We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Foxwood Guest House
Ranked #3 of 10 Wakefield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 24, 2012

went for a 1 night stay ,its good value for the cost.the room we had was very good and big,with good views and a veranda to sit outside.bathroom was clean and towels were dry and fresh.i cant pick fault with it for we only paid £55 for the night including breakfast.knocks spots off premier inn and travellodge,who wanted double the price excluding breakfast.

Room Tip: room 14 is best room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fernmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (208)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

156 - 162 of 208 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2012

We booked this guesthouse at very last minute for a two night break away with our 7 month old baby and had a lovely stay, the room was huge and bed was very comfy, Communal area had kettle, microwave and snacks which was very convienient for warming food for baby. Breakfast was amazing and service was excellent, We would stay again if in this area as value for money is fabulous here!

Room Tip: We stayed in room.12 worth that little bit extra for view and space
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank smoog1st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Excellent location.
Very friendly and helpful staff.
Very nice breakfast
Very relaxing.

Our room was fairly small but the massive bed made up for that. Excellent nights sleep every night. Perfect for what we needed.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank junkhed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We looked forward to staying at this award winning guest house but were left feeling very disappointed. Nobody there when we arrived phoned a number on the window and were told to show ourselves in to room 5. Nowhere to put chothes except a very small rail, no draws or shelves, the whole place was very dirty and the bathroom was filthy, radiator dripping with rust, vent filthy shower dirty didnt want to put anything on the floor towels stiff as boards.
The dining room seated eight people so if all the people who were staying had wanted breakfast at the same time it would have been impossible.
the saving grace was the breakfast which was very good.
It would take very little effort to bring this guest house up to scratch so I can,t understand why they would let it get like this.
I could not recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: choose deluxe room not standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andyroounited
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

we stayed in room 12 a delux room, which was the biggest room we have ever had in any hotel.
Lovely patio door and 2 deckchairs outside, loved watching the wild life in the garden.
Enjoyed the free fruit and crisps outside the room, also tea and coffee, and use of microwave.We paid £55 for the room and breakfast which was excellent value.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holidaymaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

I stayed here as last minute option whilst on a last minute visit to see friends. From making the booking to checking out, the experience was more than what you'd expect from a guest house. Steve the owner was there to greet me when i arrived in the evening, in which he upgraded me to the executice room as it was a quite night for them(at the same cost as a single room costing£30), which clearly he didnt have to do. The room was amazing for a b&b i must say, i travel up & down the country alot & ive stayed in many hotels & b&b's, i can honestly say there standards are as good as some of the 4,5star hotels ive stayed in. Some people clearly expect the stars out of the sky when staying at a guest house & after reading the very rare negative review on here i had to write a review & express my opnion on my stay. Breakfast was exceptional, with continetal & full cooked english breakfast, with fresh pooched eggs as steve has chickens at the guest house that lay them fresh daily. Outside the rooms theres a range of tea,coffe,water,fruit,crisps all free for guests to help themselves to through out your stay. Theres also a bbq area in which i saw guests having a bbq out on the patio in the beautifull surroundings. what more can i say, fantastic stay, great food, great helpfull friendly staff, with very high standards, would i stay again..............you bet i would. I went back the following weekend & stayed another night. If foxwood guest house do read these reviews keep up the good work & thanks for making my stay so welcome, see you again in the future.
Many thanks
Katie Fitzgerald

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katiefitz81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

We were made very welcome right from the start ,the room was clean , nice and very spacious. it was a very restful stay in a peaceful location , great value for money with a good breakfast , but most of alll the staff and owner wer really friendly,

Room Tip: We had room 14 but i believe there were others of similar strandard,we normally stay in a national c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wakefield hotels
0.9 mi away
Wakefield Limes Hotel
Wakefield Limes Hotel
#5 of 19 in Wakefield
66 reviews
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Wakefield
4 mi away
CitiLodge Hotel
CitiLodge Hotel
#17 of 19 in Wakefield
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Dimple Well Lodge
Dimple Well Lodge
#2 of 2 in Ossett
262 reviews
4.8 mi away
Ramada Wakefield
Ramada Wakefield
#2 of 2 in Ossett
276 reviews
7.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel St Pierre
Best Western Hotel St Pierre
#1 of 1 in Newmillerdam
949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Foxwood Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foxwood Guest House

Address: Foxwood Carr Lane, Wakefield WF3 3RT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Wakefield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Wakefield
Price Range: $55 - $61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Foxwood Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Foxwood Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Foxwood Guest House Hotel Wakefield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing