We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Foxwood Guest House
Ranked #3 of 10 Wakefield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 9, 2014

I recently stayed at foxwood for only one night with my partner. We were in room 11 which is a deluxe room but well worth the extra money. Large comfy bed and sofa with a large TV. Our patio doors overlooked beautiful grounds inhabited by squirrels and pheasants along with many other birds. There is a patio area which was shared with room 12 but wasnt an issue as it wasnt great weather. If you do prefer a private patio i would recommend you request room 14. There was nobody to greet us although it was explained that the owners were on holiday. We were shown around and had everything we may need explained to us. The local pub the unicorn inn is a 5 minute walk. Their menu is excellent and the food and value for money outstanding. The pub itself could be made more cosy but it served our need perfectly. We will definitely be returning to foxwood it is a home away from home and ideal for a quiet break from the madness of family life.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynnemariewhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (207)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 207 reviews

Reviewed March 9, 2014

booked a quiet break for me n my partner stayed in room 11 one of the deluxe rooms.we couldnt of been happier we went to the local pub the unicorn for a meal then back to foxwood.i recommend this b n b to anyone as it was exactly what we wanted quiet nice great views good local pub with great food.by reading other reviews i would say upgrade to a deluxe as its worth every penny.we will be returning again and again and again....

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shidleypop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Been wanting to go for a while so we booked for my birthday weekend for 2 nights 28/2/14. Had a lovely time. Superior deluxe room 11 and we loved it. Had dinner at the Unicorn which was 2 minutes walk away and the food was excellent. Will be going back soon.

Room Tip: Would definatley go for a Superior deluxe room as you have loads of space and you have seperate seat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jo m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

When we arrived we were greeted by a member of staff who greeted us and showed us to our room, he explained that the manager would be round to greet us shortly. 5 minutes later, after settling in to our lovely room, Ian the manager came to greet us and show us round the place. He was a really nice chap and very apologetic that he wasn't there when we arrived, not that we minded. We booked the deluxe room which immediately exceeded our expectations, it was a huge suite, clean and well maintained, with large patio doors overlooking the picturesque grounds. The guesthouse was a stones throw away from the local, the unicorn, which is a great little boozer with a vibrant yet homely family atmosphere, a great choice of real ales from a local brewery, reasonably priced, and an amazing home cooked menu, make sure your hungry as the portions are massive! Breakfast is served to order in the small dining room, although the size of the room didn't matter much as the food arrived quickly and freshly cooked and was delicious! The local supermarket is within driving distance in the next village, or for the more local feel Carlton is surrounded by farm shops and the post office run by locals. Because we enjoyed ourselves so much we booked for an extra night, unfortunately the deluxe room was not available so we were moved into a standard room. Although fine we had been somewhat spoiled by the amazing deluxe room the night before, the standard room would be fine for those who just need a basic room, both rooms were equipped with large king size beds, flat screen tvs and a large ensuite shower. However if it's something that's a little more special you are after it is well worth upgrading to the deluxe room. Overall a fantastic stay, perfect guesthouse, ideally situated in a nice village, we will definitely return.

Room Tip: Deluxe room is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boovie295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Booked in here last minute as another B&B we had booked was disgusting and we refused to stay the night.
Felt very welcome on arrival, even got a tour of the deluxe rooms (which although we didnt stay in were also very good). Staff very helpful, providing taxi numbers and info regarding local amenities.
Bed VERY comfy, large screen TV with freeview, plenty of tea/coffee/milk (usual sore point of mine - brew vital in a morning) and was shown location of extra if we needed them.
Taxi to Leeds centre cost us about £12 and took about 15 mins, excellent location and even with taxi fares included works out cheaper than staying in the city.
I would deffo stay here again, and no doubt will.
I do have to slightly agree with previous comments regarding dining area - Luckily we werent in these rooms but I did think eating outside someones room door was a little strange. Breakfast was very good though so i cant complain too much!
Thanks for a great stay!

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms by the dining area if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trevorsmullet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

I needed somewhere quiet, and this is the place. Set back just off the cul-de-sac on the edge of Carlton Village its near Rothwell with all its shops, and midway between Leeds and Wakefield so useful for both.
There's ample parking, and a pub just down the road.
The single ensuite room has everything I need, large flat screen TV, WiFi, plus a microwave (Added Bonus)
The full English breakfast was good and the people running the place very friendly and helpful.
It's a good base for the area as it's close to both M1 & M62 Motorways.

Room Tip: Rooms straight out to car park are useful if you have heavy luggage
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BoblCarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

I'm working in leeds three days a week so need good road links and on site parking.
Rooms are all different but clean, warm, with good bathrooms and powerful showers. Flat screen tv s in Bedrooms, tea and coffee facilities on tap and access to microwaves crockery and cutlery etc gives you options in the evening.
Breakfast choice is good with a very good full english option.
All in all...It is a good value guest house that I would recommend to friends or colleagues.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rolanl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wakefield
0.9 mi away
Wakefield Limes Hotel
Wakefield Limes Hotel
#5 of 19 in Wakefield
65 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Leeds East
3.5 mi away
Stanley View Guest House
Stanley View Guest House
#12 of 19 in Wakefield
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Oulton Hall & Spa
Oulton Hall & Spa
#1 of 1 in Oulton
2,659 reviews
6.6 mi away
Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield
Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield
#1 of 1 in Calder Grove
1,440 reviews
5.9 mi away
Dimple Well Lodge
Dimple Well Lodge
#2 of 2 in Ossett
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Foxwood Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foxwood Guest House

Address: Foxwood Carr Lane, Wakefield WF3 3RT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Wakefield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Wakefield
Price Range: $46 - $58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Foxwood Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Foxwood Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Foxwood Guest House Hotel Wakefield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing