We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Wakefield

“Good value and nice venue”
Review of The Castle

The Castle
Reserve a Table
Bookatable
Ranked #68 of 485 Restaurants in Wakefield
Price range: $9 - $32
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Castle in Wakefield is a fabulous gastropub, serving up tasty, top-notch food alongside an eclectic range of wines and cask ales in cosy, stylish surroundings.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

A nice mid week meal with the added bonus of 50% off main meals simply for downloading a voucher.
Good choice of food at a range of different prices.
I liked the fact that lower calorie options had the calorie values stated
A nice touch was that the "Thank you for visiting" card had the names of kitchen staff as well as the staff who had served us.
So thanks to Jodie and Ben as well as Emily and Vicki

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank M7469UOcw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerAA, Owner at The Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi M7469uocw, Thank you for such a wonderful review! A lot of hard work has been put in by the entire team and feels so rewarding reading feedback like yours.
Thank you again and if there is anything else you need please don't hesitate to call or stop by.
We hope you have an amazing day!

Kind Regards,
Victoria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (760)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 760 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2020

6 of us went to the castle for Sunday lunch after we had been shown to the table it took a good 15 minutes before we got asked for drink choices. Once we had ordered drinks we waited for another 15 minutes before the drinks came after the drinks had come we ordered the food. We all had chicken roast or a trio of roasts. After ordering we waited another 50- 55 minutes for our food to come. The trio of roasts had Chicken,Pork and Beef the only
Bit of beef I got was the same size as a roast potato, dry and tough. The pork was as thin as paper and again a tiny portion. I do have to say the chicken on the other hand was very nice not dry was the best part of a bad meal. After we had finished eating we waited another 15-20 minutes for our table to be cleared. For Deseret two off us ordered brownies again very small not worth the price at all I was shocked that they sent them out. One person ordered a chocolate melting bomb, but nothing melted the sauce it came with was a thick lump custard type and actual chocolate bomb was so hard inside and obviously undercooked or not done to how it should of been. We have been to the Castle a few times now and it has always been very good so I am disappointed that this has happened. In the end with a very overtired baby we left the table and went to the bar to pay as we weren’t prepared to wait any longer, I did mention the service wasn’t the best to just be ignored and given the card machine if I had been acknowledged about this I probably wouldn’t be leaving a bad review as I do think everyone deserves a shot to put it right.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank DanWakefield25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerAA, Owner at The Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Danwakefield25, we regret to hear that you had a negative experience with us, and is not the level of service that we strive to provide. We appreciate you bringing this to our attention and if you are willing, please contact us at 01924 256981 so we can work towards a resolution. We look forward to hearing from you.
Kind Regards,
Victoria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2020

Our local pub looks lovely after the much needed refurb. However visited 22/24/31 December and encountered the same problem.The tables were full of empty glasses,not very welcoming.Over 2 hours and none were collected ,we took ours back and others aswell.The staff behind the bar were too busy to get out to collect and at busy times a pot collector was needed to keep tables clear and wiped down so not sat at sticky tables.Hopefully 2020 will see an improvement.

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank Alison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2020 via mobile

Lovely decorated and new feel to the place. Open fire and dog friendly. Nice food we all had different choices. Some classic and different starters and mains. Mushrooms were a little crispy for me bit ok. Lobster and crab fish cakes weren't very tasty they seemed to miss something but not sure what. Everyone else liked their food although you could tell which end of the oven the pizza was at! Sticky toffee pudding in pics along with chocolate brownie. Deserts were a small portion for the price. Good service and nice choice of drinks too.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank claireabella13a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2020

Fantastic meal one of our party has a gluten intolerance and the team could not have been more helpful. Will definitely book again

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank exileiny0rks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Castle, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2020

Hi Exileiny0rks,

Thank you for your high rating review,

We're always more than happy to cater for every single dietary requirement, and being lactose intolerant myself I know how important it is to get your meal spot on and delivered with the rest of the party with no fuss.

We're so pleased that yourself and your party was well looked after and we cannot wait to welcome you back again soon,

Lydia & The Castle team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Castle also viewed

Wakefield, West Yorkshire
 
Wakefield, West Yorkshire
Wakefield, West Yorkshire
 
Wakefield, West Yorkshire
Wakefield, West Yorkshire
 

Been to The Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing