We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Will not be staying again” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Campanile Wakefield

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Campanile Wakefield
Ranked #19 of 19 Hotels in Wakefield
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Will not be staying again”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

Stayed at this Hotel for two nights whilst attending an exhibition in the area. Check in was efficient considering there there was a large number of us booking in at the same time. Rooms are as expected for a budget hotel not great, but clean. Breakfast was a disappointment as it is not freshly cooked but is kept warm in serving dishes just off reception. We stayed here last year at the same time and the breakfast was far superior to this occasion. The Friday night was uneventful, but Saturday night was another matter. On returning from the exhibition we went into the bar for a drink. There was a group of guys having a drink, they seemed ok. They spoke to reception staff and said that the drinks were expensive, he then directed them to the nearest supermarket where they could buy cheaper alcohol. They arrived back with bags of drink, not our concern you might say. At about 3.30 in the morning the noise started, banging, shouting, screaming, this went on until 5 o'clock when as we understand the staff on duty called the police. We were not given an apology for the disturbance. The gentleman on reception should have realised what was going to happen when he saw the bags of alcohol they came back to the hotel with. In future when staying in Wakefield we will definately be staying in a Premier Inn.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mavis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    54
    72
    34
    69
See reviews for
19
87
24
65
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level Contributor
70 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

Stayed hear for 2 nights on route, good clean budget hotel.
Lots of parking space free, reasonable bar, but, breakfast buffet quite limited, not as good as French Campanile's.
Would stay again, especially as they accept dogs.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cindyjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

I stayed at the hotel for one night and have to say i will be avoiding Campanile hotels from now on. I understand its cheap, £35 bed and breakfast, but still wasn't anywere near what i would see as acceptable.

The hotel is situated in an industrial estate, it would appear this estate does not sleep as lorries were driving through consistetly all night. One of these included a deliviery to the hotel at around nine at night, not ideal if you are trying for an early night.

The rooms are a disgrace. The carpet for had stains all over it and the walls had what seemed to be the remains of bugs the previouse visitor(s) had squashed. The bed had hairs all over it and every spring seemed to be digging into my back all night.

The bathroom whilst being a tad cleaner than the rest of the room was still not great. The shower dribbled at best, a crack the length of the sink and also i was only given less than half a toilet role which could have become an issue.

The room also boasted one plug socket which the hotel had left a note proudly stating that you could use this for your own personal use. However don't get any ideas of charging your mobile, ipod or laptop whilst watching the TV, as ] the TV is pluged into this socket and to use it you have to take this out. Maybe taking a laptop with a usb hub may solve this issue if you log into the wifi (which is free) as you could charge a mobile and watch tv online.

The breakfast we average, i chose to stick with just a continental breakfast as the kitchen didn't look well kept. The breakfast was ok as hotel breakfasts go, only complaint is the juice was left empty the whole time i was in the restaurant.

The staff however were freindly and helpful, don't have a bad thing to say about them. But giving everything else i experianced i would reccomend shelling out the extra money to go to a more respected hotel, or find another cheap alternative as it can't get much worse.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ross P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Wakefield hotels

New Milton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

The pleasant and helpful receptionist gave me a basic but clean and comfortable room. At under thirty pounds it was very good value & my dog was only charged £5 compared with £20 at Travelodge. It was a rather odd location on an industrial estate but once in the room it was fine and well situated for getting into the centre of Wakefield.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ann a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

If you can't charge phone or laptop in room then all other positive aspects count for nothing I'm afraid. Great food but you'd only eat here if you were staying here and staying here won't be an option in future as I can't get any power!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Markbolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

We have just had a one night stay in this hotel. We booked through Booking.com a last minute booking. Our booking confirmation stated WITH CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST on arrival the manager did not honour this and refused to give us breakfast due to the price we payed for our one night stay which was £34.00.
The whole night long there was shouting yobbish drunken behaviour by lots of males they were in the stair well and hanging over the balcony. It felt very threatening from these people who were clients of the hotel. There was no one around, no one in reception, no one patrolling we were so close to ringing the police.
Not a good welcome and no sleep!! What kind of establishment is this?
This hotel should not be booked by any decent respectable person as it clearly is not suitable.
We had NO sleep. The sheets and bedding looked clean but had a distinct smell of male sweat. I spoke to reception in the morning and the young lady although apologetic and pleasant the damage was done. We have had a horrible stay. Not to be recommended.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wakefield hotels
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel St Pierre
BEST WESTERN Hotel St Pierre
#1 of 1 in Newmillerdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield
Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield
#1 of 1 in Calder Grove
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,260 reviews
1.4 mi away
CitiLodge Hotel
CitiLodge Hotel
#18 of 19 in Wakefield
3.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Ramada Wakefield
Ramada Wakefield
#2 of 2 in Ossett
4.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Wakefield
2.9 mi away
Waterton Park Hotel
Waterton Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Walton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campanile Wakefield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campanile Wakefield

Property: Campanile Wakefield
Address: Monckton Road | Off Denby Dale Road, Wakefield WF2 7AL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Wakefield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 19 Hotels in Wakefield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Campanile Wakefield 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Louvre hotels, Priceline, Travelocity, LateRooms, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Campanile Wakefield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campanile Wakefield Hotel Wakefield
Campanile Hotel Wakefield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing