We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food and take away deli too (for those at home!)”
Review of The Black Olive

The Black Olive
Ranked #145 of 409 Restaurants in Wakefield
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
West Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely food and take away deli too (for those at home!)”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

We bobbed in for coffee after a morning of "wedding shopping". Good fun but tiring in a girly way. Had a lovely coffee and cinnamon toast which I thoroughly recommend as a pick me up - however had we seen the deli platters before we had ordered rather then seeing them arrive at the table next to us would have definately plumped for the latter, the toast and coffee were lovely and a good choice but the platters looked especially yummy - maybe I just like food too much, well good food anyway!

Needless to say we purchased from the well stocked deli on the way out - the lunch time sandwiches are well worth sampling if you end up in Horbury during the week and the continental breads/ pastries make great Sunday morning treats with a brew of English Breakfast or Java and a good paper. Especially if someone else offers to get everything ready!!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank 1boudica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Black_Olive_Horbury, Manager at The Black Olive, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review! We are really pleased that you enjoyed your visit and hope you manage to make it back to try a platter!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    7
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“yummy food and coffee”
Reviewed April 10, 2012

just love meeting friends for a coffee and cake or lunch here, always scrummy, really nice atmosphere too

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Taney18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Black_Olive_Horbury, Manager at The Black Olive, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thanks for your review, we are really pleased that you enjoy visiting us and think our food is 'scrummy'!! That is exactly what we aim for!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“De-lish Cafe Fare”
Reviewed November 7, 2011

This cafe is located in the quaint village of Horbury, in Wakefield, West Yorkshire. The husband and wife team who own and operate the cafe are friendly and inviting. The food is fresh, with a range of deli-style sandwhiches, fresh soup and salads. Lots of Vegetarian options. They make a good cup of coffee or a nice pot of tea to go with the fresh made cakes and pudd's. If you can't stop to eat, you can purchase fresh breads,cheeses, meats, olives, and pates in their 'deli'. They also have a nice selection of wines..as well as olive oils, chutney and jams. I highly recommend you visit The Black Olive Cafe.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jjstravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Black_Olive_Horbury, Manager at The Black Olive, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thank you for recommending our deli, it is really nice to hear we are doing a good job and meeting the standards we set ourselves.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Black Olive also viewed

Wakefield, West Yorkshire
 
Wakefield, West Yorkshire
Wakefield, West Yorkshire
 
Horbury, Wakefield
Wakefield, West Yorkshire
 

Been to The Black Olive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing