We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of The Kaye Arms

The Kaye Arms
Ranked #5 of 417 Restaurants in Wakefield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $22
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Charming rural pub offering excellent freshly cooked to order food and a fabulous range of drinks including Cask Marque Yorkshire ales and wines from award winning vineyards. Booking highly recommended as we do get busy every day. Thanks
Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

We went for our god son's birthday and we enjoyed every minute the staff was more than helpful from the front of house staff to waiting staff and were very knowledgable about the menu
The food was stunning and everyone of us out of 10 had a blooming tasty meal
Definitely worth visiting again and again

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank cheekibabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare O, Guest Relations Manager at The Kaye Arms, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2014

Many thanks for your complimentary review and choosing to celebrate your godson's birthday with us at The Kaye Arms.
We are so pleased that you enjoyed the "stunning" food and great service on the special day. We look forward to welcoming you back "again and again!"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,045)
There are newer reviews for The Kaye Arms
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

937 - 941 of 1,046 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

The first time we visited on the off chance of getting a table we were really pleased with the food and service, that was back in Nov 2013 and early evening. We booked on a Saturday night this time to celebrate our anniversary. I had read some of the negative reviews so was really willing the staff to get it right. We were seated fairly promptly with drinks orders taken but then waited about 20 minutes to get our drinks. Despite various staff milling about. It appears every member of staff had a specific job to do and didn't deviate, which is ok if you have sufficient bar staff on but frustrating when you are thirsty, sat in a pub and staff are milling around asking how people's food is whilst all we wanted was a drink! Scallops starter was ok, I had lemon sole for main and really didn't enjoy it, the fish had an off putting overly fishy smell and it and the prawns seemed like frozen rather than fresh fish. Desert of sticky toffee pudding was good. Ordered second lot of drinks mid meal and had to chase as another long wait. Staff seemed to be trying really hard but ultimately if the processes are wrong and food not great then they are going to continue to receive poor reviews. What a shame. May try a lunch time but don't think we'd try evening again.

Thank GC289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare O, Guest Relations Manager at The Kaye Arms, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2014

Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that your second visit to us was disappointing, especially as you were celebrating a special occasion and after a great first experience.
Due to increased business we have a number of new team members. Thank you for acknowledging that they were 'trying really hard". We can teach them practice and processes but not enthusiasm and passion, so the basis is there and we are sure they will soon be up to speed. Service is of the utmost importance to us and we continue to train and develop our staff to deliver the high standards that we and our customers expect.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Food was very poor, lemon sole was was frozen, did not come as described on the menu. The fish was an unusual colour and had a bad odour. Complained, but was ignored by the staff. Have been on many ocassions but will not be going again

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Jill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare O, Guest Relations Manager at The Kaye Arms, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2014

Thank you for your review. Your comments have been taken on board and will be addressed by our kitchen and front of house management teams to consistently ensure our usual high standards of food and service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

We took our son for his birthday and we were the first in the place it opened 15 mins late. We ordered our food and drinks. Three drinks came ok but I waited along while for a pot of tea. I asked if there was veg with the Barnsley chop and was told by the waiter he thought it came with roast veg. However my meal came with no veg. The waiter came back after we finished, I asked if he could check about the veg and he said he was sorry but he had told me about another dish and mine did not have veg! The waitress put spoons down in a couldn't care less attitude without a fork for the lemon tart. In all we would not go back most of the food was ok but spoilt by the service. The lemon tart was very greasy and the pastry under cooked. My husband had to take our bill to the bar to pay or we could still be there. What a shame we did not get the service or the food we expected, it would have been nice to have a smile from the staff.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank Jamie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare O, Guest Relations Manager at The Kaye Arms, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

Thank you for your review. There is no excuse for poor service and the issues raised will be addressed with determination. Our honest apologies.
Many thanks for taking the time to bring these issues to our attention and giving us the opportunity to make adjustments and improve our operation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

This was our 2nd visit to this restaurant, and we were hoping to find some improvement since our last visit. Unfortunately, there was no improvement. Sandwiches are still served on white bread only. No brown or wholemeal bread is available. One of the lunch ladies ordered asparagus with poached egg and requested it to be runny. The egg atop some very tired looking asparagus was solid and not abit runny. The rest of the lunches were just so-so. Also, the selection of fish dishes was limited. Unfortunately, we will not be returning for our weekly lunches out.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank JerseyGirl2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare O, Guest Relations Manager at The Kaye Arms, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

Thank you for your review. Our sandwiches are served on high quality fresh ciabatta and french baguettes as part of our fresh, local food policy. We do not currently have a demand for brown/wholemeal bread, however we would be happy to offer this if any regular customer requested so.
We believe the choice of seven fish dishes on the menu is a strong and varied offer for fish lovers - fresh tuna loin, king scallops, grille sardines, haddock, prawn and crab cakes, lemon sole and roast monkfish and all of our fruit and vegetables are delivered daily.
Many thanks for the feedback. We are sorry to hear that you will not be returning.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Kaye Arms also viewed

Wakefield, West Yorkshire
 
Wakefield, West Yorkshire
Wakefield, West Yorkshire
 

Been to The Kaye Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing