We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Visiting Nostell Priory and Parkland”

Nostell Priory and Parkland
Ranked #4 of 43 things to do in Wakefield
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: 18th-century architectural masterpiece with landscape park and gardens, built on the site of a medieval priory, Nostell has been the home of the Winn family for 300 years. Commissioned by Sir Rowland Winn in 1733, James Paine built the house. Later additions by Robert Adam created exceptional interiors.Visitors can explore 121 hectares (300 acres) of parkland with a range of walks and views. Gardens include lakeside walks, a newly planted orchard and an adventure playground.Inside the house, see a collection of Chippendale furniture made specially for Nostell. Paintings by Brueghel, Hogarth and Kauffmann. A John Harrison (Longitude) longcase clock and an 18th-century dolls' house. The restored Butler's Pantry is also open to view this year.Don't miss find the mouse in the 18th-century doll's house. Discover masterpieces by Chippendale, John Harrison and Brueghel. Enchanting menagerie garden, pleasure gardens and developing vegetable garden. Wear the children out on the play trail. Lose yourself in the extensive rolling parkland. Take a guided walk through the park - Wednesdays, Saturdays, Sundays
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Visiting Nostell Priory and Parkland”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

We live locally so its close enough for us to walk across the fields into the parkland, which is free. The bluebells in spring are stunning, and the walk up to the Obelisk adds an interesting perspective to the visit. Walking around the house is lovely, especially at Christmas with all the trimming and the 'hands-on' activities for families to join in.
Nice tea room, friendly staff, golf buggies to transport you to and from the car park if little legs are tired!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

876 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    445
    331
    75
    14
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Continually improving”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

Whilst local we do not visit as often as we might. Every time we go we enjoy the visit . There is ample space for walking and the house is well worth a visit. There is a courtyard cafe and shop area and there are special events throughout the year.
We particularly enjoyed the geocaching event earlier this year and found the geocache sites and associated walk good fun .
For more info go to geocaching.com.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jays121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely way to spend a day”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

The house is well worth a visit and the gardens and parkland are beautiful. Children are welcome, there is a very good childrens play area. The only negative point is the cafe. It is expensive and bad value, although the food is tasty and the service is good.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hilary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Lovely place to walk round on an autumn day”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

AS members of the national trust we regularly visit here. The grounds have been extended and a pleasant walk can be taken round the lake. There is an excellent childrens play area and café and toilet facilities are also recently renovated. A good location for the children and adults to burn off some energy.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank HolidayFan53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful Gardens”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

We are NT members and this attraction is on our doorstep, The gardens are beautiful not over manicured & varied, there are plenty of well laid paths for the less mobile & areas to explore for the kids. Well worth a visit.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank alliance500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nostellvoice, Manager at Nostell Priory and Parkland, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
It’s lovely to hear that you enjoyed our gardens. Been local you are in a privileged position to be able to visit us often and see how the seasons change our gardens, at the moment the autumn colours are beautiful and we have had an abundance of conkers and sweet chestnuts.
Our gardens are now open daily with the exception of Christmas day , great for either a gentle stroll or a visit to our adventure playground with the kids.
As a NT member you are able to visit Nostell and any other NT property for free as many times as you wish and also get free parking here at Nostell Priory.
We will be doing more work over the next year to both maintain and improve the pathways in both the gardens and our extensive parkland.
Thank you for your review and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nostell Priory and Parkland also viewed

 

Been to Nostell Priory and Parkland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing