We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plastic decor and average food”
Review of Pagoda

Pagoda
Ranked #110 of 406 Restaurants in Wakefield
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: 01924 258818
Wakefield, West Yorks
Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Plastic decor and average food”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Having seen the comfy old Lotus restaurant in the city close, seemingly in the face of the oncoming competition from a new chain, I was hoping the Pagoda would provide a replacement.

I'd have forgiven the plastic faux Chinese decor if the food had been even as good as the Lotus but, sadly, it wasn't up to it - though a million miles better than the newly arrived chain - and I wouldn't go again.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Haysie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    63
    44
    28
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
175 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Dropped in unplanned and great meal”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We were not planning this meal but had an unexpected opportunity for a meal out together midweek and wanted something that wouldn't take too long and could cater for someone with a broken arm.

We called in and they seated us immediately, giving us a table that gave lots of room for the arm, without anyone else coming close to knock it. Service was fast for the drinks and we found they were doing an early bird upto 7pm. 2 courses, a choice of 2 soups, then 13 dishes to select from including 3 vegetarian and included rice or chips. A full menu was available too with a main course around £8 plus cost of rice etc. however for £5.90 for the early bird, we went for this.

Service was quick and polite and the food very tasty. We had char sui with mushrooms and beef in black bean chow main. Both delicious.

We were in and out of the restaurant in less than an hour.

We will definitely go again however they could do to undertake a little small talk, like saying hello or explaining the menu etc

Also noted many people coming to collect take always and being treated to nibbles whilst they waited or ordering a drink from the bar.

Not the restaurants fault but i could also have done without the gentleman on the next table declaring to the staff 'the duck wasn't great' and when asked for feedback for the chef to be able to improve stated 'don't argue with me I'm the customer'. His daughter then started on her dad for his behaviour.

Time for us to leave

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tigger32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lost its edge!!!!”
Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

Looking for a place to eat last night and decided to settle on pagoda as its a nice Chinese and always been good! The food was gloppy tasteless and only just warm and apart from 1 member of staff they all had a chip on there shoulder, extremely unhelpful and rude! We will not be returning and feel let down! If your planing on going to this restaurant and haven't been for a while your in for a disappointing night!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank p_taylor89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best chinese for miles”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Just been to the pagoda and had lots of starters instead of a main, scallops, prawns in rice paper,crispy duck,chicken in lettuce and best of all spring onion curls, never found anywear that makes these and they are delicious. First class service and food, worth driving 10 miles for. So busy too, a sign of good food.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beef Yuk”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

While the service and price was good, the beef(if that's what it was) was disgusting, it was soft, slimy and elastic and had a nasty bitter taste.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Sam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pagoda also viewed

Wakefield, West Yorkshire
Wakefield, West Yorkshire
 
Wakefield, West Yorkshire
Wakefield, West Yorkshire
 
Wakefield, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Pagoda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing