We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfy beds, hot powerful shower”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Campanile Wakefield
Ranked #19 of 19 Hotels in Wakefield
Yorkshire, UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Clean, comfy beds, hot powerful shower”
Reviewed December 17, 2013

I booked this on a budget and was happy with the hotel. The beds were clean and comfy which is most important. The bathroom was clean, the shower was very nice, hot and powerful with plenty of clean white towels. Hair dryer in the room. Only one plug socket - which was the kettle plug.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maryfromyorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    54
    74
    38
    79
See reviews for
23
91
26
68
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Good value for the small amount that you pay. Room is very clean, with a good size tv and heater that warms the room up quickly. Staff are friendly and helpful. Can be loud when people returning from nights out but expected as close to city center. Overall really good stay and will return again.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucys1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
192 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Insensitive arrival and check-in.Manager advised of Television...came to room wreaking of ciggys.Bath sealer grouting old grubby interior. Mean decor 70's!Provisions at tea/drinks kettle also mean.Poor Ventilation.Grounds and maintainance issues. Chipped paint...poor signs to hotel. Overpriced breakfast a third cheaper and better at Toby Inn closely.Badly in need af upgrading. I had forgotten I had been here before some years agao. HASN't Changed!!

Room Tip: Don't go
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eggtimer186225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Wakefield hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

The hotel is located in the middle of an industrial estate, I thought we had got lost until I saw the hotel sign. Check in was easy and efficient. The hotel is very reminiscent of an American motel with the reception, bar and restaurant are in a seperate building from the accomodation block which is over three storeys. The reception is not 24 hours and closes at 11pm so no late checkin!

The room itself was basic and on the second floor of the accomodation block, warning, there are no elevators at this location so if you cannot manage stairs you should ask for a ground floor room.

We found the room to be small but clean, the beverage unit was broken so the kettle was propped up on the Bible. The soap dispenser by the wash hand basin was leaking and we had to wipe and rinse the bathroom shelf before putting any of our toiletries on.

We didn't have breakfast at the hotel as there was a Toby carvery accross the road (10-15 minute walk or 3 minute drive) with a better value breakfast deal.

One thing I did appreciate at this hotel was the water pressure in the shower, fantastic!

Room Tip: if you can't manage stairs insist on a ground floor room, Whilst the accommodation block in only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Stayed on a quiet Tues night, and it was very quiet indeed (top floor facing the canal) - all I could hear was the background aircon in the bathroom. Nice crisp sheets and big comfy bed, clean room, not at all pokey, Internet free & reasonable connection. Just what I needed for business night away.

I actually felt refreshed in the morning so would definitely stay again, and only cost £28.

Parking felt secure, 2 mins between motorway and Wakefield.

Room Tip: Depends on neighbours, I had none so dead quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank me-myself-i-tp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield
1 review
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Aesthetics not great as hotel is situated in the middle of an out of town industrial estate.
However, cannot complain as staff were friendly and at just over 30 quid it represents good value for money

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
357 reviews
179 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

The hotel is signposted from Denby Dale Road but not easy to spot once you are on Monckton. Look for big red postbox on the right, turn left there and you'll see the hotel set back.

It's a chalet-style motel, so your room door leads straight to the outside, but it's a pleasant place and I didn't feel unsafe. The room was a bit chilly when I arrived (in June) but the heater worked well. On the downside there is only ONE electrical socket in the room, and it's not easy to find - mine was behind the curtain, under the windowsill. I had to ask at reception before I found it, and I wasn't the first, apparently.

Overall the room was fine, with a good shower and plenty of hot water. The towel was lovely and soft, although no hand towel was supplied.

The guy on reception was extremely helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sometimesong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wakefield hotels
1.4 mi away
CitiLodge Hotel
CitiLodge Hotel
#18 of 19 in Wakefield
133 reviews
2.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel St Pierre
Best Western Hotel St Pierre
#1 of 1 in Newmillerdam
876 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ramada Wakefield
Ramada Wakefield
#2 of 2 in Ossett
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Wakefield
1.5 mi away
Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield
Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield
#1 of 1 in Calder Grove
1,319 reviews
1.9 mi away
Stanley View Guest House
Stanley View Guest House
#12 of 19 in Wakefield
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campanile Wakefield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campanile Wakefield

Property: Campanile Wakefield
Address: Monckton Road | Off Denby Dale Road, Wakefield WF2 7AL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Wakefield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 19 Hotels in Wakefield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Campanile Wakefield 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Campanile Wakefield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campanile Wakefield Hotel Wakefield
Campanile Hotel Wakefield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing