We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel/Motel did the job but room for improvement”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Campanile Wakefield
Ranked #19 of 19 Hotels in Wakefield
Chester-le-St
Level 6 Contributor
247 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Hotel/Motel did the job but room for improvement”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

Stayed at this hotel recently for two nights and found it totally different from all the other budget hotels ive stayed in.
The positives were 1, the staff were excellent in customer service and very friendly. 2.The bed was very comfortable and the room was clean. 3. The shower was very good and the tv was very good.
The negatives were 1. Shower curtain needed to be changed it made the bathroom smell musky. 2. Guests sitting out on balconies drinking and smoking into the early hours and shirtless! 3.Areas around stairwells had a smell of people using them as toilets. 4. Area location of hotel doesn't lend itself to being the safest for women or nice walks for families.
For a budget hotel it met my needs but it really is a motel which some people will enjoy whereas others may require finer things but for the price it met my needs.Room for improvement particularly the smoking and drinking on the balconies.

Room Tip: Try to get a ground floor room then the balcony drinkers and smokers can be avoided.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BazzaChester_le_St
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    54
    76
    38
    82
See reviews for
24
91
26
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014

I booked it as city centre on that popular last minute site but it was a 30 minute walk and it was on an industrial estate,pretty much opposite a power station, I'm a writer and I travel on my own, if it had of been winter I would have been scared in the dark on my own having to find it in the middle of an industrial estate.

I'm currently writing a book about travelling all 69 cities of the UK and I do always mention the hotels. I'd love to not mention this one but the public need to be aware. Firstly as a female travelling alone I felt completely unsafe, there were uncouth shirtless men hanging around on the balconies, there were cigarette butts everywhere, when I got into the room the walls had stains like something had leaked down the wall, part of the walls in several places looked like they'd been dented and repaired, the carpet was horrendous and there were very many unlcean places in the bathroom, including mould on the ceiling, I didn't take a shower for fear of what would happen and I double locked my door in fear of my life over night. In the morning I went down for breakfast, awful 70's style dismal place. I was charged £8.75 for breakfast, it wasn't good breafast either, you could go to a lovely hotel and have breakfast for about the same price! I then saw a woman who was asked if she was "checking in again" at half past 8 in the morning. I've since read reports from others about the possibility that it's being frequented by local prostitutes. At that point I got the first taxi I could to the station and sat in there for the 2 hours before my train feeling that it would potentially be safer.

Just think Bates Motel and you're somewhere along the right lines, I've actually written to the travel agent and asked for a refund.

If you are a female travelling on your own, don't stay here, if you are a male with any kind of standards I wouldn't stay here either, if you have kids, please, please don't stay here.

I often take what I read on Trip advisor with a pinch of salt when I read really bad reviews but in the case of this hotel (it's a motel, not a hotel) they're all absolutely spot on. Funny thing is that it cost more than my previous nights stay at the Holiday Inn express, Leeds Armouries the night before and that hotel was fabulous.

So stay anywhere in Wakefield just don't stay here!

Room Tip: I don't think there are any good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MandyCharlton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

Great staff allow you to wait in bar area after hours if needs be, will look after your bags if you want to spend the day after checking out, beds comfy basic if you need tea and coffee don't complain just ring for more like you would do anywhere else clean polite and to say where it is it is a quiet place, only down side is could do with a touch of paint and breakfast to be included in the deals and it's never cold because the gratings great and they don't mind if you have family round I.e. We once had relatives down for Christmas and they was fantastic with us all

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank holly11918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2014

I had a very peaceful stay over a Friday and a Saturday night. The motel is tucked away on an industrial estate and the door to each room opens onto fresh air, either directly onto the ground or onto a walkway. This made a nice change from stuffy, overheated hotel corridors full of cleaners and their equipment. The staff were friendly and helpful but not intrusive. I was pleasantly surprised (for the price) to find a bath in the bathroom, not just a shower, and a bath with a decent depth moreover. There is a rollerblind on the outside of the room which is controlled by a stick beside the window inside. That added to the sense of seclusion and peace overnight. The electric socket is hidden behind the curtain, so I panicked that I wouldn't be able to charge my phone or laptop until I found it, but find it I did eventually. There's ample free parking available. My only two minor criticisms would be that there were no radio channels on the television, and the only coffee sachets provided were for decaff (I'd brought my own tea and coffee anyway, having read reviews here). Those are incredibly small faults. The worst thing about my stay was reading scare stories on this site before I left!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviewed June 11, 2014

Stayed the one night. The was clean and comfortable. The hot shower was excellent. Good wifi in the room. For the money (discount sunday evening) it was a very good deal.There was plenty of car parking and a decent size restaurant with some outside tables. Dog friendly.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAEPL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northwest uk
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2014

We stayed here on a Friday night before heading to a dog show in Doncaster, it's more a motel to be honest in looks.
For £40 a night we honestly couldn't complain, staff were friendly and yes it's in the middle of an industrial estate but you'd never know it as it's surrounded by trees.
We stayed on the ground floor and parked directly outside, we had a short walk along the canal behind the hotel to the Toby carvery.
The room was clean and basic , extra towels and pillows in the wardrobe but for £40 what more do you want? It served its purpose for us and we've stayed in some dives with the dog showing scene at a higher cost!
I'd have to be really picky and fussy to resort to some negative comments posted which remind me of hyacinth bucket!! C'mon it's a forty quid room lol moaning about lack of teabags.... Enough said

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank campingsarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ampthill, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Booked this hotel for a 4 night and then cancelled after reading the reviews. Received email confirming my cancellation and a fee of the cost of one night stay. A week later this hotel then decided to steal the cost of the whole 4 night stay from my bank account. I am waiting for my refund. This sort of behaviour does this hotel no favours.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank Jacqueline W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wakefield hotels
1.4 mi away
CitiLodge Hotel
CitiLodge Hotel
#18 of 19 in Wakefield
133 reviews
2.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel St Pierre
Best Western Hotel St Pierre
#1 of 1 in Newmillerdam
888 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield
Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield
#1 of 1 in Calder Grove
1,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Ramada Wakefield
Ramada Wakefield
#2 of 2 in Ossett
230 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Wakefield
3.2 mi away
Travelodge Wakefield Woolley Edge M1 Southbound
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campanile Wakefield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campanile Wakefield

Property: Campanile Wakefield
Address: Monckton Road | Off Denby Dale Road, Wakefield WF2 7AL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Wakefield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 19 Hotels in Wakefield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Campanile Wakefield 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Campanile Wakefield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campanile Wakefield Hotel Wakefield
Campanile Hotel Wakefield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing