We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good bed, good breakfasst, nice staff but needs some maintenance”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Wakefield South (M1, Jct39) Hotel
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Wakefield
Certificate of Excellence
Gottingen, Germany
1 review
“Good bed, good breakfasst, nice staff but needs some maintenance”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

The overall stay was good, but the rooms look a little bit worn and need some refurbishment.
The staff was very friendly and professional. The location is great if you have a car. There is a nice restaurant nearby where you can get good food.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sven L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamieO81, Manager at Premier Inn Wakefield South (M1, Jct39) Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thank you for your review regarding your stay with us. I'm pleased you enjoyed our breakfast and found the team friendly.

Were always looking for ways to improve and will take on-board your comments about the maintenance of the hotel .

Kind Regards,
Jamie Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    139
    32
    8
    6
See reviews for
156
143
15
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We had a three night stay in this superb hotel. Staff were exceptionally nice and went out of their way to be helpful. Breakfast was lovely and we ate in the Red Kite pub beside the hotel at night which offers a varied and very nice menu. Vegetarian's well catered for. Hotel although very busy was quiet at night. Tina was particularly helpful for us although all the staff were really lovely.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happyholiday745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamieO81, Manager at Premier Inn Wakefield South (M1, Jct39) Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us in May. I'm glad you found the team helpful and I will ensure your kind comment is passed to Tina.

We hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Jamie Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

No complaints here. Very nice and lean, comfortable bed and nice service from the staff. I was very surprised to get a refund for one night's stay when we had to leave a day early due to illness. Very convenient location for M1.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzygeorgie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamieO81, Manager at Premier Inn Wakefield South (M1, Jct39) Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thank you for your review regarding your stay with us. I will pass your kind comments about the cleanliness of the rooms to housekeeping, who i'm sure will be pleased.

Kind Regards,
Jamie Officer
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somerset
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed here for two nights last weekend and have to agree with many other reviewers that the service in this hotel was superb. We were a little worried as our bedroom was on the motorway side but we hardly heard it (and we had the window open). The breakfast was all you can eat and beautifully cooked. Only minor disappointment was the coffee machine which either needed a service or some slightly stronger beans. The coffee tasted like very watery Nescafe. We can highly recommend the Red Kite pub next to the hotel - it offered excellent pub food and nice to know you can walk back to the hotel without having to drive in and out of Wakefield.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avalonman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamieO81, Manager at Premier Inn Wakefield South (M1, Jct39) Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us in April. I'm pleased the team provided you with great service and you enjoyed our breakfast. I will also pass your comments over to the General Manager at the Red Kite. We hope to see you again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Jamie Officer
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

My husband and I, aged 79 and 70, have just spent 6 nights at this hotel whilst house hunting to return to the UK from Spain.
The team at this hotel is by far the best we have ever come across and we have been keen travellers since retirement.
The customer service is superb, but not false 'have a nice day' type. It is a genuine desire to care for guests. The staff team work as a cohesive whole and who ever trained them has done an excellent job.
The comfort of the beds has had me order a mattress from the manufacturer, so cannot speak higher than that.
For the cost of this stay we have had 5 star treatment and comfort. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HeatherDews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamieO81, Manager at Premier Inn Wakefield South (M1, Jct39) Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review of Premier Inn Wakefield South. Its great to hear the team were able to make your stay such an enjoyable one. We would like to thank you for the lovely flowers sent to us and wish you all the best in your new home.

Kind Regards,

Jamie Officer
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bleadon, null, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Last Minute stop and very tired. Stay made easier by Gillian on reception being very helpful and polite.. she left at ll.pm and was back next morning very early still with a smile and very helpful.
I would return again as the rooms have everything you need for a short break, the breakfast deal is wonderful, as is the price, the night before we stayed at a travel lodge in Ayr Scotland, bad mistake, Premier Inn knock spots off Travel Lodge, Gillian should be training new reception staff, as I have only once met one other person with her skills, Thank you Gillian.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamieO81, Manager at Premier Inn Wakefield South (M1, Jct39) Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for your kind review regarding your recent stay here at Premier Inn Wakefield South. It's great to receive such positive feedback. Your comments have been passed to Gill who is very pleased to hear she could make your stay more comfortable.

Kind Regards

Jamie Officer
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandhurst, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Had quite a long stay in this hotel over a couple of weekends, staff were great and the breakfast was tops.
The restaurant next door had just been done up and had some nice dishes, shame the ones serving weren’t on the menu too ;-)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RussTurnip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamieO81, Manager at Premier Inn Wakefield South (M1, Jct39) Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for your recent review regarding your stay at Premier Inn Wakefield South. I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, its always nice to receive positive feedback. I will also pass your comments on the the team over at the Red Kite! :)

Kind Regards

Jamie Officer
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wakefield hotels
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel St Pierre
BEST WESTERN Hotel St Pierre
#1 of 1 in Newmillerdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield
Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield
#1 of 1 in Calder Grove
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,291 reviews
3.0 mi away
Waterton Park Hotel
Waterton Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Walton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn Wakefield City North Hotel
2.4 mi away
Ramada Wakefield
Ramada Wakefield
#2 of 2 in Ossett
4.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Wakefield Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Wakefield South (M1, Jct39) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Wakefield South (M1, Jct39) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Wakefield South (M1, Jct39) Hotel
Address: Denby Dale Road | Calder Park, Wakefield WF4 3BB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Wakefield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Wakefield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Wakefield South (M1, Jct39) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great for watersports at Pugneys Country Park and art-spotting at The Hepworth Wakefield ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Wakefield South (M1, Jct39) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing