We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Egg-tastic! ”

Nostell Priory and Parkland
Ranked #4 of 43 things to do in Wakefield
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: 18th-century architectural masterpiece with landscape park and gardens, built on the site of a medieval priory, Nostell has been the home of the Winn family for 300 years. Commissioned by Sir Rowland Winn in 1733, James Paine built the house. Later additions by Robert Adam created exceptional interiors.Visitors can explore 121 hectares (300 acres) of parkland with a range of walks and views. Gardens include lakeside walks, a newly planted orchard and an adventure playground.Inside the house, see a collection of Chippendale furniture made specially for Nostell. Paintings by Brueghel, Hogarth and Kauffmann. A John Harrison (Longitude) longcase clock and an 18th-century dolls' house. The restored Butler's Pantry is also open to view this year.Don't miss find the mouse in the 18th-century doll's house. Discover masterpieces by Chippendale, John Harrison and Brueghel. Enchanting menagerie garden, pleasure gardens and developing vegetable garden. Wear the children out on the play trail. Lose yourself in the extensive rolling parkland. Take a guided walk through the park - Wednesdays, Saturdays, Sundays
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Egg-tastic! ”
Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

This national trust is on my door step and weve visited a few times. We came on good friday for easter trail and thoroughly enjoyed it, but be warned visit early as by 11am it was packed! This didnt spoil our day though and had a fab picnic and played games on the grass area.

The cafe isnt upto much though except for a lovely coffee, so would advise to bring your own food.

Helpful?
Thank ruthey99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

925 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    472
    347
    80
    15
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
“Lovely Place to Visit”
Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

We visited over the Easter weekend. We parked in the overflow car park. The staff were friendly and efficient. We didn't want to see the house itself but wanted to visit the garden. Dogs are only allowed in the park itself. We had a drink and a cake at the cafe which we enjoyed. I did look on the website but I didn't see any mention of restrictions for dogs. We will have to return without the dog.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Bank Holiday visit”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Being about the closest National Trust property to where we live we often pop over here but this is the first time wev'e tried it on a Bank Holiday Monday! The car park and overflow were both full but staff were handling a vast number of cars with efficiency and good humour. Quite a trek from the temporary carpark up to the Priory but lots doing it and a beautifull afternoon. Once inside the grounds there was lots of space - where did all the people go? NT staff had organised lots of acivities for the kids who were fully occupied as were mums and dads (and Grans & Granddads too!) Beautifull place to just wander arround and enjoy the magnificent grounds. Must visit the priory itself next time but today just wanted to be outside.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank R0y123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“An enjoyable visit”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We visited Nostell Priory and Parkland this Easter holiday and found the grounds to be a very pleasant and the house interesting. The staff we came into contact with were pleasant and helpful. Our visit was on a day when it was very very busy, to put it into perspective we were parked in second overflow car park a considerable way from the Priory and gardens. We had a really enjoyable day out and took part in the Cadbury egg hunt, which our daughter really enjoyed and has kept the cardboard Easter hat we put together ourselves.

On our previous visits we ate in a cafe area which we found to be better suited in all respects to the eating facilities which now exist. Yes the old area was possible a bit dated and may have had uneven floors but it had charm and it served a good choice of food, some nice hot food too as we recall. On this visit we found two eating areas, one seemed to serve a few different cold sandwiches, crisps and drinks. This area is quite small and not many tables. The other area, probably classed as a cafe is modern in its presentation but also quite small. The cafe served a slightly wider range of sandwiches and cakes but no hot food that we could see! The eating facilities on a quieter day are probably of the right size but on a very busy day I would recommend you take a picnic and you will probably enjoy that much more anyway.

In summary, yes we will visit again but will probably take a picnic.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
111 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good Friday”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

We visited Nostell priory. It was years since we had been. It was a beautiful day and the park didn't disappoint. The Priory is very dar due to keeping light damage down. It is a shame as something's were difficult to see. The volunteers were ver knowledgeable and although it was very busy they had time to fill you in on the history. An enjoyable day and the cafe had homemade cake which was lovely. The National trust had put on activities for children which they seemed to enjoy.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jenny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nostell Priory and Parkland also viewed

 

Been to Nostell Priory and Parkland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing