We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another amazing dining experience!!”
Review of The Kaye Arms

The Kaye Arms
Ranked #6 of 409 Restaurants in Wakefield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $21
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Charming rural pub offering excellent freshly cooked to order food and a fabulous range of drinks including Cask Marque Yorkshire ales and wines from award winning vineyards. Booking highly recommended as we do get busy every day. Thanks
Bawtry
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Another amazing dining experience!!”
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Really nice chic venue, lovely staff, varied menu and our food was really very good indeed. Brilliant

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virgil_Hilts_11, Owner at The Kaye Arms, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Hi there, and thanks for your short but very sweet review! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit and thought your dining experience amazing. We hope to see you again soon. Many thanks once again for taking the time to write.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

974 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    648
    202
    71
    35
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Distinctly Average”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

My wife and I booked a table to celebrate a birthday, I had previously heard good things about it and as it was owned by the same people as the Golden Cock I thought it would be pretty good!

However, I felt that it was rushed, less than an hour and we were done! I ordered Sancerre wine, only to be told 10 minutes later that it was not available, ordered Chardonney, again not available!

House wine it is then! Food was was really quite average for the price! Not sure I would go back anytime soon. Shame!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ventra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virgil_Hilts_11, Owner at The Kaye Arms, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Hi there, and thank you for your review. We feel disappointment that you felt "rushed" as we are proud to follow one of the golden rules in hospitality - your table is yours for as long as you want. We are normally pleased when a customer takes time and enjoys the fantastic food and hospitality in any of our venues, and we never rush anyone. We have a fast growing business at the Kaye Arms (sales of wines went through the roof last week) and that is a factor that will take in consideration when ordering wine in future. We would like to have the pleasure to speak with you if you will be kind enough to ring Ricardo on 07922164933.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“As good as ever”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Visited Kaye Arms several times. Great atmosphere. varied menu and good service. Unlike some places you don't feel rushed to leave your table immediately you've eaten. The place is clean, warm and friendly. Highly recommended!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank johnlwakefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virgil_Hilts_11, Owner at The Kaye Arms, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Hi there, and thanks for such kind words. It does mean alot to us that you have taken the time to write to us and let us know how pleased you were with our hospitaility. We hope that, as you are on our doorstep, you become one of our ever increasing band of happy regulars!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“L AND M " ON THE DOORSTEP "”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

A very pleasant experience, good varied menu, friendly helpful staff, excellent food, good value, decor and ambience first class, what more could you want, keep it up and the halcyon days may return.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MICHAEL R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virgil_Hilts_11, Owner at The Kaye Arms, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Hi there and thank you for your kind comments. It's great to hear that you found all aspects of your visit to your liking and were able to give us the coveted 5 star rating. We do indeed intend to bring the halcyon days back to The Kaye Arms and the early signs are extremely positive. We have made lots of improvements in the short time we have been here (2 months) and received great customer feedback. We have been busier and busier each week that has gone by, so we guess we are doing something right! We look forward to seeing you soon, and thanks once again for the warm words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield
1 review
“Excellent meal”
Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

had an amazing pre Christmas lunch last Friday with friends. Wonderful food excellent service in very comfortable surroundings. nothing was too much trouble for the new team at Kaye Arms! We'll done to you all.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank denise h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virgil_Hilts_11, Owner at The Kaye Arms, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Hi there and thanks for letting us know how much you enjoyed your pre-Christmas lunch at The Kaye Arms. It always means a lot to us when our guests go away satisfied and write to tell us about their experience. We have only been at the pub for a short while and it is feedback like yours that lets us know we are making great strides to success. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Kaye Arms also viewed

Wakefield, West Yorkshire
 
Wakefield, West Yorkshire
Wakefield, West Yorkshire
 
Wakefield, West Yorkshire
Farnley Tyas, Huddersfield
 

Been to The Kaye Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing