We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would recommend!! ”
Review of York House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
York House Hotel
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Wakefield
Certificate of Excellence
Ferrybridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Would recommend!! ”
Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

Me and my Boyfriend had booked here for a Valentines day little treat - even though we live in Wakefield itself! But for £50 including breakfast, we thought why not?! Have a night by ourselves. We got there earlier than check in but our room was already ready and we were told we could go straight to it! When we entered, it was spacious, well decorated (both bedroom and bathroom) with TV and coffee/tea making facilities. Once we were ready, we had booked a table at the restaurant next door, Sloanes. We thoroughly enjoyed our meal and the service was fantastic! (Apart from feeling rushed between meals). We even got a free bottle of wine as we said we were here for a Valentine's meal! We then headed off for a few drinks round Wakefield in to the early hours of the morning. We went back to the hotel at around 2am and the receptionist greeted us with a friendly attitude and asked if we had had a good night. The beds were unbelievably comfy once we got back to our room. The next morning, we went back in to Sloanes restaurant for our breakfast - which to our surprise was choose what you like full English!!!! With also the choice of cereal, toast and got drinks. It was such a lovely evening for us to be on our own and treat each other. Would definitely recommend staying here again!

Stayed February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Heptathlete1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abi2008, Manager at York House Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Thank you very much for your lovely review.
We are glad you enjoyed your Valentine's evening with us and hope that we made it special for you.
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see more of you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    77
    54
    11
    7
See reviews for
33
67
19
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

I needed to stay somewhere central in wakefield whilst visiting relatives and you can't get much more central than this hotel! 2 minutes walk from the train station I was a bit worried because of the cheapness of the deal I got but couldn't have been happier for the price I paid. Okay it could do with a bit of a refurb if you compare it to other hotels in the area but I would have paid 3 times the price to stay in those hotels. It was clean and had all the things I needed in a hotel room. The staff were friendly, letting me leave my luggage in the office whilst I made a trip to town after checking out and all in all I would definitely recommend staying here! Considering it is so close to Westgate the hotel was extremely peaceful at night.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cherina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abi2008, Manager at York House Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Thank you very much for your lovely review.
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see more of you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

I stayed here last year and had no hesitation in booking again. The staff were pleasant and helpful and the room was large and spotlessly clean. The bedlinen was immaculate and I had the benefit of two windows as I was on a corner.
Breakfast was great with the eggs freshly cooked to order.
Dinner in the restaurant was superb and I thoroughly enjoyed all three courses.

Room Tip: Corner rooms have two windows. I was on 208 and this had one on the front of the hotel and one at th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank makem359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abi2008, Manager at York House Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Thank you very much for your lovely review.
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see more of you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We have just had our Daughters 10th Birthday party in the hotels fantastic room.
We was allowed access to the room on the Friday to decorate before Saturdays party.
The room is very spacious and is broken up into 2 parts by an archway where the cake can be presented with spot lights, looked beautiful. The dance floor was all set up for us on one side with disco lights and PA system already in house with DJ booth so according to the DJ he just had to plug in. There was a projector allowing us to play a DVD slide show with images of our daughter. (looked great). The walls were lined with chairs for the kids, they loved it.
The other half of the room was laid out with large round clothed tables for the parents and adults.
We also had a massive buffet provided by the a joining Sloanes Restaurant (same company) which was well above expectations for what we paid. For the adults, the Peri Peri Chicken made with the chef homemade Peri Peri sauce is a must.

It must be said that this was a fantastic venue for my daughters party with helpful friendly staff who went out of their way to make the day as memorable as possible for all concerned.

We also had two families from out of town that had a couple of family rooms. Chatting to them today they said their rooms were lovely and spacious and they really enjoyed their stay and breakfast.

Would nt hesitate to recommend this venue to anyone in the future.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abi2008, Manager at York House Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Thank you very much for your lovely review.
We hope we made your daughter's birthday a very special day!
We hope to see more of you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Enjoyed my stay in Wakefield after a night out with friends.Great location near the bars in Westgate as well as a short walk from Westgate railway station.Rooms were reasonable and clean enough.Breakfast was adequate but overall the hotel was very good value.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank owlsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abi2008, Manager at York House Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you very much for your lovely review.
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see more of you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 3, 2013

I stayed here recently when I had to temporarily move out of my house. I stayed for 2 weeks in all and I cannot fault the hotel. The rooms were spotlessly clean and welcoming with all the amenities needed, the staff were so lovely and could not do enough for you. And Sloanes Restaurant next door serves up amazing dishes. I really enjoyed my stay here and it was made so special by the staff who really made me feel at home (better than those corporate hotels anyday). Thank you to all the staff at York House Hotel for making a hard time in my life so much easier!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abi2008, Manager at York House Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you very much for your lovely review.
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see more of you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

A bit disappointed to be honest. Rooms ok ish, but not the cleanest. The wifi was free but quite frustrating as it only worked by the room door. Sitting on a chair by the room door is not conducive to relaxed business work! It was quite noisy at times, especially from the room above.
The breakfast was plentiful but a poor standard and not great presentation. I was looking forward to a cooked breakfast, unfortunately it was swimming in grease!
On the whole average. Great central location for surrounding travel on business and close to amenities of Wakefield.

Room Tip: A higher floor as lots of creaking noise from movement and night activities if your room is on the f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrUnderhill2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abi2008, Manager at York House Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay.
We do our best to maintain high standards throughout our hotel but we understand that we aren't perfect and so we take all your reviews on board to better our hotel and it's service.
We have listened to our guests comments about our free Wi-Fi being weak in certain rooms and have therefore upgraded it at the beginning of November so that all our guests in every room have a strong signal.
We also take your comments on the quality of our breakfast on board and will take the necessary measures to improve this for our guests.
Thank you for your review and we hope to hear from you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wakefield hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Wakefield
3.5 mi away
Waterton Park Hotel
Waterton Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Walton
975 reviews
0.4 mi away
CitiLodge Hotel
CitiLodge Hotel
#18 of 19 in Wakefield
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel St Pierre
Best Western Hotel St Pierre
#1 of 1 in Newmillerdam
901 reviews
2.6 mi away
Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield
Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield
#1 of 1 in Calder Grove
1,380 reviews
1.9 mi away
Ramada Wakefield
Ramada Wakefield
#2 of 2 in Ossett
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to York House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about York House Hotel

Property: York House Hotel
Address: 10-12 Drury Lane | Town Centre, Wakefield WF1 2TE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Wakefield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Wakefield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — York House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your York House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing