We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truckers and ladies of the night!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Campanile Wakefield
Ranked #19 of 19 Hotels in Wakefield
Reviewed May 23, 2014

Very budget, very basic. Standard. Bed definately not as stated. More towels needed. Basin heavily cracked. Not enough tea, sugar, milk. No extra sockets to charge items. Breakfast at restaurant was plentiful. Fairly quiet. Not a good sleep. Roller shutters great idea to block sun. In a business park area so not great but perfect location to Wakefield. £39 on laterooms. Breakfast extra.

Room Tip: No lifts I could see. Choose a room opposite restaurant not opposite busy main road. Disabled ground...
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scoobysue72_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (285)
There are newer reviews for Campanile Wakefield
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

191 - 197 of 285 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2014

Avoid at all costs !!!!
Sleazy filth hole, unclean, unkept, dreadful staff infact a complete zess pit. The building looks as though its full of rot, noise levels are untollerable, the management openally allow prostitues to work from the hotel as I saw different men constantly coming and going into foreign ladies rooms. I didnt stay the night and booked into another hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank helsbells197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

great room and service for price. lovely clean room. loved added shower gel. very happy and close to town. impressed . great room great breakfast. helped make happy memory. absolutely loved . great hotel for cost

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 2011missannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

The value you get is linked to the price.

A small surprise when the breakfast was not included in the price.

Room was clean and warm, ok for a short business stay.

There is a road near but at night there is no traffic so it was not a problem to sleep in a quiet ambiance.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AaronTravelerS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

When booking in and arrival in our room I had the opinion this hotel looked over due for re-furbishing. Decided as it was only for one night we would stay as sheets & pillows were spotlessly clean and bathroom was also clean and plumbing worked perfectly. Large hole in old window net, cobweb or two, room smelled stale so we left window locked open with small gap to freshen the room. I was slightly suspect of how the night would go by when I saw the bottle opener fixed on the wall next to tea and coffee making facilities (only one coffee sachet each). During the early hours of the morning we were woken by a man shouting, arguing and loud thumping and banging noises - a bit of fight maybe; little later from same room a female screaming. Next morning the outside stairs were littered with cigarette ends & bin full of empty alcohol cartons. Came to the conclusion we would never stay there again. A pity this hotel was in this state and had guests that did not consider others wanted to sleep because it is in a quiet location for a good nights sleep. Many years ago I stayed in a Campanile and it was very smart; I had expected the same standard.

Room Tip: Ask if there is a good room before confirming a booking.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Another_travelbug2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Firstly this is a motel, not a hotel!. It is located in an industrial estate. From the outside it looks like a run down block of council flats. On the inside it is grotty, dirty, depressing, and smelly. There is nothing remotely pleasurable about staying here, in fact it had a sleazy feel to it, as if it might be the kind of place that rents by the hour. Our room was on the ground floor and while not usually the nervous type, I didn't feel safe. The room had one plug socket, and the heating was an electric bar wall attached thing. We had booked in for 2 nights while visiting family, but ended up staying with friends on the first night as I really didn't want to return to it. The receptionist/manager was pleasant, but that is the only positive thing I can say.. oh and that it was cheap.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jane m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

I was pleasantly surprised by my stay at the campanile. For a budget hotel I wasn't expecting much but i had a very comfortable stay. Its a motel set up which was quite novel. There was an area of tiling cordoned off right in front of the bar, I've no idea how long it had been like that but it should be a priority as it isn't a major job and it is a bit of an eyesore.
We stayed for breakfast. We paid for the cooked breakfast, which was a full English and we could also help ourselves to as much as we wanted from the continental selection too.
Luckily I'd checked street view to see where it was otherwise I might not have found it as its in an industrial estate.
All in all we had a pleasant stay and would definitely stay there again if in the area.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jaynesheridan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wakefield hotels
1.4 mi away
CitiLodge Hotel
CitiLodge Hotel
#18 of 19 in Wakefield
139 reviews
2.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel St Pierre
Best Western Hotel St Pierre
#1 of 1 in Newmillerdam
918 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ramada Wakefield
Ramada Wakefield
#2 of 2 in Ossett
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield
Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield
#1 of 1 in Calder Grove
1,410 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Wakefield
3.2 mi away
Travelodge Wakefield Woolley Edge M1 Southbound
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campanile Wakefield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campanile Wakefield

Address: Monckton Road | Off Denby Dale Road, Wakefield WF2 7AL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Wakefield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 19 Hotels in Wakefield
Price Range: $36 - $69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Campanile Wakefield 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Campanile Wakefield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campanile Wakefield Hotel Wakefield
Campanile Hotel Wakefield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing