We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok for stag and hen overnight stay”
Review of York House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
York House Hotel
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Wakefield
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“ok for stag and hen overnight stay”
Reviewed December 18, 2012 via mobile

a basic hotel ...cheap but definately no frills.right on the centre so only a stumble into bed after leaving the bars. dont expect anything more than a good night out with your mates them somewhere to collapse !!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pins1Sheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    75
    51
    11
    7
See reviews for
32
65
18
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire, England
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

One night was one night too many here. First impressions are terrible as the reception is a messy office full of junk and the receptionist - whilst terribly pleasant - was in jeans and a tee shirt and a little unsure of what was happening with the rooms. Despite arriving well after 2.00pm our room wasn't ready, and to say it was "no frills" was, frankly, generous. The furniture is chipped, old and cheap, the carpets filthy and marked throughout. The whole place could do with a good clean and a decorate. The corridors are ok, but are no indication of the rooms laying behind them!!! We had 4 mis-matched cups in our tea making facilities corner - although no tea bags, just a few coffee sachets. The wardrobe - bearing in mind it was a family room with 4 beds - had 5 old, mis-matched hangers, plastic and just hanging onto life. So, no good for a family to hang all clothing. The bathroom was clean but the shower didn't drain and flooded the bathroom and some of the carpet before a maintenance man came to fix it - 2 hours after check-in..perhaps this should have been tested prior to guests arriving? The hotel didn't smell particularly clean anywhere, and the over-whelming smell of bleach through the corridors suggested a 'masking' to me? Good luck with trying to get hold of anyone for help on reception after office hours.....after accidently setting off the alarm in his bathroom, my father could get hold of noone to stop the noise.....
Happily, we only had to be in the room for a couple of hours mid afternoon, and then sleep in it before making a hasty exit...but at night it is noisy from other rooms and the generator. Breakfast was a bit hit and miss. One (very lovely and helpful) waitress had a full dining room to contend with so it was very slow...we ordered 5 breakfasts at the same time...2 arrived, 10 minutes later...2 more and finally 10 minutes later the fifth arrived.....as our family arrived and asked for food, teas and coffees, extra toast - the usual..the service became increasingly laboured as this poor lady had to deal with everything by herself. Staffing levels were very slim throughout. The fly in the orange juice jug - to serve the entire restaurant - was probably the last straw as it highlighted the lackadaisical approach that this 'hotel' has towards it's guests. For the first time ever, I was asked to pay for the room as I checked in, rather than on check-out.....I was a little surprised but went with it. I now understand why they do this, and would suggest anybody booking in, checks their personal facilities, thoroughly, prior to payment. Although, first I would suggest you do not book in the first place. Would I stay again. Not a chance. Unwelcoming, old-fashioned and well overpriced.

Room Tip: Book somewhere else...........
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SJB_Berks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

The hotel is only few mins walk from the station.
When I was going to the room I smelt smell of cigarettes
Room was clean as was the bathroom
Could not sleep well due to noise of the generator.
Walls are paper thin
Heard the talking of the people in the next room
Then there was people screaming durring the night with a girl screaming her head off . and lads yelling
Breakfast was ok.
The staff are nice

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teadrinkergooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
220 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Difficult for me to find, missed entrance several times on my first day. Room clean, but not comfortable or welcoming. No comfortable chair nor any subdued lighting. I was on a business trip and spent all my nights in my room so comfort was paramount.Breakfast poor, full English or full English,unwilling to do any variation, so I only had 1 out of 4. Evening meal ... Menu in the room didn't match restaurant menu. All food not to my liking, prefer plain food. The first night they tried to accommodate my needs, but even then sauces or oil were added,so I was unable to eat, only pick.All future meals were eaten away from the hotel.

Room Tip: Food all Italian.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank E1OVO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
204 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

First impressions were of a reception room that reminded me of an oversize minicab office, but the receptionist was helpful, and allocated us a room immediately although we had arrived early. Upstairs, in the hotel proper, there’s a marked improvement in the décor; our room was rather spartan but well decorated and everything worked well. On the other hand, the mattress was obviously an economy version and not particularly comfortable. Breakfast was fine, quite plentiful though not much choice. We also ate there in the evening, on a half board basis. No one explained to us that half board did not include dessert, until we had finished our meal when the waiter insisted on charging us accordingly. This was not so much a rip off as a breakdown in communication, which was not helped by the waiters’ rather limited English. In terms of accessibility, the hotel is just a few minutes walk from the station, and we found it to be very quiet. Altogether, it’s fine for an overnight stop.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KWD_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
111 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Just a brief stay for business, where I stayed for one night. Efficient hotel with good rooms (nicely refurbished bathroom) and good value, with a handy town centre location. Didn't try the restaurant, but looked nice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 99flake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 11, 2012

I stayed there with 2 friends last weekend. The room was basic but very clean and so was the bathroom. The breakfast was good and the staff very friendly. Really good value for many. I would recommend it to anyone.
s

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wakefield hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Wakefield
3.5 mi away
Waterton Park Hotel
Waterton Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Walton
944 reviews
0.4 mi away
CitiLodge Hotel
CitiLodge Hotel
#18 of 19 in Wakefield
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Wakefield Limes Hotel
Wakefield Limes Hotel
#6 of 19 in Wakefield
56 reviews
1.9 mi away
Ramada Wakefield
Ramada Wakefield
#2 of 2 in Ossett
226 reviews
3.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel St Pierre
Best Western Hotel St Pierre
#1 of 1 in Newmillerdam
876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to York House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about York House Hotel

Property: York House Hotel
Address: 10-12 Drury Lane | Town Centre, Wakefield WF1 2TE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Wakefield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Wakefield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — York House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your York House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing