We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome foody experience at an awesome price!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Chinese Buffet

The Chinese Buffet
Ranked #182 of 403 Restaurants in Wakefield
Price range: $4 - $17
Cuisines: Chinese, Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Buffet, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Chinese Buffet is a dynamic and exciting, modern Chinese restaurant. Launched initially as a single restaurant in Bolton the concept has grown in size and stature into an emerging brand with nationwide aspirations. Peter Wu, Paolo Hu and David Hu created The Chinese Buffet with the clear aim of providing a new style of buffet restaurant, high quality food at low cost to customers. They created an eclectic blend of Chinese food using only the finest and freshest ingredients, prepared and presented to the highest of standards. THE Chinese Buffet believes all their customers should receive the care, attention and quality they would expect from the finest of a la carte restaurant. THE Chinese Buffet has exciting and ambitious expansion plans with more than 18 new restaurants planned to open across the North West within the next five years with a national franchise in place by 2016.
2 reviews
“Awesome foody experience at an awesome price!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

Gorgeous food, amazing service from friendly, hardworking staff and as much as you can possibly eat! I loved it and the kids loved it. Perfect venue for business or pleasure. Definitely going back and would highly recommend eating here.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Wicca25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaynor R, Guest Relations Manager at The Chinese Buffet, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We are so pleased you enjoyed dining with us and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    88
    59
    38
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
england
Level Contributor
100 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“No regrets”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

Heard mixed reviews about this place, was a bit wary on our first visit but shouldn't have been, everything was fine, food great, staff welcoming , will be going again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank char73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaynor R, Guest Relations Manager at The Chinese Buffet, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Hi there, thanks for the lovely review and so pleased you enjoyed visiting us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Ok but have had tastier”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

We didn't think much of the sauces and have had much tastier Chinese meals. The Char Sui pork was as dry as a bone. The pancakes for the crispy duck were so small you could wrap very little inside. No finger bowls for after the ribs. I could have managed without the background music. The service was slow to remove plates so we had to put them on the adjacent table. Having said that, we weren't pestered with requests to drink more which is one of my pet hates. Overall it was ok but there are much better Chinese restaurants around for the same money.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaynor R, Guest Relations Manager at The Chinese Buffet, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Hi there, thanks for your review, im sorry you didnt enjoy our food during your visit as we pride ourselves on quality ingredients giving exceptional tasting dishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Good choice but just like all the rest”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

Good food choices, but just like all other similar restaurants.
This is the best one in the City for Chinese food
A little on the expensive side, but plenty to eat

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WakefieldDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaynor R, Guest Relations Manager at The Chinese Buffet, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Hi there, thanks for your review and we do aim not to be like all the rest in both food and service. You do mention that we offer better quality than the other restaurants and I am really pleased that you feel that way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keighley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Very substantial and good quality.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

We've been here twice now and both occasions were very good. The food is plentiful and a huge selection which is more than enough even for the biggest appetite.
The only downside we found was the lunch time diners with very noisy young children or crying babies. We've never tried the evening buffet.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaynor R, Guest Relations Manager at The Chinese Buffet, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Hi there, thanks for the review and so pleased you enjoyed dining with us. I hear your comments about families with children but we do pride ourselves on being a venue for all and welcome families, couples, groups and more but understand that diners may prefer to sit in a quieter part of the restaurant. Make sure you ask a member of staff to move you if you feel that being somewhere quieter would help you enjoy your meal more. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Chinese Buffet also viewed

Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
 
Wakefield, West Yorkshire
 
Wakefield, West Yorkshire
Wakefield, West Yorkshire
 

Been to The Chinese Buffet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing