We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, good food”
Review of The Chilli Lodge

The Chilli Lodge
Ranked #110 of 406 Restaurants in Wakefield
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nice place, good food”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We went here one thursday evening for one of the girls birthdays, there was a group of around 10 of us.
We recieved a nice welcome from the staff, they showed us to a little seating area for us to wait for the rest of the group to arrive and the waiter brought over drinks.
The restaurant is nice and modern, it was quite busy for a week night and had a good atmosphere!
We opted for the buffett £10.95 a head all you can eat, the waiters brought over platters of starters, fab selection and plentyfull, then for mains there was a choice of around 4 curries, rice and fresh nan bread was brought to the table.
We all had an enjoyable night, food was good and reasonable priced, would recommend and return :o)

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gemiffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mutahid, Owner at The Chilli Lodge, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
We are so pleased you had a positive experience and hope you will visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    49
    24
    25
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level Contributor
180 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great value”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Visited this restaurant with friends after they had spotted it from the motorway and read about the award winning chef in their local paper. The drive up to the restaurant didn't bode well (all looked a bit derelict) but once inside we felt happier. We visited on a Thursday which is one of the evenings that they serve a mega buffet. I would just call it a buffet. We started with poppadoms and pickles tray (extra charge on top of the £10.50) and then a selection of starters were served to our table - all delicious (mainly vegetarian). The waiter explained clearly the procedure! Then we went to help ourselves to the buffet. A small variety of tasty well cooked curries with rice plus freshly cooked naans brought to the table. We all enjoyed our meals and would recommend the restaurant. The staff were very friendly and attentive.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bongo60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mutahid, Owner at The Chilli Lodge, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
It pleases us you have had a very good experience and your comments are much appreciated. We hope you will visit us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Truly excellent experience”
Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Excellent food - Brilliant Service!

The Pathan Balti is an excellent lamb dish full of flavour and a real treat. If your in to spicey food it scales up brilliantly in heat and deffinatly needs to be washed down with the superb King Conra!

Very attentive staff who know exactly when they are needed!

Also got to take all the leftovers home with us!

Many thanks!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SICantrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mutahid, Owner at The Chilli Lodge, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Your comments are very much appreciated. We aim to give everyone the best dining experience we can and hope you will visit us again in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
274 reviews
183 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Excellent Value for Money and Great Food”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Went to this restaurant as a party of 22 from work early on a midweek evening. First impressions were good - restaurant upstairs with picture windows and a pleasant decor (marble-ish topped tables, nice chairs, water wall). After we had got our first round of drinks from the bar we sat down and our orders were taken quite quickly. Then the ubiquitos poppadoms and pickles came out and there were plenty (and very fresh). There was a bit of a wait for the starters but with 22 people all dining together that's kind of expected. having said that all the starters arrived more or less together and were excellent - tasty, well-cooked and hot. Again quite a long wait for the mains but when they did arrive the service was good and together, nice warm plates, and great hot food. Nobody had any sweet course as we were all well satisfied with the ample portions of the first two courses - portion sizes were very generous. Waiting staff were very efficient and friendly (and the manager pitched in to help with service), and there was a great buzz about the place - but had we not been there the place would have been a bit quiet (only about 4 other tables occupied). Overall the value for money was excellent - around £20 a head for a two-courser with drinks. We will probably visit again when we have a future "do" - and they do take-aways as well - they don't open lunchtimes though. Location is a bit quirky (not well advertised) in a golf type clubhouse/fitness centre glass and steel building just next to the M62, and the golf course is now closed so it's a bit quiet. Overall a first class down-to-earth Indian with great food.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PabloMorley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mutahid, Owner at The Chilli Lodge, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Your positive comments have been taken on board and we are so pleased you enjoyed your experience with us. We look forward to seeing you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“There is nothing 'mega' about this buffet”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We planned this trip for weeks, having heard the chef had won awards, so we took a trip to the buffet on Thursday evening (30th May 2013) I called before hand and booked a table, expecting it to be busy as they only do it Thursday & Sunday, we turned up and our name wasn't even in the book. Which wasn't an issue as it was pretty dead anyway. The place itself is OK, strange view of the motorway, and almost felt like I was in the golf club, rather than a restaurant,it had a strange atmosphere.

We sat down, and they took our drinks order, we looked around trying to figure out where they kept this mega buffet. All we could see was 6 hot plates. We asked the waiter what the buffet consisted of and was told 'one mild, one medium and one hot curry'. There is no starters, they bring these out fresh, which is a decent idea, if you can get more. We were given a mixed starter for 5. One piece of every thing. (All of our party like buffets to be able to eat the starters more than the curry!)

So, the buffet. The rice was empty to start with, a bowl of microwaved rice thrown in after a couple of mins, chaana masala (chickpeas in a watery masala sauce), vegetable rogan josh (onions, and one piece of broccoli was finally found after scraping the bottom of the dish), chicken achari (I didn't try this, but was told it was too hot to eat, and we aren't wimps with spice!) lamb bhuna (not bad, but not many in our party eat lamb, and it was a little fatty), chicken korma (worst one I've tasted for a while). They brought us a naan out fresh, and I was given the impression you wouldn't get more if you asked. We then asked if we could get some chapatis, which he had to check with the chef if that was OK, luckily, they decided it was.

So all in all we went home hungry, which is unusual for a 'mega buffet' especially as they charge as much as other buffets in the area, which are 100 times better than this.

The restaurant might be amazing, but after this experience I know that none of us will return to try it

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank N1ckie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mutahid, Owner at The Chilli Lodge, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
We are very sorry to hear you had a bad experience. We did have a few teething problems in the beginning, but as you can see from our more recent comments all that has changed. We hope you join us again for a more positive experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Chilli Lodge also viewed

Barnsley, South Yorkshire
Wakefield, West Yorkshire
 
Wakefield, West Yorkshire
 
Wakefield, West Yorkshire
Wakefield, West Yorkshire
 

Been to The Chilli Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing