We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A happy birthday meal”
Review of The Kaye Arms

The Kaye Arms
Ranked #5 of 427 Restaurants in Wakefield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $21
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Charming rural pub offering excellent freshly cooked to order food and a fabulous range of drinks including Cask Marque Yorkshire ales and wines from award winning vineyards. Booking highly recommended as we do get busy every day. Thanks
Reviewed November 24, 2013

It is a long time since we ate at The Kaye Arms but after tonight's excellent meal hopefully it won't belong before we are back. We had a lovely family meal for Mum's birthday. The welcome was warm, the food lovely and all ages of our party were catered for. Will have no hesitation in recommending it to our friends. Thank you.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Cornishdreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virgil_Hilts_11, Owner at The Kaye Arms, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Hi there, and thanks for your kind words. It's so nice to hear that you enjoyed your visit to The Kaye Arms for your mum's birthday. We do pride ourselves on our food and service and we are happy that you wrote to tell us about how you found it. Thanks once again for the recommendation and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,087)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,027 - 1,031 of 1,087 reviews

Reviewed November 24, 2013

Went today for Sunday lunch. Firstly the bad points. The service was not great, but maybe a new member of staff could account for this. Moving on to the good points. The surroundings were excellent, open fires get my vote every time. The food was of a very good standard if not of the highest order. Would I visit again - probably but I would look for better value for money in other places first.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gadger68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virgil_Hilts_11, Owner at The Kaye Arms, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Hi there and thanks for your review. It's great to hear that you found our food of the very highest order and enjoyed your visit to our pub. We are not sure what service niggles you encountered as no details were given. However it does seem that your overall experience was good, and we thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

It's the first time we have eaten here but definitely not the last. We ate here with some friends at lunchtime on 22nd November. The fixed price menu was varied and excellent value for money. My starter of Pheasant and Black pudding was exceptional and the Mushroom Risotto was also very good. My husband thought his fish and chips were the best he has eaten in a pub/restaurant. Staff were helpful and friendly.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Philip1907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virgil_Hilts_11, Owner at The Kaye Arms, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Hi there, and thanks for such a generous review. It's great to hear that we are getting visitors form afar afield as Knaresborough and your trip was well worthwhile. It's a great compliment that your husband rated our fish & chips as the best he had sampled when eating out. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Excellent meal and service. Staff are very friendly but also very efficient. We ate there Saturday 16th Nov (evening) and then ate again at lunchtime today(22nd Nov) with friends.
Great menu, good realistic prices and beautifully presented food.
Will visit again very soon!

Thank Maureen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virgil_Hilts_11, Owner at The Kaye Arms, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Hi there, and thanks for such a warm review. It has really made our day to be described as "excellent" and we are so happy that you enjoyed your visit so much to The Kaye Arms. As I originally hail from Barnsley, I know how tough those of us from there are to please! We look forward to your next visit soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We went to the Kaye arms last Saturday 16 November 2013 for the first time for over 10 years. We had friends coming up from Stratford and after learning the Golden Cock at Farnley Tyas was full due to a shooting party it was suggested that we give the kaye arms a go as they are in common ownership. Our impressions 10 years ago was that it was a bit twee but served decent, if not steady, restaurant food. Well what a transformation! It's very modern now but has a very cosy feel. We were a party of 6. They couldn't do enough for us and meals that are normally off limits on a Saturday night were no problem for the children in our party- very nice touch.
Our visit has however given us a real problem- golden cock or kaye arms for meals out in the future?
May have to split our time between them , will certainly return. Many thanks to Recardo and the team

1  Thank Napril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virgil_Hilts_11, Owner at The Kaye Arms, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Hi there and thanks for such a lovely review. Yes, the Kaye Arms has been transformed in recent times from a very traditional and dated looking pub, to a contemporary country inn, all warm colours and inviting nooks and crannies. Now the stage has been set, we are bringing the play to life. It's lovely to hear that you like what we are doing here and at The "Farnley Cock". I'm sure Ricardo won't mind me saying he's just a small part of success at The Kaye Arms, as Steve (head chef) and Rachel (front of house) are the real driving forces here. You don't have to choose between our two pubs, just visit them alternatively, as they are both refreshingly different! Thanks once again for your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Kaye Arms also viewed

Wakefield, West Yorkshire
Wakefield, West Yorkshire
 
Wakefield, West Yorkshire
Farnley Tyas, Huddersfield
 
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
 

Been to The Kaye Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing