm and rustic character. Our picturesque surroundings provide the perfect backdrop for savouring the hearty, seasonal pub-food on our menu, and the carefully nurtured cask ales and fine wines gracing our bar.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Fantastic food and great service. Claire, Jack and Tamsin and their team were great. Calamari was great and highly recommend,

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank peterdS1740WG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerAA, Owner at The Red Kite, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Peterds1740wg, we are very happy to have provided you with such a positive experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,121)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 1,121 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Visited for lunch on Friday 17th
Nice pleasant restaurant area badly let down by the quality of overpriced food
Very disappointing chicken Caesar salad drowned in oil lasagna black around the edgers dry as a bone with under cooked chips
Defence one to cross off the list for revisit

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank O7963MAjonathans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerAA, Owner at The Red Kite, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi O7963majonathans, we appreciate your honest feedback, as we are always looking for ways to improve. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We will use your comments to refine our efforts to ensure this issue does not happen again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2020 via mobile

Today I visited the Red Kite in Wakefield for lunch with 3 of my friends before visiting the cinema. We meet regularly and have meals out both at lunch time and evening.
We ordered off the lunch menu which was £12.50 for 2 courses.
I ordered fish and chips and my friends ordered the fishcake. The fishcake when it arrived was in a small dish approx 5inches across and an inch deep. In the dish was a fish cake, baby new potatoes and 1 piece of broccoli. All luke warm.It was served on a large plate to make it look
bigger.
My fish was 4inches long and the width of 2 small fingers. The peas and fish were also luke wam.
When I told the waitress my fish was rather small she said that I was lucky because it was usually 2 fish goujons. I really didn't feel lucky!!!!
The deserts were fine but when we arrived at the cinema we needed sweets because we were hungry.
Really wont be going again and will not recommend it to anyone.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank 345jillk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerAA, Owner at The Red Kite, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

345jillk, we're disappointed to hear of the negative experience you had at our location. We appreciate you bringing this experience to our attention. If you are willing, please contact us at 01924 251542 so we can work towards a resolution. We look forward to hearing from you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2020

We were visiting relatives in Wakefield and our children who live in various parts of the Uk were able to join us at the Red Kite. I booked via the website for a table for 10 on Sunday January 5. By the time all had arrived (around 10 minutes, the person who lives closest was late!!) we had our drinks order in and were catching up with family news and gossip. We ordered food and can say none of us were disappointed. From the options on the menu we had a selection from Fish & Chips to the Trio roast and all came out together, hot and ready to eat. Except for my daughter, who ordered the fish & chips (she doesn't like batter - kids!) all the plates were cleared and all agreed the food was great.
Our waitress, can't recall her name, was fantastic and when the food was being served she had help from others in the team. Drinks kept flowing and the team (I believe the managers name was Christine) kept checking to ensure we were all looked after.
I have read other reviews on here and can honestly say we did not get the experience that others describe. Next time we are in the area we will certainly put this place at the top of our list of places to eat and meet family.

Thanks to all at the Red Kite for making our lunch gathering a great day.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank PaulJevins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerAA, Owner at The Red Kite, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Pauljevins, thank you for your kind words and this wonderful review! We can't wait to see you again, have a great day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2020

Visited for Christmas lunch on Boxing Day. Slow service - soup arrived after twenty minutes. Eventually walked out after waiting ages for someone to take our order for desserts. Paid the bill of course, for the mains only and drinks , this following a discussion with the manager.
The mains were very disappointing, cold brussel sprouts (can you think of anything worse?), rock hard carrots (tough going even for a bunny) and no green beans as specified on th menu. Minimal amount of gravy with the roast turkey mains . Left with just a fork to eat our mains, had to attract the attention of one of the staff to get a full set uf cutlery. Have visited many times before but not at Christmas and would not visit again at Christmas.

Date of visit: December 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank patneill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Red Kite also viewed

Barnsley, South Yorkshire
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
 
Mirfield, West Yorkshire
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
 
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
Wakefield, West Yorkshire
 

Been to The Red Kite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing