We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly & Great value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Foxwood Guest House
Ranked #3 of 10 Wakefield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Needed a last minute single room for a couple of nights. Steve & Thapanne were very friendly & even got an invite to their bonfire gathering with a few beers followed by a few glasses of brandy!
Great value room, quiet location & very filling breakfast. Cheers David

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steffy0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (208)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 208 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2013

Third stay at Foxwood to celebrate grandsons birthday and have earlychristmas with family. A very warm welcome on arrival great room no 9. Grandson stayed with us for two nights out of our seven he is only 3year old and enjoyed the stay and breakfast. Great value for money and anyone who can pick fault with the Foxwood is being petty, everyone friendly, clean rooms and bedding dispite what others have said. Look forward to our next stay.

Room Tip: Room 9 good room or superior doubles 11,12and 14 well worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

This was a nice B and B. the owner was very helpful and gave good service. I had a standard room which was smaller but I understand for an extra fee there are some popular larger rooms. The room was clean and adequate. Breakfast was good and served by the owners wife who was very polite and the service was great.

My room was near the breakfast area so i could hear the early customers but it was not a problem for me but if you plan a late start then it may be worth mentioning this.

I was off to Leeds and the journey was really easy. The B and B is nicely off the beaten track so make sure you have a SAT NAV or check your direction before starting out.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

What a lovely friendly, clean, different and homely B&B .This place has everything a B&B should have. We could have been in the Yorkshire dales so pretty and green. Not much there but a nice local pub the unicorn, Staff and food really nice you can even get a take away. There is a nice walk to a lovely farm and a 5 minute walk to a pub where we went for lunch. The room was gorgeous lovely décor clean queen size bed so comfy patio doors opened up to garden. Sitting outside with a glass of wine looking at apple and plum trees and a beautiful garden with the sun on our face. The dinning room and breakfast in the morning was so nice lovely place to sit and eat. The host's and owners of the fox tree were so friendly and helpful and the staff couldn't do enough for you. Thank you so much fox tree we will be coming back soon for a lovely brake. Thanks for the apples, plums and the egg!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

stayed 2 nights in room 4. Large room with large bed and tv, ensuite shower room. Clean and comfortable. Was met bya really warm smiling friendly Steve and Thanpanee ( the owners) . Nothing is too much trouble for these two. You treat their home like your home. Beautiful garden full of pear, apple and plum trees. We were told to help ourselves to what ever we wanted. Lovely friendly hosts with a lovely home. Some areas need attention and update but we really enjoyed our stay and will definately go back.
Breakfast was wonderful , home cooked and their own eggs all included in the room rate.

Room Tip: rooms with patio doors to garden are large and with beautiful views and some have access to decking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tara42ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

huge very clean room , we did book the higher price room at the back, nice large patio to sit out on with orchard view and little wild animals to see , they were very nice people , good breakfast, in a nice location , nice chinese restaurant not too far away and local pub, very nice for some peace and quiet and to relax would stay here again

Room Tip: the large room at the back is worth paying the extra for
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charmainep777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

we stayed for one night n room 11 it was a very nice room nice views of garden . yes the washing line was there but so what it was no problem , garden was big with lots of fruit trees in it and some hens down the bottom to go and see my two young girls enjoyed that . room 11 has a nice big tv big bed and nice sofa decor is fine ,, two z beds for my girls ,,that was no hassle at all clean bed linen and plenty of towels , the bathroom/ wet room was good

breakfast was very nice the best fresh eggs ever the owner is very proud and rightly so of his 3 in a bed rating and his very good trip TripAdvisor rating . Steve had a chat with us after breakfast and gave my girls some ice cream which they loved

we will be back to this B n B for sure but i would book directly with them

i only have one negative comment and that would be for the communal tea and coffee facilities it is a good idea but UHT milk come on its awful real milk for next time steve please
many thanks and we will be back
stewy

Room Tip: room 11 .12 . and 14 lok the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stewymenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wakefield hotels
0.9 mi away
Wakefield Limes Hotel
Wakefield Limes Hotel
#5 of 19 in Wakefield
66 reviews
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Wakefield
4 mi away
CitiLodge Hotel
CitiLodge Hotel
#17 of 19 in Wakefield
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Dimple Well Lodge
Dimple Well Lodge
#2 of 2 in Ossett
262 reviews
4.8 mi away
Ramada Wakefield
Ramada Wakefield
#2 of 2 in Ossett
276 reviews
7.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel St Pierre
Best Western Hotel St Pierre
#1 of 1 in Newmillerdam
949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Foxwood Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foxwood Guest House

Address: Foxwood Carr Lane, Wakefield WF3 3RT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Wakefield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Wakefield
Price Range: $55 - $61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Foxwood Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Foxwood Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Foxwood Guest House Hotel Wakefield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing