We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Unicorn Inn

Unicorn Inn
Ranked #57 of 403 Restaurants in Wakefield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $24
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: The Unicorn, much like it's namesake, is a mythical beast. A traditional small country pub with open fires and no ties to a brewery so the real ales are constantly changing. We're all about loc'ale' talent and always try to use the local microbreweries such as Five Towns, Great Newsome and the popular Hamelsworde for either cask or bottled ale. Our food is traditional and well executed with generous portions. We have real chips and most dishes are cooked to order, so don't expect fast food but do expect quality and quantity. We have traditional desserts like rhubarb crumble, chocolate fudge cakes etc. And recently our homemade cheesecakes, made with an ever changing selection of popular chocolate bars, are becoming quite popular, so much so we now offer a full cheesecakes as a pre order service - examples are - malteser, crunchie, ripple, ginger biscuit and chocolate, apple crumble, fresh strawberry and flake or anything you can suggest! The pub is also quite well known for it's music ties, we have a regular open mic night (1st and 3rd Sat of the month) which is second to none on the welcoming and encouraging atmosphere we have going, expect a full pub if you choose to join us! It is slowly becoming a tradition that we hold a yearly event known as Rhubarbfest, in which the village main street is closed, a rhubarb truck is set up in the car park for live bands, attractions and rides at the front of the pub and great barbecued food served all day. This year it will be on 25/5/14. Chris and Sarah and all the staff welcome you and any feedback you may have
Carlisle, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

This was a real treat! I've never seen toilets so clean in a pub before. And the food was quite simply first class. Very generous portions, all freshly made, even my tikka masala was freshly made and not zapped. I must also point out that Auntie Jeans homemade cheesecake is the best I've ever had! The new owners of this pub are working very hard to make changes and they're.doing a cracking job.

Helpful?
2 Thank Neil A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    24
    6
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bury St Edmunds
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Friendly service and good value for money.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

Coming from suffolk we always thought we were getting a good deal at the white horse, beyton. We stayed at foxwood guest house for 3 nights and ended up eating here all 3 nights. The food was home made, extremely delicious and a decent portion size. The cheesecake is to die for and to get a bottle of wine for under £10 is remarkable. We will definitely be visiting again.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank andi223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ossett, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good food but...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

Went this week to the Unicorn Inn as I had read the great reviews on tripadvisor.

The majority of the food was quite tasty - at least the main dishes were. The veg with the main course was cold and without any salt whatsoever. We were there more almost 2 and a half hours for three courses and I think the kitchen was completely underprepared

The portion sizes are massive - really too big

Also there was one barmaid/waitress for the whole pub, which even though it is quite small is not enough to cover a lunchtime if you are serving food throughout. We had booked a table so they should have been prepared. Having said that the barmaid/waitress was the highlight of the experience, as she was really friendly.

On the whole not great and will not be returning

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jonlfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris F, Owner at Unicorn Inn, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Sorry it's taken so long to respond, been a busy few months. Firstly apologies for your experience visiting us, it's not the standard we usually keep to, it would help us to know when you came in. I don't want to make excuses, however i think when you visited we were still in the process of moving in and left someone working alone, and it sounds like it was quite busy. We took over six months ago and still getting used to the staffing levels but feel were a lot more prepared now as you can see from recent reviews. we'd love it if you would give us another chance to show you the best of what we offer and please, if there's anything wrong with the food, let us know at the time and we will do our best to rectify it. if you do give us another chance please pre book and mention this review and we'll throw in a bottle of our best wine. Regards Chris & Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great all round service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

Came upon this place by chance just after it changed hands before Xmas.
Been back several times with friends and family.
Food good and reasonably priced. Staff helpful, friendly and always welcoming.
Old fashioned qualities which will keep me coming back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Booya2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“after walk”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

did a walk from the pub 27/2/14.30 people did the walk and 2 more joined us for lunch.the food was up to its usual good quality the beer was good and the lunch time price spot on.the staff were as polite helpful and seemed happy in there work.will be back again as soon as i can find a new walk

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank john r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Unicorn Inn also viewed

Wakefield, West Yorkshire
Rothwell, Northamptonshire
 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
Wakefield, West Yorkshire
 
Wakefield, West Yorkshire
Oulton, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Unicorn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing