We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful staff”

Nostell Priory and Parkland
Ranked #4 of 43 things to do in Wakefield
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: 18th-century architectural masterpiece with landscape park and gardens, built on the site of a medieval priory, Nostell has been the home of the Winn family for 300 years. Commissioned by Sir Rowland Winn in 1733, James Paine built the house. Later additions by Robert Adam created exceptional interiors.Visitors can explore 121 hectares (300 acres) of parkland with a range of walks and views. Gardens include lakeside walks, a newly planted orchard and an adventure playground.Inside the house, see a collection of Chippendale furniture made specially for Nostell. Paintings by Brueghel, Hogarth and Kauffmann. A John Harrison (Longitude) longcase clock and an 18th-century dolls' house. The restored Butler's Pantry is also open to view this year.Don't miss find the mouse in the 18th-century doll's house. Discover masterpieces by Chippendale, John Harrison and Brueghel. Enchanting menagerie garden, pleasure gardens and developing vegetable garden. Wear the children out on the play trail. Lose yourself in the extensive rolling parkland. Take a guided walk through the park - Wednesdays, Saturdays, Sundays
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful staff”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I often don't engage with the staff in these types of places, but I couldn't help myself- I spoke to one and enjoyed it so much I carried on with the rest of them in the different rooms. Speak to them, ask questions, they love their job and willing to tell you all they know.

Helpful?
2 Thank Tennison1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nostellvoice, Manager at Nostell Priory and Parkland, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Great to hear that you enjoyed your time with us here at Nostell. We will pass your comments on to the house guides. Many of our guides are volunteers and have real passion for telling our stories, I'm so glad you had a good conversation with them.

Thank you once again for letting us know about your visit. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

927 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    473
    348
    80
    15
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful house, rubbish park”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Wakefield is atrocious, the house looked fantastic. The staff were rude, the gardens had no flowers or plants as compared to other parks, there was just wide open spaces with nothing new. The whole experience was embarrassing.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank atif m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nostellvoice, Manager at Nostell Priory and Parkland, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
We are so sorry to hear that you were disappointed on your recent visit to Nostell Priory. Recently our plants of interest have been the evergreen shrubs and the hollies along with our snowdrops. Our team of gardeners and outdoors staff work year round with planting and maintaining both the parklands and the gardens. As the season progresses and the weather improves we should see this hard work pay off. Plants will come into bloom as the seasons progress and hopefully you will be able to see something new in the areas of the rose garden, vegetable garden, orchard, menagerie garden and in all the areas lakeside and in the parklands.

We have recently recruited our new season staff and we have a weekly focus on customer service as we want every guest to receive a warm welcome. I am sorry that this was not the case on your last visit. If you would like to discuss your review in more detail please contact us via the main Nostell Priory website and I can address your issues more specifically.

Thank you for taking the time to let us know your views. We are grateful for all comments, good or bad, so we can continue to improve the experience we offer our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great fun for a family day out”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Living locally to this attraction, you never apprecaite what's on your doorstep. A large country house with extensive lands. Plenty of space to walk and enjoy.To look round the house itself, you need to pay admission, to wander round the gardens is free. Parking is free as well. The house is fascinating and well presented.
The grounds are my favorite, There are walks rond the lake, on a sunny day it's magical. There is also a substantial childrens play area, although not full of swings etc, it keep them occupied makes them think rather than getting bored easliy. There is a coffee shop and the usual gift shop as well
Sturdy boots and weatherproof jackets are recommended.
There are always events happening, craft fairs, but these I feel are over priced for what they offer.
On of the highlights of the year is the Annual Steam Fair, absolutely fantastic.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nostellvoice, Manager at Nostell Priory and Parkland, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you for your review of Nostell Priory. We are so happy to hear you enjoy visiting us. We hear from many of our guests who live locally and who didn't realise we were here. As you say our parkland and courtyard area is free to visit. Parking is £2.50 which can be refunded at the cafe or shop on purchases over £10. Our gardens and house are subject to admission unless you are an NT member. Membership can be purchased from Nostell and is active immediately, not only giving you access to Nostell Priory gardens and our house but also to all other NT properties.
Our craft fairs happen throughout the year and are free to enter as they are located in our stable block.
If you would like to have a chance to visit our gardens and house, the National Trust are running a free weekend on April 20th and 21st, please see the National Trust main website for details.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epworth
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“New Couryard Facilities”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

This was our first visit following the completion of the new visitor facilities. The new shop is impressive with a very good selection. It compares well with Clumber which has much more space. Gents' toilet a little cramped but OK.
However even with the additional food outlet still to open it would have been nice to have a larger selection of cakes in the tea room at 3.30pm. Only scones and chocolate brownies were available and there were lots of people queuing for tea and the NT is famous for its cakes. A slice of fruit cake would have been really nice with the excellent pot of tea.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank HMeltonEpworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nostellvoice, Manager at Nostell Priory and Parkland, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent visit to Nostell Priory. We would like to apologise that on this visit there was not a larger selection of cakes in the tea room. We have experienced more visitors than expected recently which caused us to sell out of many of our homemade cakes, including our delicious tea loaf, which as you rightly say is really nice with a pot of our Yorkshire Tea. After our first weekend of the spring season, our chefs have been busy baking to hopefully ensure that we can offer a full range of delicious cakes, regardless of how busy we are.

We are happy to hear that you like our new shop and its selection. We will be getting more new products in stock as the season continues.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to let us know your thoughts. This is our first year of our new stable block facilities and we are really grateful for any feedback from guests.
We hope to see you again shortly and look forward to having the opportunity to show you how we can get it right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“£2.50..... 'over the top'?”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

I don't think that £ 2.50 is 'over the top' for parking considering 1. this is for all day 2. if you spend £10 in the shop or cafe your parking is refunded. The National Trust need to charge for parking if people are not going to support their work by becoming members.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank tweeky2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nostellvoice, Manager at Nostell Priory and Parkland, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding the parking charge. You are correct that you receive a discount of £2.50 in either the shop or the cafe when you spend £10. Not only does this mean that you get your money back but also it's an excellent excuse to spoil yourself with a little something from our stables shop or a steamy mug of hot chocolate with cream and marshmallows at lunch in our courtyard cafe.

We really appreciate you taking the time to let us know your thoughts and its great to hear when we are getting it right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nostell Priory and Parkland also viewed

 

Been to Nostell Priory and Parkland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing